We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Hotel Swindon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,396)
Filter reviews
2,396 results
Traveller rating
820
827
461
182
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
827
461
182
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantpizza hutclub roomvictory pubthe upper deckbowling alleylaser questleisure parkice rinkleisure facilitiesgreat facilitiesswimming poolcoffee machinelovely hotelsteam roomenjoyable staylovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,260 - 2,265 of 2,396 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2011

De Vere have done a grand job with their re branding of the Village Hotels. Though we were let down badly by lastminute.com for failing to confirm our reservation, the receptionist did their best to accommodate us. we used the leisure facilities which are very good and the breakfast was ample self service, though a little busy. The location of the hotel is great if you fancy doing many things that are adjacent to the hotel, cinemas, ice skating and plenty of food outlets within a 1 minute walking distance !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Even though on the outskirts of Swindon, Hotel is situated next to Cinema, Bowling
allay, several Resturants and just across the road from a Sports Centre. Hotel has a very good Gym and nice swimming pool. Regular buses into Swindon. Friendly staff and I had a resonable room.I think that charging on top for a newspaper is rather a nerve.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
Thank Andyblue064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel is in a great location - there is a cinema, bowling alley and plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. Our greeting at the hotel was a bit frosty - our room was ready but we were told we would have to pay an addiitonal £10 to check in earlier than the normal 3.00pm. Room was good although very dark - we had to have all the lights switched on to do anything! Putting on makeup and doing your hair was very difficult. Room facilities were not great either - only 2 packets of coffee, two of decaff coffee and a few PG tips. No hot chocolate, herbal tea options, buscuits or bottled water were provided. Swimming pool was good but quite small. We had to wait a long time for spaces in the spa pool. Steam room and sauna were good and the gym looked well equiped but we did not use it. Staff at the leisure area were very friendly and helpful - we were offered towels to use straight away. Breakfast was a joke as we ended up in the `overflow` bar area with instant coffee available from jugs containing tepid water. The mugs were in a basket which had just come out of the dishwasher and were not particularly clean. Floor had not been swept or cleaned from the previous night. There were also lots of unwashed plates sitting on the bar. We had to make our own toast - the bread was still in the original bags, not even put into baskets as you might expect from a 4 star hotel. When we approached the duty manager regarding the coffee and toast he said it was the same coffee as the main dining area and made no efforts to help us or apologise for the situation. He said the toast was available as self service to `help` the customer. Surely this is only making things easier for the staff? In the main restaurant, people were receiving jugs of coffee and toast all prepared and cut ready to eat. They need to treat their customers equally. One last gripe - it would have been nice to have bathrobes in the rooms - we get this from our local hotel with a lower star rating!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, Manager at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Hi David and thanks for your feedback following a busy Bank Holiday week end.

Apologies for the issues you experienced at Breakfast and we will be putting that right although when we have more than 200 guests in the Hotel we do use the Victory Pub as a secondary Restaurant to avoid delays, however it seems the usual standards were lacking, we will look into that. Thanks for staying with us and hopefully it won't deter you from visiting us again.

Andrew Spink
General Manager
De Vere Village Swindon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stay in Swindon regularly when visiting family. Since our last stay at the De Vere it as been “themed” under the Village brand, and seems to have gone downmarket as a result. The room décor reminded me of a 1980’s youth club – grey and black striped walls, red ceiling and doors, dodgy artwork. As a consequence you need the (rather dim) lights on to read a newspaper. The room was very warm and had no air conditioning, but it was quiet enough to sleep with the windows open. The bed was very comfortable, but the shower was a feeble trickle. Carpet could have done with a good vacuuming - a hair grip and lots of blonde hairs on the floor (not mine)! Had dinner on the first night in the on-site Italian restaurant, which was pleasant enough. Breakfast was served in the same location, and the adjoining themed pub – tea and toast on the bar amidst the pumps! Receptionist on departure could do with a customer service training refresher.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Team very friendly, rooms spacious and very new! Room service from Buca - great quality! Leisure facilities and pool looked very good. Slept like a baby - hotel looked full but still had 2 nights of perfect sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYork119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews