We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I have just returned from a night stay at the De Vere in Swindon and this time I am very pleased with the hotel! I stayed in an Upper Deck room, which was very comfortable indeed! The Sky television was great and the Bose ipod dock was amazing! Did not expect anything like that from the De Vere! The Bed was surprising comfortable and i got a great night sleep! Only problem with this visit was that breakfast was only on until 9.30am and I really wanted it too be later, but other than that it was a excellent stay, first time I have been with the De Vere since before its renovation in 2010.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxyLeo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,805 - 1,811 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Depressing décor, tiny pool, chaotic breakfast time, mediocre service. Good value, but when will the Village group get a grip. 3*.....................................................................................................

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We checked in Friday night for a romantic Anniversary weekend-but I'm not sure we're going to make it to Sunday... We are tying this with freezing fingers and coats on... (To say we are 'unimpressed' would be the understatement of the year.)

The decor is lovey; I love the moody tones and earthie colours, but that's where the good ends.

Our first room was a disaster. We arrived, turned the raidator on, and after an hour of waiting for the heat to kick in- we decided a hot shower may do the trick, however, the shower was at a preset temp-which was unusually scalding hot! Too hot to even stand under. So after maintained visits, and we waited, there was noting that could be done so we were moved.

Our second room was nicer, but still----no heat---or at least not enough! We froze all night, and then today we called housekeeping. They delivered an oil heater. The cleaner who struggled with English hardly said two words. We tried to explaine that this heater was not adequate, but she just said 'call reception'.

Our room smells musty and damp. We haven't taken our coats off all morning, and the prospect of a second night nearly makes my eyes well up. This has been a terrible anniversary.
A weekend that should have been beautiful is ruined.

Please beware, this hotel has probably had its day. It's all tired, damp, stuffy, and in need of a clean up.

Room Tip: Before you unpack, check that the shoer is working, that the carpet isn't damp and that the heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orange_Spice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Can't go wrong with a Village hotel; free Sky Sports, free wi-if, good bar, good honest food. Had a Upper Deck room this time, so free Sky (all channels) which is a bonus. Easy access, loads of parking and looked like a well equipped gym and adequate pool

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phileasfoggtmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

we were in england on a short stay from badam badam germany came across this hotel thought we would give it a try, check in was great the thing i will remember the most will be the head chef, he went above and beyond to give us great service and everything we could ask for, think his name was alex gibson he made the stay outstanding and we will be back just for that reason!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heinz f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed here recently on a business trip and found the hotel to be very clean and fairly modern. The breakfast is good and is served in an area which doubles up as an Italian restaurant for evening use. Overall everything is good but the area has a bit of an Industrial Estate feel about it. Free Parking though which these days is always a bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I am staying a few times a year at this hotel for business reasons. The rooms are OK but so dark ! I know I am getting old, but black wallpaper, grey paint, low consumption lamps with black sheds, black desk and black venetians, this is just too much.
Although perfect for a satanists convention or even for seducing your girlfriend on a Friday night, you better bring a torch if you intend to work !
The rooms are not as clean as they should but do not blame the cleaning ladies, they probably cannot seeing anything either.
Otherwise the pool is OK but getting tired.
The food at the restaurant is pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,039 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £44 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing