We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed in for one night while on business trip. Usually stay in IHG or Accor, made this as an exception as rest of colleagues were staying in for planned night out. The location is like most other hotels in it's class - about £8 taxi from town. The plus though is the food and amenities nearby as the hotel is in the middle of a retail park type area with a few restaurants and bars. Didn't have dinner at the restaurant so wouldn't know.

The upper deck rooms are brilliant for a well needed retreat. Artistic furnishing, comfortable bed & linen, over all functionally sound and working. Sky TV in room is an added advantage. The complimentary treats are also a nice touch. Reception staff are friendly & efficient - although didn't get the wake up call as requested - nevertheless other requests such asking for desk fan and cold milk in the middle of the night were catered for immediately.

Cleanliness would have been a 10 on 10 - except was disappointed to find a previous guests sock with the bath towel. Left it outside the room, called to say that I've left it outside, woke up in the morning, sock was still there.

As a recommendation - Upper Deck rooms are definitely worth it. Shame there are no points or not part of major chain - hence probably will return when in dire need for a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Upper Deck rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawhid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    698
    390
    138
    80
See reviews for
406
793
77
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here for the weekend of RIAT.

THE GOOD
comfy bed
wifi
location - pizza hut/Asda across the road. There were a couple of pub/restaurants but we didn't use these
Starbucks in your room
Jacuzzi

THE BAD
They tried to charge us £30 for a meal we didn't have.
Bathroom - needs updating, cracked sink..toilet dirty.
Dusty - wall sockets, light fittings etc
Rooms too warm, no air con
Toiletries weren't that special
Pool - area wasn't very welcoming, cracked tiles and mouldy grout

MISSING TRICK
Early breakfast option for those going back to RIAT on the Sunday.

Room Tip - I don't think the upgrade fee for Upper Deck rooms is worth it to be honest.

We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for upper deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wifey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Visiting friends that live in the area we had cause to stay overnight and this hotel came highly recommended. Parking is free and hassle free and check in was quick and easy. We had booked a suite because it was a special occasion and we especially liked the little balcony complete with table and chairs. We felt the bedroom and en suite was very Mal Maison in its appearance and the sitting room was enormous: think seating for about 12 people!
We were up early and thankfully had time to enjoy the gym which is very well equipped before breakfast which is serve yourself buffet style in the hotel restaurant.
A very pleasant experience and would certainly use this hotel group again in the future

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fletcherandcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Didn't stay in the hotel, just went to the pub for lunch. Prices are extortionate. £5.95 for an egg a mayo sandwich and 8 ready salted crisps! Sandwich was edible but equivalent in quality to a tesco value sandwich. No salad or anything to make it worth the money . My friend had a jacket potato with cheese, also about £6 but was a tiny, badly microwaved potato with horrible microwaved cheese on top....awful. She took it back for a refund. Don't eat here, there are plenty if decent places in Swindon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MitchellAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights in June just to relax and laze around by the pool but I ended up spending most of the time in my room!

When I arrived staff were efficient and friendly and the reception area and rooms looked newly refurbed and exactly like the pictures on the website. Just a warning, the dark dramatic decor you see on the website is just as dark in reality so putting your makeup on in the rooms isn't particularly easy. Also I needed lights on in my room to read even in the middle of a fairly bright day.

The main reason I will not go back to this hotel is the pool area, I think when people book somewhere that has a spa they're probably hoping for a nice relaxing attractive poolside area with loungers to read a book and maybe a sauna or steam room. The picture on De Vere website shows a very large open pool area with loungers around the side. In reality it looks like your local run down leisure centre, old brick and wood panelling, it is surrounded on two sides by the gym so your view is windows into the excerise machines or studios, another wall has a big window which would be nice but your view is about 5 feet of concrete wall and an air vent with an inch or two of sky peeping out at the top. The loungers looked very old and unloved. The steam room and sauna are tucked away in as you walk into the pool, down a little step and hidden from the pool area, I didn't even go in as it felt too dark and closed in.

It basiy looked like a completely different hotel and this was quite a shock after being in the rest of the hotel which has clearly had some money thrown at it (even if the design choices aren't your taste) I should say I didn't visit the treatment rooms which I'm sure were lovely, but the pool, sauna and steam room were not great.

If you're just going to stay for a break its in a great location for shopping and is walking distance from restaurants and a cinema but if you're going for a spa break you might end up really disappointed if you're expecting it to look anything like the photo on the website. It doesn't!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Upon checking in Maria was superb offered me free upgrade to the suite which is lovely. Restaurant bar staff excellent particularly Alex who made me feel very welcome without being intrusive. The food is excellent tasty as well as good value for money in both restaurants. Shame because Housekeeping lets it down. Zero out of 10 for housekeeping. Overall 8 out of ten. Staff make this hotel. (besides housekeeping who need to learn how to smile and get some manners). Excellent facilities too pool and treatments. Great stay so good i came back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thumbelinasmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Here on a business function and the room was not well lit at all. The room was nicely set up and water jugs replenished at break times. Loos near the room were scarce!
Welocme coffee and cakes and mid-morning coffee very wel catered for with fresh fruit as an alternative. Full range of beverages available.
Sound was good. Just a shame about the lack of light!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,002 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
671 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 25 in Swindon
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing