We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend, beautiful! Already booked to return!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
plymouth, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend, beautiful! Already booked to return!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I felt the need to review this hotel after a wonderful weekend! Only came home yesterday.

I went as part of a hen weekend, 8 of us staying in total. From the moment we arrived,nothing was too much and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were gorgeous, spotless and with quality modern furnishings. The entire hotel has had a makeover, stunning fabrics, velvet sofa's, wonderful lobby... even a starbucks as you enter!

We were even given a glass of pimms as we walked to our room! Our package cost £59.00 pp for one nights bed and breakfast, including a 25 min treatment in the fantastic Healthworks spa, a 3 course meal in the Italian restaurant, a chilled bottle of sparkling wine in each room, and a glass of wine with the meal. Of course, we had full use of the spa- pool, steam room, sauna, gym and classes from 10:30 on the day of arrival to 6 pm the following day... all this for £59.00 was incredible.

The treatment rooms were gorgeous and the staff were wonderful. My friends and I had a massage, some pedicures, facials etc... our one treatment was included in the price.

The pool was lovely and calming, and we enjoyed the jacuzzi and steam rooms. There are even Tv's in the changing rooms!

I think the highlight of our trip was the fantastic meal in the new Italian restaurant. Having read a previous review calling the decor ' outrageous' I felt compelled to put this right!! It has a strong Italian theme, with quirky touches..but it is fun! It is rather like a theatre set in places but it all adds to a beautiful ambiance. Our table had a fantastic leather throne for the bride and was beneath a gorgeous chandelier, it was also in its own little room almost and felt almost like a private party.

The waiter could not do enough for us, was friendly and efficient and the food was beautiful. The set menu, included in our price had plenty of options and the food quality was second to none...and the puddings are enormous!

All in all, this hotel absolutely made our weekend and each one of us cannot wait to return in January for my birthday! Please give this place a try, for the price you pay it is fantastic!

A group of very happy ladies..ages 25-40 x

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prawnkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    658
    361
    132
    75
See reviews for
374
742
73
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Hotel generally okay. Rooms and corridors too hot. Restaurant decor outrageous. Restaurant staff rude and untrained. They sweep the rubbish from the tables on the floor and relay the tables. They get the billing wrong and aren't flexible with menu choices.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9madelaine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The 5 of us stayed in a more family room which was absolutely huge! Loads of room for the kids to play. We had a kingsize bed, 2 single beds a sofa bed and a cot (they provide linen) a/c, a dressing room, free wifi and a huge 50" television on the wall. The room rate was £95 per night and that included a 3 course evening meal with a glass of wine in the Italian restaurant or pub plus breakfast. The staff were all very friendly, made a fuss of the children and gave them colouring books/crayons ect.....

The hotel is a perfect base for families, it is joined onto a leisure park with cinema, softplay, laser quest, bowling, Internet cafe plus pizza hut, Chinese and Indian restaurants. Plus there's an asda around thecorner.

We stayed here on a LONG journey from Newcastle to peppapigworld in Southampton and it broke the journey up nicely. It takes about 1 hr 20 mins to get to peppa pig world from the hotel.

All in all this hotel provided amazing value for money. It was cheaper than room only at the premier inn yet we got so much more included.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Rickelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked this hotel for us and two teenagers and were slightly worried after reading some of the rewiews. Just proves you shouldn't read them and make your own mind up. We loved it ! So did the kids. We had the king suite room which was ENORMOUS ,a huge bedroom and a massive lounge , we could all relax in here in the evenings. The kids had a family room with 2 double beds this was also huge! The staff at reception were all lovely, polite and helpful. We even got a really nice 3course meal in the pub included. The staff at breakfast were all lovely no problems lovely food. Small criticism yes the rooms are dark but put the lights on!!!! The mirror on dressing table is far too small and no plugs near the big mirror on the wall. Designed for men obviously! Overall we had a lovely time , the biggest rooms we ever stayed in and excellent value for money. Go and make up your own mind you wont be dissapointed .

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarebeahodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed in one of the family rooms, which was a very large room and plenty of room to accommodate us all (although a slightly bigger bathroom would have been nice). Room was a/c and had plenty of opening windows.

Facilities good, 2 restaurnts to choose from and a Starbucks. Pool was good size.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1307CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed overnight on route to Cornwall and had a lovely night in a huge room, left a teddy behind which was found and later picked up.

Love the refurbishments really good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed over here on the home from Devon. Not disapointed. Lovely breakfast and pool area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariemc_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
4.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
953 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing