We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, tired and dull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shabby, tired and dull”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Such a shame as this hotel could be lovely. It's a good size and the rooms are spacious too but my goodness so drab. We stayed in 112 which was actually two large rooms together. It is so dark and drab. No ceiling lights just black lamps, black and grey wallpaper and for the price we paid compared to that of other hotels it was not good value at all. The road noise is quite bad in this room and it was quite cold even though the radiators were on. No spoons for coffee making and no glasses left with the bottle of water. Breakfast was ok. Bit cold and greasy but edible. The victory pub was not fantastic for their menu. Our food was overcooked and dry. The staff were pleasant enough. Reception were not very informative at check in. Would much rather a premier in or hilton anyday. If refurbished it could be lovely. Would like to see an executive lounge and a nicer dining experience. We stay in hotels on a weekly basis for business and pleasure and this has been the poorest for sometime.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELDUST100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    695
    390
    138
    80
See reviews for
401
789
77
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just a couple of nights break, with another couple, a bit of golf and a bit of retail therapy. Given adjoining rooms, so not too far to go for the late night coffee, and dram! Good size rooms, well appointed, and good sized bath towels. Beds were large and comfy, everything you'd expect from this brand. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food in the "pub" was good. The "Indian" on the other side of the complex was also pretty good. Can't fault the spa either, but swerved the gym, which looked to have plenty of equipment! Excellent value.

Room Tip: I'd guess they're all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrivePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I found it difficult to find fault with anything here...maybe the meals in the pub as not "haut cuisine" but actually for the price and for fast service it was just what we needed. By comparison the meals in the italian restaurant on site were very nicely cooked and not too pricey. In fact if you are a Gourmet society card holder and its mid week you can get big discounts.we did find the service a bit slow in here but actually werent in any hurry so didnt matter to us...but maybe dont go if you are on a time premium. I got a very good late deal for 2 nights at the hotel on booking.com and as cheap was the theme of the week end we decided to stay in the standard rooms and not upgrade for an extra £20 per night - doing without the bose player, sky movies, extra comfy bed and pillows and starbuks coffee in the room - although some of you might think thats worth it? The breakfast was really good although I did miss my cold meat and cheeses. It can get busy and is a little cramped aroubnd the do it yourself "toast" area but at least you get warm toast!
Staff in the italian restaurant were really friendly and quite funny.
The place bills itself as "all under one roof" and actually it works...there is no need to leave the hotel with plenty of large flat screens dotted around the public areas to catch up on news or sport in the pub bar and a lovely leisure pool, steam room sauna and jacuzzi and starbucks coffee shop inside the hotel. We chose to go to the cinema which is a very short walk across the car park (along with ten pin bowling and two indian restaurants) and attended an ice hockey game which just happenned to be on across the main road. Also across the road (walkable) is a shopping centre with an asda, macds,and several other shops. Find the Asda and youve found it.We also took the 15 minute walk from the back of the hotel along the path (turn left keeping the hotel behind you and then fork next left and then straight on and then follow signs) to Lydiard park with lake, playground and historic house.
For a cheap "charge the batteries weekend" it was ideal. Next time Im trying the second floor with my bose sound system !!

Room Tip: £20 extra will get you upgraded to the second floor with all sorts of extras. If not ask for one ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramaqueen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed one night on a spa package with three friends. Comfortable rooms which can be linked together by an internal door. Staff all very pleasant and helpful, we were able to get a bucket of ice from the bar for chilling a bottle and the food in the Italian restaurant was lovely. Also, great choice at breakfast. Swimming pool good too and lovely spa treatments up on the second floor. Have stayed twice now and would go again for the value and facilities available.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group, ask for the option of interconnected rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend and my mum had a room next door. The rooms were very big the beds very comfy and the room was well furnished. I asked the staff if they could open the adjoining door to the rooms and they were up within five minutes to do it. The staff were very friendly and the spa/pool area was very nice. The breakfast was not the best which is the only reason I did not give five stars. Otherwise I can not fault this hotel would recommend it and will certainly be looking to stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I really want to love this hotel as it has great facilities, modern clean decor and fantastic staff (Sam in the Victory Pub was particularly helpful and very professional). However I was disappointed by the quality of the food served in both the pub and Italian restaurant. I stayed here for four nights and tried various meals which were all under-seasoned and bland, and often over-cooked and cold too. The worst was the Fillet of Beef from the restaurant which was pricey, small, massively over-done (I asked for medium rare and got well done) and tasteless. I've stayed in numerous other Village hotels and the food has always been excellent, so it's such a shame that it's so poor here. If the quality and selection of meals were improved this would be my number one choice when I'm in Swindon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Valentine's Day, we were greeted at the door with champagne and strawberries which was a lovely touch.

All the staff were very friendly and professional.

We chose this hotel mainly for the leisure facilities which we really enjoyed and made the most of, the jacuzzi, steam room, swimming pool and sauna were all very clean, my only gripe is that they had childrens swimming lessons on the Saturday monring so half the pool gets taken up by that and its not very big to begin with! The gym looked well equipped and modern but we didnt use it.

We stayed in an Upperdeck room which we chose as the price was good and for the Sky movies however the weather was horrendous so there was no satellite signal for all of our stay! Which is not the fault of the hotel at all, it was just a shame.

We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
999 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
670 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 25 in Swindon
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing