We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very modern clean friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very modern clean friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Booked a one night away Sunday Sactuary £72 with my Niece. This included two treatments of your choice, three course evening meal & breakfast. Food very good and plenty of choice also Starbucks coffee shop was an added bonus. Hotel very modern and rooms clean too. Pool small but adequate, including Sauna, Steam room & Gym if you feel the need. I would definately come back again - great value !!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williams67_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    613
    338
    123
    70
See reviews for
345
691
63
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
213 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I've stayed twice here now, both times are equal. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, typically the hall is cooler than the room actually is.

The dining room has loads of pictures of previous guests, some famous, some unknown. Breakfast is merely "ok". The best I can say for it is they have a great bowl of "forest berries" that tastes good and is good for you. Typical English breakfast, eggs. baked beans, tomatoes, sausage, tomatoes. Thats about it. Outside restraunts are close by, Pizza Hut and an Indian cousine.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be the same, none of them has air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pekopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed here whilst I ran and cycled from John O'Groats to Lands End with the RAF. It was a really nice stay and felt very comfy after a hard day on the bike. Plenty of choice in the various restaurants and very good quality food. The Starbucks made a good morning coffee before we headed back out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroughton, Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We booked to see the Queen tribute band (called Majesty), and as the tickets including dinner and disco were £28 each we decided to make a night of it and book the package deal to include bed and breakfast, £99. Booking in person was a hassle, we had to wait half an hour for someone experienced to take the booking. As my partner has mobility problems we asked for a room with disabled facilities, eg walk in shower. We were told the hotel has only two such rooms and they were booked out. She then added that the disabled friendly rooms don't have a walk in shower, just a vibrating pillow and wider doorframes. We asked for a room close to the lift , and that we got. A girl on reception carried my partner's bag and took us up to our room. It was very dark and took a while to work out how to make all the lights work. Even so you have to do your make up in the bathroom. The TV worked, there were no biscuits with the tea making facilities. As usual there is no socket near the mirror for the hairdryer, but luckily this had a long lead. The bed was comfortable but the room over warm and we couldn't turn down the heating, so we opened the window. The tribute night was fabulous, the group were super, the three course meal was excellent and there was a special deal on a bottle of very acceptable wine for £12.50. We slept well, the restaurant for breakfast (8-10 on a Saturday) was busy, the hot full English was nearly hot. Fruit, juices, pastries etc all very nice. all in all a very good deal, it could do with more disabled parking and more thought to grab rails in the bathroom. Even I who am not disabled had nothing to hold on to getting out of the bath/shower found it slightly scary. The toilet could do with a good clean/bleaching. There is an excellent gym here, though we didn't use it on this occasion.

Room Tip: Second floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed at the De Vere Village in Swindon for a couple of days with work and after navigating the endless roundabouts following a few Sat Nav hickups, the hotel was a pleasent surprise when it came into view. It is surrounded by lots of shops (Asda) and restaurants (Pizza, Indian, etc) as well as being situated next to a cinema and bowling alley.

The staff were very helpful, and having arrived at 11pm on a Sunday presented me with a very limited room service menu. They did explain that there were other places to eat, which was nice and explained about the other options within walking distance.

I had a room on the second floor (Room 245), which was one heck of a walk from the lift! The hotel floors are like the endless round aboutsth my room being on the oposite side to the lift. The bedroom decor was lovely although the same could not be said for the bathroom.

All in all a nice hotel with a comfy bed and welcoming staff, but dodgy bathroom in the room let it down slightly. I would however stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont choose 245. Some colleagues who also stayed at the hotel enjoyed better rooms with balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seventh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel this weekend. Nice modern hotel with an excellent Italian restaurant. Such a nice change from the usual stuffy hotel restaurant.
Great selection available on the menu and nothing was too much trouble for the waiting staff.
I had the calamari, chicken milanaise and quite possibly the best cheesecake I have ever eaten - and I have eaten a lot of cheesecake :)
My husband had the melon and crab linguine and loved them both.
Would definitely stay again and if I was local then would be there on a very regular basis

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsG67467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales Bridgend
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is our second time at this hotel . It was much better than the first time.
The room was massive and warm. The Sky TV worked and the movies to. The spa facitlites were ok and have had better at different village hotels. The bathroom was a llittle mouldy in the corners, but nothing to concerning. The breakfast was good. The reception staff were excellent especially Sally - she was extremely helpful and we remember her from the last stay. i would recommend this hotel as you have everything you need in one place.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be bigger and ask for a room overlooking the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stadd1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
4.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing