We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throughally enjoyable visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed last night as part of company conference/ training event . The hotel is very well mainatained and the staff couldnt do enough for us.

The bar was buzzing and has a great atmosphere . The resturant did not complain about us changing our table time twice .

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the free wifi was a bonus /

We will definetely be coming here although would suggest avoiding a road side bedroom if you need the windows open !

Room Tip: avoiding a road side bedroom if you need the windows open to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coughandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,908 - 1,914 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very friendly staff. Booked family room which had double and sofa bed. Neither child wanted the sofa bed as matress was very thin, even for children. Room spacious and everything worked.

Leisure centre on Sunday was packed not helped by swimming lessons taking place at same time that guests are allowed to use pool with children. Sauna cold and general floor area around pool corridors very dirty and slippy.

No charge for car parking which is a bonus over the local Hilton!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newark40something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Myself, the other half and our 4 year old rescue dog have just returned home after a weekend break with them. (Nice to see this chain accepting all the family) Just out the rear of the hotel complex is a massive park area to exercise your pooch and leads on to a country park, all dog friendly.

We have nothing but praise for the staff for one of the most relaxing breaks I think we have had in a UK Hotel. The reception staff, two young ladies on duty Friday afternoon, sorry we didn't get their names, made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. It made a refreshing change to have such a friendly greeting and makes all the difference. The room was spotless, fresh and peaceful and the facilities were just what we needed. The top marks go to the bed. Someone has certainly done there homework when it comes to comfort. We stayed in the 140 to 170 wing at the rear of the complex overlooking the grass bank and tree's so very quiet. Leisure facilities were top class and all inclusive!

The only slight problem were the menu's. Were both vegetarians and unless you like veg curry or veg burgers, there wasn't much else, hence why we ate out. Had the menu been a little more extensive and better priced we would have stayed in house. Breakfast was a feast and made up for it. Small bottle of water £2.20 at the bar. Cheaper to drink petrol!

All in all a darn good weekend. Please pass on our thanks to all your staff and be assured we will be recommending your chain to friends and will be staying with you in the future.

A M & K

Room Tip: Google Earth the location first. 140 to 170 rooms are at rear towards the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My best friend and wanted to go away for the weekend to celebrate her birthday. After a lot of researching I decided to book DE VERE SWINDON as they were doing a special offer of dinner, bed and breakfast. We read up on this hotel on Trip advisor and all the positive comments are true!!! The staff were great (especially Florian and Amy at reception) and the food at Buca was very good (the chocolate cake shown in the picture on trip advisor really is that big). Breakfast is buffet style and you get the usual eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms which you help yourself to and there are cereals and fruit. Our room was upgraded with compliments of the General Manager (many thanks!) and the facilities were fabulous i.e. gym, sauna, steam room, pool. The village itself really is a little village, there’s a cinema, bowling plaza and even an Asda nearby (within walking distance) which has a McDonalds above it and there’s an ice skating rink a few yards away. I would definitely recommend this for families but my friend and I had a great time and even found time to get some great bargains at the Designer Outlet which was a 5-10 min bus ride away (a dayrider cost £3.50). The only downside was that our weekend was over too quickly. Bravo to all the staff at De Vere Swindon and Mr Spink. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysteryMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed overnight for a family member's birthday. Excellent rate of £79 per king size room, dinner, bed and breakfast. The restaurant in the evening on finding out we had a birthday amongst us, pulled out all the stops!!! A complimentary bottle of fizz on arrival and even another bottle due to a little mix up when our food came!!! Followed by a song and a birthday card!!
Rooms were great and all refurbished. Did not get to use the leisure facilities.
Would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking onto the central court yard as these are away from the roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshcake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I'll be brief and cut to the chase.

We visited the hotel's "Victory Pub & Kitchen" this evening for the 1st time. It's all very glitzy, with thumping noisey background music, and the bar area is peppered with large TV screens.

The bar is manned by very young staff, oozing an air of "lethargy" about them. The choice of food is basic, and that - with their drinks range, clearly reflects their target customer base of 18 - 30.

The food prices seem competative at 1st glance - until you see the portion sizes, which are meagure, but the sting comes when you order a drink. The drinks are VERY, VERY expensive. We paid £4.30 for a (small) 175ml house wine and £3.70 for a pint of Bombardier. £8.00 for 2 drinks !!!!! and one of them was a small glass. If you want to save some money however, you can order a bottle of wine instead of 3 large glasses, and you will save a whopping £0.05 ..... yup ... 5 whole pence.

Service at the bar was (objectively) not very good, and the meals are very unimaginative (burgers or chicken wings) and they come in small portions, but the drinks prices are really WAYYYYYYYYYY over the top for Swindon.

My tip is go elsewhere - you'll get better value, better service and a much more agreeable venue. I'd hate to be a guest there with an evening to kill.

Room Tip: There are plenty of deals offering a room deal for £45.00 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Chose this hotel primarily because we were looking to visit Oxford and Bath and this location was central for both and they were offering a special deal for Valentines / half term.

The rooms are adequate sized and the bed was comfortable. As mentioned in previous reviews the only down side is the fact that the rooms are far too hot but we immediately turned off the radiator in the room and opened the window to cool it down. Did not have to switch the radiator back on for the remainder of the 3 night stay.

Used the gym and pool facilicities on the first day we arrived and both were adequate. When you hand in your room key they exchange this for a locker key and a fresh towel so no need to take your own.

As mentioned we wanted to do some sightseeing in the surrounding areas. Wanting to have relaxing days out and be able to enjoy a drink if wanted, we decided to check out the local transport system.

The hotel is just under 3 miles out of the centre of Swindon and in the middle of a leisure complex which includes a cinema, bowling alley, supermarket, couple of restaurants etc. We do a lot of walking but not really an easy way to walk into the town so elected to catch one of the many regular buses from the Link Centre across the road from the hotel - a couple of minutes walk. The buses run until at least 10.30pm - 11pm at night.

The train station and bus station are close together. There is a direct train to Bath which takes about 30 mins and runs practically every half hour and costs (for an adult off peak) £10 return which was well worth the money.

We could have caught a train to Oxford but would have had to change at Didcott for a connecting service. We decided instead therefore to take a Stagecoach Gold service (Number 66) from the bus centre (from the actual station and not from the road bus stops where all the local buses start and finish). The cheapest way to do this is to purchase a Stagecoach Explorer ticket - get the no 8 from the Link Centre and you can purchase on this bus saving you the extra fare down into Swindon - for £6 per adult! Absolute bargain and the buses are brand new and very clean and comfortable. The journey does take an hour and a quarter but you do get to take in some of the lovely countryside on the journey. Again this is a regular service - every half hour.

Food-wise - the breakfasts are buffet, self-service style but more than adequate. We ate one night in Buco's, the American/ Italian restaurant within the hotel, and found this to offer a wide selection and we were happy with our choices. We also ate on our last night in Verve the pus within the hotel and again enjoyed a more than adequate burger. We did however have recommended to us a couple of restaurants in Swindon town centre - an Indian by the name of Khyber and a Chinese by the name of Swindon Rendevous. We did not get to the Chinese but the Indian was superb and comes highly recommended. We went on a Friday night at around 8.30pm and did not have to book. Superb food, lovely clean premises and really friendly staff. (Get the No 8 bus and, rather than going all the way into town, ask the driver to give you a shout for the nearest bus stop to Rudi's and Khyber is just around the corner from there - this will save you a 10 minute walk back up the hill).

Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravellerstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,042 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#8 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £43 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing