We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous renovation”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel has had an amazing refurbishment and looks great!
Our room was fabulous with a huge comfy bed and lovely decor.
I liked the added touches of free wifi and an ipod dock.
The spa and swimming pool were very nice, we were the only people in the pool on a saturday afternoon! The sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were all well kept as well.
We ate in Buca and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The portions were very big - fudge cake for pudding was HUGE! - and the staff were excellent and very attentive.
It was slightly unusual to eat breakfast in here the next morning, but the food was very good and a 'help yourself' style buffet.
Would definitely stay again.
A brilliant hotel for an absolute bargain price!

Room Tip: MORE rooms are supposed to be bigger/slightly better equipped, but our standard double was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    633
    346
    127
    71
See reviews for
360
715
66
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a lovely break, reception staff were very friendly and welcoming, we had 2 twin rooms booked, one was ready when we arrived at 12noon which was handy. We made full use of the spa facilities, the pool, sauna and steam room were great. Our spa treatments were wonderful and the staff at the spa were faultless. Food was great, ate in the pub and the italian, starbucks being on site was another big bonus. only negative would be that the rooms are a little on the dark side, a main light rather than lots of lamps would be beneficial. overall a fab time was had and we will most definately be re-booking, this time for 2 nights as we enjoyed it so much!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunneypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Sorry, but i don't like what has been done to this hotel. I much preferred it the way it was, particularly the bar area and restaurant. I thought the American-Italian restaurant was absolutely awful - mediocre food and dreadful decor - and doesn't work as a breakfast room at all.
Rooms are far too dark and bathrooms have cheap toiletries.
This used to be my preferred place to stay in Swindon, but not any more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siena_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, Administration Co-ordinator at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thanks for your comments and we sorry you were disappointed with the changes to the Village Swindon, and that the decor is not your taste. We also now benefit from the Victory Pub and Kitchen which gives you an alternative dining option if Buca is not your preferred choice and of course we also have Starbucks in the hotel. We hope this doesn't deter you from visiting us again and hope to see you in Swindon again soon.

regards
Jane Rogers
De Vere Village Swindon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luz, Portugal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Taking advantage of a "special offer" from De Vere hotels my wife and I made a last minute decision to visit the GWR museum in Swindon( v good) and stay the night over. Having stayed at a Village hotel before I thought I new what to expect. The room was fine, the bathroom, apart from, waiting an age for hot water to reach the taps and grubby grouting was ok. But the bar was ridiculously overpriced and the staff although pleasant had obviously had virtually no product knowledge. Village are really pushing their "Buca di Beppo" restaurants. A truly awful experience here! tasteless tepid spaghetti and meatballs in a sauce the consistency of red ink. When I told the manager of the restaurant what I thought of the food he did have the good grace to look embaressed.Breakfast tepid, cold plates. Some lovely staff who are being let down by a complete lack of knowledge and training. I speak from experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thanks for your comments and sorry you were disappointed with the quality of Food during your time with us. We will be following these comments up to address the shortcomings.
We do pride ourselves on the quality of Food and Service and my apologies you had a less than satisfactory experience.

Andrew Spink
General Manager
De Vere Village Swindon
Part of the De Vere Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is not in the most exciting town of the UK, but it is a very good hotel!
The check in is very fast and people are friendly. The room was large with a great Sealy bed and a large tv. Coffee and tea making facilities. Bathroom with bath. Everything very clean.
Lobby has nice couches where you can read your newspaper and enjoy a coffee.
Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the gym and pool.
Breakfast in the Italian restaurant. Buffet style, with fresh fruit, bacon and eggs, tomatoes and potatoes.
I would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justagirl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Great Hotel. Was made to feel welcome from the moment I checked in.
Fantastic Pub.... good restaurant...Starbucks onsite....Speedy check in.... Lovely pool and leisure club.
... Everything you need under one roof!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed, this past weekend, @ De Vere Village to meet up with a few friends that we hadn't seen in a little while. Conveniently situated just off the M4 & a stones throw from Swindon town centre it was ideal for our trip. From the friendly staff @ check in to the exceptionally helpfull bar staff we had a really great time. If your looking for a reasonably priced hotel in & around the Swindon area you won't go far wrong if you choose the Village.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpidaSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
4.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing