We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same consistent standards !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 31 August 2011

De Vere have done a grand job with their re branding of the Village Hotels. Though we were let down badly by lastminute.com for failing to confirm our reservation, the receptionist did their best to accommodate us. we used the leisure facilities which are very good and the breakfast was ample self service, though a little busy. The location of the hotel is great if you fancy doing many things that are adjacent to the hotel, cinemas, ice skating and plenty of food outlets within a 1 minute walking distance !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,962 - 1,968 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

Even though on the outskirts of Swindon, Hotel is situated next to Cinema, Bowling
allay, several Resturants and just across the road from a Sports Centre. Hotel has a very good Gym and nice swimming pool. Regular buses into Swindon. Friendly staff and I had a resonable room.I think that charging on top for a newspaper is rather a nerve.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
Thank Andyblue064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel is in a great location - there is a cinema, bowling alley and plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. Our greeting at the hotel was a bit frosty - our room was ready but we were told we would have to pay an addiitonal £10 to check in earlier than the normal 3.00pm. Room was good although very dark - we had to have all the lights switched on to do anything! Putting on makeup and doing your hair was very difficult. Room facilities were not great either - only 2 packets of coffee, two of decaff coffee and a few PG tips. No hot chocolate, herbal tea options, buscuits or bottled water were provided. Swimming pool was good but quite small. We had to wait a long time for spaces in the spa pool. Steam room and sauna were good and the gym looked well equiped but we did not use it. Staff at the leisure area were very friendly and helpful - we were offered towels to use straight away. Breakfast was a joke as we ended up in the `overflow` bar area with instant coffee available from jugs containing tepid water. The mugs were in a basket which had just come out of the dishwasher and were not particularly clean. Floor had not been swept or cleaned from the previous night. There were also lots of unwashed plates sitting on the bar. We had to make our own toast - the bread was still in the original bags, not even put into baskets as you might expect from a 4 star hotel. When we approached the duty manager regarding the coffee and toast he said it was the same coffee as the main dining area and made no efforts to help us or apologise for the situation. He said the toast was available as self service to `help` the customer. Surely this is only making things easier for the staff? In the main restaurant, people were receiving jugs of coffee and toast all prepared and cut ready to eat. They need to treat their customers equally. One last gripe - it would have been nice to have bathrobes in the rooms - we get this from our local hotel with a lower star rating!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, Manager at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Hi David and thanks for your feedback following a busy Bank Holiday week end.

Apologies for the issues you experienced at Breakfast and we will be putting that right although when we have more than 200 guests in the Hotel we do use the Victory Pub as a secondary Restaurant to avoid delays, however it seems the usual standards were lacking, we will look into that. Thanks for staying with us and hopefully it won't deter you from visiting us again.

Andrew Spink
General Manager
De Vere Village Swindon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stay in Swindon regularly when visiting family. Since our last stay at the De Vere it as been “themed” under the Village brand, and seems to have gone downmarket as a result. The room décor reminded me of a 1980’s youth club – grey and black striped walls, red ceiling and doors, dodgy artwork. As a consequence you need the (rather dim) lights on to read a newspaper. The room was very warm and had no air conditioning, but it was quiet enough to sleep with the windows open. The bed was very comfortable, but the shower was a feeble trickle. Carpet could have done with a good vacuuming - a hair grip and lots of blonde hairs on the floor (not mine)! Had dinner on the first night in the on-site Italian restaurant, which was pleasant enough. Breakfast was served in the same location, and the adjoining themed pub – tea and toast on the bar amidst the pumps! Receptionist on departure could do with a customer service training refresher.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Team very friendly, rooms spacious and very new! Room service from Buca - great quality! Leisure facilities and pool looked very good. Slept like a baby - hotel looked full but still had 2 nights of perfect sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYork119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

stayed here on business, rooms small and dark, very hot and no aircon. hotel was full of drunk chavs so pretty noisy. they also have this ridiculous charge of £1 added to the cost of a newspaper. why on earth would you do that? gym was pretty god though

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank freeball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Wow. Now this is a Hotel with a capital H.
I am currently living in hotels while my company relocate me. I have stayed at many on the outskirts of Swindon and wish I had found this one first.
This is large hotel meets boutique. If you have ever stayed in a Mal Maison, then you can expect similar decor, but with lots of room.
Reception staff, are warm and welcoming, as are the rest of the service team here.
The rooms are spacious and very well decorated. The one I had was all dark woods with two windows, wooden blinds, a dressing room, low lighting etc etc. Large TV without the annoying welcome notices and forced film previews.
Room service is via the in-house Italian restaurant. Food is great and delivered quickly. (20 mins from order) There is a Starbucks near the hotel reception (in the hotel) and great for either grabbing a coffee on your way out, or having a drink later on.
The location ensures zero boredom. There are a variety of eateries within the hotel, without it being to much of a multiplex hotel, and across the other side of a large car park is a bowling alley and cinema.
I am choosing to stay here until my new house is ready. It's worth paying that little bit more for thsi one over comparibles like The Marriot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneRogers, Administration Co-ordinator at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Dear Ian

Thank you for your positive comments, I'm very glad to read that you're enjoying your stay with us and hope that the remainder of your stay exceeds your expectations.

Jane Rogers
De Vere Village Swindon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,041 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £43 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing