We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fun place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really fun place to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Chose to spend a night here for our anniversary, the idea being spending a night without having to go out for anything. We were very happy with our choice. Lots of things to do and places to eat all on the same complex. We used the gym facilities which were excellent, the pub was lively. The local Indian restaurant was quiet but very nice. Room was nicely done out if a little garish, bed was extremely comfy. Lovely stay. Already planning another stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franceboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    695
    390
    138
    80
See reviews for
401
789
77
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

bedroom had a tiny inadequate mirror and room lighting was poor, we had to put it on during daytime but it didn't make much difference anyway, Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times which went quite a way to making things better. a strange big poster of a horse head in the room which was odd.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris-Leeds8-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have just returned from a Spa break for two nights. The staff are excellent especially Shaun, Sally, Emily & the waiter in the Italian restarant who's name we didn't get as he was so busy. Excellent king sized bedroom, excellent pool, spa, sauna & steam room.
The food was great and overall the hotel is very comfortable with many seating areas in cosy corners.
The massages we had were excellent, the therapists were professional & attentive. We had a great time and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 219 was great, over looking the courtyard at the back, very quiet. We had windows open day &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hants
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

stayed here 4 times now and had i written this the first time it may have been different.......i will explain. First time was at the start of the transition from DE Vere to village and whilst hotel was a shambles (not even a proper bar!!) the warmth and friendliness of the staff more then made up for it they were 10 out of 10
Second stay and refurb had progressed, the place started to feel a bot more vibrant, rooms great and staff still making a big effort.
Third stay and refurb almost totally complete with the restaurant newly opened, the freshness was matched by the keenness of the restaurant staff but sadly the reception staff had changed, becoming brash and rude.......is this because the place is so busy that they feel they no longer need to try? perhaps they are victims of there own press?
last time we stayed, October 2011 and the place was in full swing.......and oh dear they cant cope or care!!. reception use to be a pleasure to deal with but now its cold and lack any personality or friendliness, your just yet another faceless person who probably wont be here for long, this combined with an argument about the room rate as the room i had booked was the same one, same number, as i had before but now it had been reclassified to a different rate, even though i had arranged and discussed this over the phone, but "no" she said "you are clearly wrong".....i don't think so as i had a copy of previous booking showing room number and type but it goes to show the change, previously customer was the most important now the receptionist thinks she is.
The restaurant was clearly not able to cope, 40 minutes to get a glass of water (yes 40 minutes and it was our first drink) and this was only after asking 4 times and being told "we are busy", the food took an hour and the waitress clearly didn't care as they had people waiting. but the biggest change is in the "pub" as they call the bar, this is a victim of its own success with crowds stood out side with lager in one hand and fag in the other shouting and jeering at one another.....and there was some lads doing this too.
So sorry to say what was and still is a good idea of creating a hotel with a village feel (coffee bar, Italian restaurant and village pub) has turned into a city centre on a Saturday night with the disadvantage that these people wont be going home as they have paid to stay the night. only plus side is the rooms......but here again its not as it seems, look closely and you can see the bad finish that's already starting to look tatty.......that's if you can see as part of the decor is very low (dark!) lighting so no reading but you do get a big telly!

Room Tip: if a family ask about family more rooms as some have 50' tv. suites have outside balcony so if o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dangerbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed here for one night for a family get together, for which it was perfect. There was a large wedding party in the hotel - but you'd never know it was such a busy hotel once getting to your room - total silence! The staff were all friendly and there are some good facilities on site (swimming pool, cinema a 2 minute walk, Starbucks, Bar, restaurant).

Pro's:
Excellent value
Well located within 5 minutes of the M4
Tasty breakfast
Friendly staff
Lots of facilities on site
Quiet rooms despite being a busy hotel

Con's.
Room was dark (this would be cured if staying on the 2nd floor).
No A/C which would be interesting in the summer
No children in swimming pool before 9am (an FYI rather than an issue)

Room Tip: 2nd Floor for some natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London. UK.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed five nights for a Course funded by my company.
Lighting in the bedroom and bathroom was abysmal! Very weak desk lamp, bedside lights, and poor room lighting. Very hard to work and to read papers. Free WiFi in the room worked fine. Despite the fact that De Vere has apparently spent a lot on updating, there is NO Air Conditioning in the bedrooms and the rest of the hotel was over heated. Bed was and pillows very comfotable.
The bathroom shower couldn't be used because the water was boiling. Asked Reception to see to this but had to complain again on the second day before they did something about it.
The lunch buffet in the Business Hub was poor and boring. Same sandwiches and wraps every day, Some sort of soggy ryvita like bread, obviously previously frozen!
The menu in the Italian Restaurant was limited and the alternative in the Bar was also limited. Food generally very tasty and large portions.The bar was extremely noisy with the TV's turned up far too loud. Breakfast Buffet choice was fine, except the food is displayed under heat lamps so that bacon was hard as a board and the scrambled eggs came out in a solid block. Staff helpful and friendly.
A good hotel for an overnight stay, Opposite the car park is an Indian Restaurant, a Pizza Hut and a cinema. Also an Asda across the road. Road signs in the area only direct to Shaw Ridge Leisure and no mention of the hotel. Even turning into the car park, you can't see the hotel as hidden by trees and poorly signed.

Room Tip: Room 108 on the first floor very convenient for The Hub and Conference Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedromot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

First time visited Swindon, De Vere Village is situated in good location very close to the M4. Easy to find, plenty of car parking spaces, however large speed hump on exit. Our greeting at the hotel was warm and professional. An upgrade was mention, king size bed and air condition room. Great start however Receptionist forgot to provide the Italian restaurant dinner voucher and Wi-Fi information.
Our room (no. 205) was a bit small, bathroom was clean apart from the toilet. The shower taps was tricky to work out, no obvious hot and cold markings, very small indentation on tap its self. The room was very warm and no air conditioning. Large windows opening but not much use as there were noisy smokers and young kids outside.
The bed was hard, but my wife slept comfortably. Italian restaurant was excellent, really enjoyable three course meal. The wrong dessert was given to us but was soon corrected by a professional waiter (Thanks Joe!). The Victory pub was again too warm in places. Menu promotions are good, two meals for £12 and burger me for £2 on Friday’s. Draft beer, bottles and glass of wine slightly over price. Bar staff a bit frosty but then livened up later that night.
We truly enjoyed the Spa, nice staff, offered towels and locker key cards. The male changing room was clean, state of the art treadmill with on board internet access. sauna, swimming pool and steam room was free flowing however the whirlpool was a 30 minutes wait. Set time for children's swimming times and adults only.
Breakfast was nice, two minutes queuing for the (self service) full English breakfast. There was a major issue with the hot plates I burnt my hand. Member of staff placed napkin for us to use which had previous ran out. NO caution sign and NO napkins. We were not offered tea, coffee or toast a bit strange however the elderly couple next to us had been offered. I could not be asked why we were ignored, they were very busy plus yet again there was no air conditioning. Male receptionist on departure was not bothered about our stay and did not even ask for the room cards back. They should be reminded that customer facing skills and basic service with a smile is good for business. All in all I would like to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajnesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
999 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
670 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 25 in Swindon
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing