We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 7 February 2014

A colleague bought us this weekend away for a Xmas pressie and the fact it included 'Boogie night' on Friday - well i really wasn't sure about it. As it happens we had a really great night.

Upon arrival i was a little concerned as the hotel is situated in a retail park so no views or atmosphere, however the hotel itself is really very good and in fact opposite the hotel there is a cinema and a couple of really good Indian restaurants which worked well for us. Our room was lovely (upgraded) and the spa facilities were brilliant. We only ate in the bar/restaurant which was ok although wine pretty expensive and not a great selection. Breakfast very good however. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,802 - 1,808 of 2,214 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Recently joined the village for the gym facilities.
I cant tell you how lovely this venue is.
The gym has great staff, superb well maintained equipment and many varied classes which are from toddlers up.
As a member i receive member benefits such as discount in The Victory Pub and the Italian resturant. Plus there is a great little starbucks in the foyer which makes rhis a great place to meet with friends for coffee.
I have also enjoyed and been treated to some lovely pampering spa treatments.
Each month there are tribute acts and comedy nights which are always fun and a some night include meals.
Ideal location if you are staying here as its local to shops, cinema, bowling. Thanks guys for been a great team

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. From check-in to check-out, all the staff we encountered were very professional and friendly. The waitresses in the Buca di Beppo restaurant both at dinner and breakfast provided excellent service and went out of their way to ensure our visit was perfect. Our modern, tastefully decorated room overlooked the courtyard. Our only minor complaint would be that the room lighting was a little too dark. Also, an Information book in the room about the hotel and surrounding area would have been welcome but the positive aspects of our stay far outweigh these negative points.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destinators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We had heard good things about this hotel and with the prices being so high we expected good things too but started off not so well, at reception on our pre booked arrival there were two members of reception staff dealing with one customer and they both continued to do this with us stood there until the woman being dealt with suggested they see to us first! No apology for the delay and we were booked in and told where our room is, on walking into the room the sofa bed wasn't made up for our son and when I walked back to reception to tell them all I got was 'oh okay I will get housekeeping to see to that' no apology but she did turn up quickly and made the bed. Our double bed was two singles put together and as my husband is rather a lot heavier than me the edge of his bed was sticking up in the middle so I couldn't even cuddle him! The rooms are dark they need better lighting and there was no information pack in our room about the cinema/bowling etc and even nothing explaining the TV channels etc.
There were many good things about it though, our room was quiet with no noise from other rooms, the pool was lovely ( though under 16 not allowed in jacuzzi and we have never encountered that before) other than the problem at reception the staff were all really polite nice and helpful, breakfast was very nice, parking was excellent, my son loved the long corridors, as its next to bowling alley, cinema and very close to an ice rink, Asda etc its great for things to do.
I just expected more with paying what we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is by far the worst De Vere we have visited. Staff couldn't really care less. Food equally disappointing and drinks very overpriced. Went to visit the Spa facilities whilst there but not up to par. Clean but not inviting. Will not be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmigcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

First time we stayed at this hotel. It is situated just on outskirts Swindon on edge of a entertainment area. 2 m ins to cinema, several restaurants, ten pin bowling and pizza hut. We upgrading to an executive room for £20-00 fee. Room was excellent with super size comfy bed, great shower and sky sports and movies. Swimming pool is small but warm and well maintained. Also a jaccussi, steam room etc. We ate out in the evening, but morning breakfast was amazing. Quality fresh English breakfast as well as continental, cereals and fruit. All the hotel is clean and staff are very welcoming. After we booked out at 11 am we were invited to stay for rest of day to use swimming etc. Typical of the welcoming attitude throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Corner suites are super large. Ist floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLEV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel several times and have found the experience generally to be very good. Was slightly disappointed by the attitude of the leisure staff. am still waiting for the leisure facilities manager to email me. It's been a week! The hotel seem to be confused about the ages of what they call a child. when booking in it appears to be 12, however my daughter who is 13 was asked to leave the pool as children are not allowed between 12.00 and 14.00. confused! Particularly as the notices in the pool area only syaye junior. The staff in the pool area were dissappointingly rude when the staff in the restaurant and front of house are very polite giving excellent customer service. Particularly Freya in the restaurant. First class service and a big thank you to her for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Clarify ages for children if planning a family stay to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Administrator at Village Hotel Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi Sharon

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your positive comments regarding our front of house and restaurant staff. I am sorry you've not received a response from the leisure club manager, could I ask you to please send me your email address or contact number and I will ask the manager to get in touch. I can be emailed on jane.knight@village-hotels.com

Best regards
Jane
Village Urban Resort Swindon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
697 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,071 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £34 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing