We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Hotel Swindon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,395)
Filter reviews
2,395 results
Traveller rating
819
827
461
182
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
819
827
461
182
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantpizza hutclub roomvictory pubthe upper deckbowling alleylaser questleisure parkice rinkleisure facilitiesgreat facilitiesswimming poolcoffee machinelovely hotelsteam roomenjoyable staylovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,330 - 2,335 of 2,395 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I probably would've given this hotel 3 out of 5 had it not been for the amazing service the staff gave - I was ill whilst I was there (not in any way related to the hotel) but the staff did so much, went to the chemists for medicine, brought everyhting I requested to the room and more, nothing was too much trouble- definitey worth that extra mark.

Apart from that, a slightly above average hotel, good facilities, nice rooms, clean, average hotel food, quite pricey bar, pretty standard conference hotel fare.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Stayed as part of a tour group for two nights. The hotel, built in an 80's style, is in a characterless situation and is in desparate need of refurbishment.
The fact that we were in a group may be the reason why we were given a room that was shabby with peeling wallpaper and dodgy wiring. Similarly, with the exception of breakfast, because the group had a fixed dinner menu on both nights, maybe this was the reason why the food was so bad - poor ingredients cooked to make them even worse. The pork on the first night was inedible and the cheesecake on the second night was a marvel to food technology. Everything about both meals was a disaster.
Or maybe you don't have to be in group to have such a bad experience?

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankandMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Stayed here last weekend, lovely hotel, easier to reach from M4 jct 16 than trying to navigate Swindons roundabouts! Friendly welcome spacious room but really warm had to have fan on and windows open the whole weekend. Huge comfy kingsize bed and huge bath sheets which is often forgotten at hotels. Ate in restaurant first night.....beautiful food, second night ate in Pizza Hut a 2 min walk from hotel, and 3rd night ate at Beefeater about 5 mins drive down road.Breakfast was ok typical full english buffett, cereals/pastries etc. Location of hotel is on a retail park with cinema/bowling alley/laser quest and a AYCE chinese buffett called Fusion and of course Pizza Hut. Across the road is an ice skating rink and a shopping centre with a 24hr Asda, a Macdonalds, post office and other shops and takeaways.
The hotel itself had a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, fitness suite and health and beauty suite. Word of advice book any treatments prior to arriving else you wont get in!
The hotel had a couple of private functions on and hosted corporate meeting/conference. However this was not a problem and there was no noise at all.
I booked this on an offer with Superbreak for #12.50 per person per night probably wouldnt pay full wack for this hotel. But if you can get it on an offer go for it!
Ideal location wih Bristol about 30miles away, Bath is even closer.
Would go back to this hotel and would now like to try other DeVere venues hotels

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doristoptravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed here for a couple of days while as we went to watch the Air Tattoo in Fairford. It was quite amusing as every other person we saw at the hotel were walking around in flying suits, obvioulsly pilots/air crew.

Check in was simple enough, apart from not being able to understand the man on reception as I don't think he was English. Our room was on the 1st floor, it was a large room with a big comfortable bed and was very clean. It was nicely decorated and couldn't really fault it, apart from the bright lights shining towards the bed at night from electrical equipment under a table. The bathroom wasn't all that great though, the bath was quite uncomfortable having 3 chunky anti-slip strips for the combined shower. The TV had around 12-15 free channels to watch, icluding Sky Sports 1 which was a bonus.

We had breakfast once which was good if you like English Breakfasts; it was very hot and of a good standard. They had a selection of fruit, cereals and juices too. My girlfriend made use of the beauty salon in the fitness area and was pleased with her manicure which she said was good value at £21. There is a £1 charge for towels if you want to use the pool. We didn't try the hotel's restaurant but ate at the nearby Pizza Hut instead.

A car is recommended if you plan on staying here as it's a bit out of the way and there didn't seem much to do in the immediate vicinity. We had to get taxis everywhere which was roughly £8.50 to Swindon city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rydeboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Stayed on way down to devon as a stopover. Very large hotel, clean and comfortable. Rooms are large, bed was huge! Stayed on £19 a night special rate - which is very good value. Dinner however was not good value - basic food expensive for what it is. Breakfast was pretty poor to. Would stay here again but be better off going to cheap and cheerful pizza Hut on complex or the buffet chinese for dinner i think!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews