We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, but unappetising food offerings (except for Starbucks)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Booked this as a change from usual city centre hotel, but found it was a little too far out (£8 in a taxi from the station) and the leisure park it's on struck me as a soul less place, though if you're bored in the hotel, bowling, laser quest and cinema are all on the complex. Italian restaurant in hotel looked very pricey and the pub didn't appear to be very welcoming, and I found it odd that the hotel doesn't have a standard restaurant. Not everyone feels comfortable being sat in a pub atmosphere. No apparent room service either.

The actual bedroom was of good standard (watch the raised bathroom floor!) but lacks centre light. Tea making tray but no biscuits. Bathroom toiletries are in dispensers screwed to the wall, no shower cap etc.

Offer of a morning newspaper comes with a £1 delivery surcharge .... Can't see how they can remotely justify that?

Have to say based on location and food choices I wouldn't opt to stay here again, though rooms were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard, as outer facing rooms will be noisy from adjacent car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harricat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, Manager at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thanks for your comments, the Italian Restaurant Menu is available for Room Service so sorry you were unaware. The prices for Buca di Beppo are set at three levels and for individual portions these are certainly competitively priced. The larger portions up to 5 guests to share work out even cheaper.
Hopefully we will see you back again and thanks for giving us your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stay here one night for a wedding function on 1st Oct and was very impressed with the hotel indeed, rooms was very big ( even had a small sofa) It was clean and well decorated with a nice TV bed and nice bathroom, only thing missing was a fridge really.
we made use of the pool, sauna etc which was very good, they also have a pub,cafe and Italian resrestaurant on site had breakfest in the latter, which was a help yourself buffet and also top rate with lots of choices.
Really can't fault The De Vere at all, the staff were also all very friendly and in fact I would say it one of the nicest hotel we,ve stayed at in he UK and would highy reccormend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djdelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We have stayed at this hotel previously and was pleasantly surprised by the renovations, which have really enhanced the hotel. Reception staff were very welcoming and efficient. Our room (a standard double) was nice although it was a little dirty and dusty in places. It was also quite cold. Reception control the heating, which was off, but we were offered a heater. Later, we were informed that all the heaters had been used (which would surely indicate that it was time for the main heating to be turned on ??) instead we were offered more blankets ! The location is great, situated on a leisure park with numerous entertainments/restaurants on site. However, the one area which really let our stay down was the breakfast. We arrived at the breakfast restaurant at 9 am to find it was exceptionally busy. Numerous staff were rushing around, and everything seemed very eratic. We were shown to a table in the bar area (adjoining the main restaurant) which was merely pointed out to us and we were then left. We sat for several minutes, as did two other couples, and received no attention at all. We decided to help ourselves to the buffet breakfast and joined a very long queue waiting for a cooked, help yourself, breakfast. No one had informed us that you also help yourselves to tea and coffee, which consists of two large vacuum flasks of hot water, which are located on the bar! Tea, coffee and sugar were dotted along the bar, with no cutlery, dirty cups, and no bin to deposit used tea bags etc. We ended up putting our tea bags on discarded dirty breakfast plates which had been piled up and left on the bar, next to the hot water. The tables were sticky and there was still litter on the floor from the night before (bar mats etc). We waited 10 minutes for toast to arrive, by which time we had finished our breakfast. The cold breakfast buffet (fruit, pastries etc) was very poor. The cut fruit and yoghurts were in large containers which originally contained ice to keep the items cool, but the ice had melted and the items were floating in cold water. The table on which the items were placed was covered in water and the whole area was messy and unattended. The items had not been replenished and everything looked very unappetising. It was a shame because our stay had been enjoyable up to that point. The Management urgently require to review this aspect and ensure the area is clean and tidy and that guests are informed of the procedures when entering the restaurant, to avoid people merely sitting around, at dirty tables, waiting for attention! All in all, we enjoyed the hotel, but probably one of the worst breakfast experiences we have ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoboBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, Manager at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thanks for your comments, we have reviewed the Breakfast service at weekends when, due to large guest numbers, we do use the Victory Pub as an additional Restaurant for Breakfast and this has certainly improved the guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here on my own on business.

The room was really nice, typical Village, lots of room, big tv, all clean and tidy. The staff here are all friendly, and check in was swift.

Had breakfast, which was fresh and of good quality. They have an Italian restaurant in the hotel that looks v nice, but is expensive.

It should be noted that the Village is on a leisure park, which has a 10 pin bowling alley, cinema, nightclub and a few restaurants like Pizza Hut and an Indian restaurant. Plenty to do if you are on your own.

Would definitely stay here again - so long as I could get a good room rate!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel has had an amazing refurbishment and looks great!
Our room was fabulous with a huge comfy bed and lovely decor.
I liked the added touches of free wifi and an ipod dock.
The spa and swimming pool were very nice, we were the only people in the pool on a saturday afternoon! The sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were all well kept as well.
We ate in Buca and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The portions were very big - fudge cake for pudding was HUGE! - and the staff were excellent and very attentive.
It was slightly unusual to eat breakfast in here the next morning, but the food was very good and a 'help yourself' style buffet.
Would definitely stay again.
A brilliant hotel for an absolute bargain price!

Room Tip: MORE rooms are supposed to be bigger/slightly better equipped, but our standard double was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a lovely break, reception staff were very friendly and welcoming, we had 2 twin rooms booked, one was ready when we arrived at 12noon which was handy. We made full use of the spa facilities, the pool, sauna and steam room were great. Our spa treatments were wonderful and the staff at the spa were faultless. Food was great, ate in the pub and the italian, starbucks being on site was another big bonus. only negative would be that the rooms are a little on the dark side, a main light rather than lots of lamps would be beneficial. overall a fab time was had and we will most definately be re-booking, this time for 2 nights as we enjoyed it so much!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunneypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Sorry, but i don't like what has been done to this hotel. I much preferred it the way it was, particularly the bar area and restaurant. I thought the American-Italian restaurant was absolutely awful - mediocre food and dreadful decor - and doesn't work as a breakfast room at all.
Rooms are far too dark and bathrooms have cheap toiletries.
This used to be my preferred place to stay in Swindon, but not any more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Siena_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, Administration Co-ordinator at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thanks for your comments and we sorry you were disappointed with the changes to the Village Swindon, and that the decor is not your taste. We also now benefit from the Victory Pub and Kitchen which gives you an alternative dining option if Buca is not your preferred choice and of course we also have Starbucks in the hotel. We hope this doesn't deter you from visiting us again and hope to see you in Swindon again soon.

regards
Jane Rogers
De Vere Village Swindon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
697 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,072 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £35 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing