We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Melksham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

First time we stayed at this hotel. It is situated just on outskirts Swindon on edge of a entertainment area. 2 m ins to cinema, several restaurants, ten pin bowling and pizza hut. We upgrading to an executive room for £20-00 fee. Room was excellent with super size comfy bed, great shower and sky sports and movies. Swimming pool is small but warm and well maintained. Also a jaccussi, steam room etc. We ate out in the evening, but morning breakfast was amazing. Quality fresh English breakfast as well as continental, cereals and fruit. All the hotel is clean and staff are very welcoming. After we booked out at 11 am we were invited to stay for rest of day to use swimming etc. Typical of the welcoming attitude throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Corner suites are super large. Ist floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLEV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    695
    390
    138
    80
See reviews for
401
789
77
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel several times and have found the experience generally to be very good. Was slightly disappointed by the attitude of the leisure staff. am still waiting for the leisure facilities manager to email me. It's been a week! The hotel seem to be confused about the ages of what they call a child. when booking in it appears to be 12, however my daughter who is 13 was asked to leave the pool as children are not allowed between 12.00 and 14.00. confused! Particularly as the notices in the pool area only syaye junior. The staff in the pool area were dissappointingly rude when the staff in the restaurant and front of house are very polite giving excellent customer service. Particularly Freya in the restaurant. First class service and a big thank you to her for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Clarify ages for children if planning a family stay to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Administrator at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Sharon

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your positive comments regarding our front of house and restaurant staff. I am sorry you've not received a response from the leisure club manager, could I ask you to please send me your email address or contact number and I will ask the manager to get in touch. I can be emailed on jane.knight@village-hotels.com

Best regards
Jane
Village Urban Resort Swindon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and the refurbishments have made a great improvement
we stayed in room 120 very nice but the bathroom door needs an oil. We were booked in the italian restaurant for our new years eve meal we received a phone call to say the meal had changed to a carvery we accepted and received a £10 each refund, we would have prefered to eaten from the menu as others did but we did not get the choice. The whole meal was very poor and very disappointing. on the up side all the staff were great the leisure facilities are very good.The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Really loved it here, the hotel was brilliant. The rooms are really nice, just a bit dark. Our room had been decorated with black striped wallpaper, the bedside lamps were ok, an a corner light but not really bright enough. The room was dusty an the bathroom door was mucky but everything else was great. Just don't think of taking the Starbucks cup....... £10!!!
breakfast was excellent, everything you could ask for, self service an lots of choices.
used the pool, jacuzzi, and steam room, really nice an clean.
Ate at the Miah indian restaurant and the italian Buca which are all on the complex. The indian was beautiful, the italian was good, only order one side portion between two we got tons of garlic an rosemary potatoes, very nice.
We loved our stay here an will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Haven't stayed in a De Vere for some years as found the prices have risen far more than Hilton and Holiday Inns for much the same. However were delighted the newly refurbished " poshness" Room was beautiful , overlooking the courtyard. The fee of £ 104 for two night's with breakfast was fabulous. The staff were all ( wait for it) were an absolute pleasure . Waiters , reception staff and room maids were divine. Our waitress ,Freya was delightful and most accomodating when I asked for cold ham and cheese instead of cooked breakfast. When I came down the next morning she had a platter prepared! Thanks to her and the lovely smiley chef- they could not have been kinder! The swimming was wonderful and Hannah was so sweet making sure we had enough dry towels and waited for us after her time. After such lovliness throughout the hotel we were actually very taken aback by the rudeness and lacsadasical attitude of the barman ( Jimmy we think) He was watching cricket on the Tv as we approached the bar We stood and stood for quite sometime being ignored. I actually took a picture of him sitting there but he still didn't look up. Eventually my husband coughed loudly which seemed to do the trick. He looked up and grunted " Yep"? Most of the contents of our drinks were strewn across the beer mats!!!.....( and back to cricket he went) SUCH A SHAME ( she shouts loudly) One bad egg can ruin my otherwise 1000% score for this hotel . Yes I will go back to the De Vere again but not to the bar!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyred456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Administrator at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Arm1964

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and I am very pleased to read that the majority of your stay was enjoyable and met expectations. We can only apologise for the poor service you received in the pub and your comments will be passed on to the pub manager to review with his team. I do hope that you will make a return visit to the Village Swindon so that we can show you usual high standards of customer service. Best regards, Jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a great new year at the De Vere Swindon, stayed at the De Vere many times, but this has got to be one of the best so far! The hotel did a great job, the food was very good and the disco in the Victory pub was also very good, room was nice and clean and very comfortable, if you get the chance get an Upper Deck room, they include an few extra touches which make your stay more comfortable! Worth the extra £20!

Would recommend to all, it was a great start to 2014!

Room Tip: An Upper Deck is a must! Only £20 extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxyLeo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, only visited for Christmas lunch in the Italian restaurant. A family party of eight.
An experience far greater than anticipated. The service was exceptional considering how busy it was. After soup we were treated to a sharing starter and then the main course carvery with an unlimited supply of meat(including turkey, surprise, surprise) and a wide choice of vege. We were also invited to return for seconds which I could not manage. The choice of three desserts were placed in the centre of the table allowing everyone to pick'n' mix. All in all an exceptional experience and well worth the price. Will certainly be looking to book for next year, possibly staying overnight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
999 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
670 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 25 in Swindon
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing