We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for touring Sth Cotswolds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location for touring Sth Cotswolds”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

A comfortable motor inn which we have used previously, nice rooms good service, close to M4. We use it when exploring the Cotswolds easy to get to many of the prime spots.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiabroad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    637
    346
    128
    71
See reviews for
362
717
66
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights with friends. Hotel was all that one might reasonably expect. Good service, friendly staff and rooms which were of a decent size and well furnished. Maybe the hotel looks and feels a little dated in places but in general terms it was compensated for by a genuine attempt to please. Breakfast buffet was excellent and leisure facilities provided an opportunity to relax and de-stress. First time I've stayed at a De Vere's hotel but on this showing and at the rates we were offered it certainly won't be the last time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightweight_brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Have just returned from a weekend break at De Vere Swindon.....fabulous! Paid £55 for 2 night Friday and Saturday break with breakfast, 1 night free. The De Vere on first impressions is a bit bland, situated in a retail park with Pizza Hut and ASDA. But remember this Hotel is 5 minutes from the M4 and is primarily a business use Hotel so if you're looking for Country Mansion dont go. The interior more than makes up for the exterior though - warm, welcoming, smart without being intimidating. The room (a twin) was lovely - clean, spacious (not a lot of tea/coffee but totally no problem restocking), the bathroom again clean and spacious, hot shower. The bed was so comfortable i stayed in it until 2pm on the Saturday which is unheard of as i cant normally wait to vacate the lumpy standard bed. The pillows and mattress were soft and had a definate "stay here" quality, the sheets were soft and felt expensive.
We ate in the bar on Friday and the meal was pricey but when it came well worth it, plenty of it, hardly any waiting. Good extensive menu from cheap and cheerful to "lets spash out". Service was friendly, polite and helpful (what more can you ask?).
Breakfast on Saturday was bliss - plently of hot coffee, fresh juice....everything you could ask for from Rice krispies to little pastries and excellent quality back bacon to black pudding (if you can stomach it). Again the staff efficient, friendly and professional - no hold ups, replenishment of tea and toast when you wanted. It felt like a breakfast you could idle over instead of rush to get the hell out of there....perfect.
Used the Spa...yes they charge for towels...a pound, so what? Cant see a problem myself. Beautiful pool...very warm, Jacuzzi, Steam room, sauna..all spotless. Changing rooms a little luxury haven with "goodies".
The Gem of this Hotel was the absolute sweetie who had run the bar all night for a large formal function, then i turn up at 2am asking for coffee.She had just cleaned the machine so no Cappuchino, and looking apologetic she asked if "instant" would do? After probably 8 hours plus on her feet she went straight out the back and made me a pot of delicious coffee..she was so sweet i wanted to hug her, what amazed me was she was so fresh and friendly you would think she'd just come on duty. A real credit to De Vere...hang onto her whoever she is.
After another blissful night in lushiousness beds - breakfast was a repeat of Saturday.....staff just as friendly and helpful, food plentiful and hot and that lovely feeling of "dont rush its Sunday....take it easy".

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptrapxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Booked this hotel with laterooms.com for £59 per night room only.
Used the pool, steam room, sauna and the wonderful jacuzzi (take a towel with you, if not the hotel charges you £1 per towel)
Asda, chinese restaurant (mind the red hot curry), laser quest, bowling, cinema, harvester, pizza hut all on the doorstep.
Nice comfortable bed (not the biggest double in the world)
Steep step in to the bathroom - all in all a good standard hotel with nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Speaking to the receptionist we were told for the spa break we3 could easily book 2 of the treatments and once the credit card details were taken we were transferred to the beauty area. So we attempted to book our spa treatments firstly we were told only one treatment, then was told they could only accommodate our chosen treatments at 9am on the morning of our arrival but we could not check in until 2pm!!!!
Then after several phone calls to the spa area then back to reception we eventually were told we could have our 'together' treatments separately at 9am so much for the lie in.
Then the reception phoned to say the card would not go though. Having repeated the number, expiry date back to the gentleman it appears the foreign female receptionist had not only given us the wrong information but had also taken all the details of our booking down wrong. So not being very confidant in the level of the service so far we decided to cancel only to be told by the same receptionist that we could not cancel and they would not refund the money. So after explaining the rights to a refund my partner was transferred to a supervisor and given a refund (well we hope). Watch this space.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie-cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I have stayed at this hotel several times and the rooms need updating but are very well furnished and the facilities are good.

There is a restaurant and a bar menu but I find them limited and the restaurant is quite expensive. However the service in bot the bar and restaurant is excellent and the staff are always helpful.

Ideal for business travellers and the fitness centre is a bonus

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I probably would've given this hotel 3 out of 5 had it not been for the amazing service the staff gave - I was ill whilst I was there (not in any way related to the hotel) but the staff did so much, went to the chemists for medicine, brought everyhting I requested to the room and more, nothing was too much trouble- definitey worth that extra mark.

Apart from that, a slightly above average hotel, good facilities, nice rooms, clean, average hotel food, quite pricey bar, pretty standard conference hotel fare.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
4.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge
Village Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing