We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for an Overnight Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent for an Overnight Stop”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We were attending the National Trust AGM in Swindon and wanted somewhere for an overnight stop. Being members of the Village Leisure Club in Bournemouth, and having stayed in a couple of other hotels in the group, we decided to give the Swindon hotel a try, and were not disappointed. It is an interesting, square design, built into the side of a slope up to some woodland and round a central garden area. From our welcome at Reception to the time we left nothing was too much trouble. We had booked an "Upper Deck" room, following some recent renovations, and it was well worth the small extra for a large room with comfortable seating, large screen TV and everything else you need in a hotel, and especially quiet at night. We sampled the swimming pool, which is slightly smaller than other Village hotels we have stayed in, but an interesting shape - like the rest of the hotel. We then went for dinner in the Italian restaurant and had an excellent meal, especially the Fritto Misto, which we shared as a starter. Breakfast the next day was the usual Continental and English buffet, but there was plenty of it and all fresh, enhanced by a comin chef. We shall certainly stay here again if in the area. Our only complaints were that having not packed toothpaste (an unusual ommission for us!) the reception could not supply us with any but referred us to a local ASDA store, there were also no instructions in the room for the complex air conditioning system, which we fortunately did not need!

Room Tip: Go for an Upper Deck - the extra is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    612
    337
    123
    70
See reviews for
344
689
63
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Have just spent one night at the Village, we have been before so we were familiar with the hotel, this time we were there for a Birthday celebration instead of the usual girls spa weekend.

We booked a table at The Buca for a friends 70th Birthday and they really did make it special, Dave (Mark,Steve) (private joke) really looked after us, we had the lovely 10 seater round table in the middle of the restaurant, which gives you the feel of private dining, after a complimentry glass off fizz, we were served with our 3 course meal, we all had different meals including steak, sea bass, pizza and pork....all the meals were served at the same time and they were all piping hot and delicious.
We were never made to feel rushed at any point and the service was excellent through out the evening....we were also given the same table for breakfast the next morning, where again all our food was lovely, especially the freshly cooked poached eggs from the guy on the egg station.
As a special treat our friends had one of the suites for the night, the bedroom and living area were superb, it was also great that we could all go back to one room for after dinner drinks.
My friend says if there was one tiny critisim of the room it was that it must be directly above the kitchen and the room constantly smelt of cooking food, other than that it was lovely.
Credit again to the General Manager Andrew on the service provided from his excellent staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I thought our room was nicely decorated. The beds were lovely and comfortable. We had a couple of minor problems with the tv and lights when we arrived but they fixed it within 5 mins. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing I found worrying when we first arrived was the appearance of the outside of the room doors as we walked down the corridor (very scuffed and marked) but it was a relief when I saw how nice the rooms were once we got inside. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Only stayed one night for the convenience as we have family in Swindon. Would not hesitate to stay here again. The Marriott would be more convenient, but at £182.00 basic, without breakfast, you can forget it and according to my son's partner, nothing special for all that - they simply can rely on contractors for BP and Nationwide whose companies are prepared to pick up the tab. Last month the hotel we used was nice, but so noisy. The room we had here was quite a long walk, but worth it for the silence - absolute bliss and if you needed entertainment, which we didn't, there is a ten-pin bowling rink and multi cinema a short stroll away. When we arrived at 9.00pm, the bar seemed to be buzzing. The Italian restaurant had a good menu. Breakfast was okay, but not a big selection of fresh fruit. What really impressed me here, was the shower. I usually have a problem fathoming out how the different types work - due to needing glasses and not having them with me in the bathroom. No problem here. They have very clear to read and understand instructions on the tiles detailing which one to turn to switch on, and which for temperature. Do not see why more hotels cannot do the same.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholidayer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here so many times but tonight was my first since it was taken over by Village.
We had a good deal on a room, checked in and used the gym which was brilliant.
Went back to the room for a shower and the water would only set to scalding so called the hotel reception.
2 people and an hour later we have been moved rooms, and are now what appears to be directly over one of the party rooms and all I can hear is the bloody disco, very loudly, banging in through the floor and walls.
I called reception who advised that it should be done by midnight.
So much for a quiet relaxing weekend away. Don't stay here if that's what you want!

Disappointing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly_Wurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

We were due to fly to Atlantic City on Monday 29 October 12...that didn't happen! God bless Hurricane Sandy!

So rather than return home despondent, we looked at our route home and chose a nice looking hotel for the night. We were going to the USA to buy clothes, so we thought we'd stop at an outlet centre and spend a fortune there and combine it with a night at the De Vere.

What a great call!

We booked in for 1 night, but stayed 3, indeed we are returning there this weekend also as it was that good.

Check in was flawless, room was Upper Deck standard and was beautiful, very big, had a huge TV on the wall, came with complimentary water and a host of other greatly received items. You even have an almost full sky package to view too.

We paid for the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Package. This is a remarkable package. Both my wife and I were impressed with, not only the standard of food, but the service also.

The Spa facilities are world class too. Cracking gym, lovely pool facilities (jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms) and we even both went for a massage package. Absolutely wonderful, the lot.

The bed was spacious and comfortable and the room nice and quiet.

We both would like to thank all the staff there, indeed the managers of De Vere Swindon need praise too for making it a very worthwhile stopover. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff.

Will we stay again?

Already booked it!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colinconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Our stay was as a result of a spontaneous whim to have night away from home with use of pool, steam and sauna relaxation. Got an October special for dinner, bed and breakfast and was a lovely relaxing break only 20 minutes from home!

Great staff, so friendly and efficient, nothing too much trouble. great atmosphere in the Buca italian restaurant although the milanese chicken left a lot to be desired. My husband's riggatoni wasn't much better.

great value for my 89 pounds, comfy bed and quiet room, lovely pool, steam and sauna. would do it again.

Room Tip: only choose rooms overlooking the central courtyard when it's too cold for people to use it othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,382 reviews
4.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
911 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing