We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Hotel Swindon - Great Getaway Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Hornchurch
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Marriott Hotel Swindon - Great Getaway Weekend”
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Just returned from weekend break at Marriott Hotel. Booked through Superbreak, great deal including breakfast 2 days and dinner on first night. Room was comfortable with excellent facilities. Free swimming in their Leisure centre which ajoins hotel. The pool was like getting into a bath, lovely and warm. Drove into Bath on Saturday takes approximately 50 minutes. Good shopping at nearby Swindon. GWR museum closes at 5pm

Room Tip: Room 135 quiet, overlooks roof, didn't notice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonA1Hornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    262
    107
    39
    13
See reviews for
169
220
27
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We had a good size room, comfy bed and all the amenities you would need. The staff were very efficient and kept our room clean and tidy. The location was also good for us as it was fairly central. We ate breakfast there every morning and had a great selection of foods lite to hardy meals.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Last minute booking to replace another trip. Good and quick staff on reception to book in and our rooms were ready early. Room was ideal with two very comfortable double beds, easy chairs, large TV, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, trouser press, minibar, safe and even scales in the bathroom. Heating/air conditioning was easy to control.
Two in the party had treatments and were impressed and four of us used the pool (not large but adequate if not too many in there) jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, which was a nice added extra. We had our evening meal in hotel (included in dinner/bed and breakfast deal) - very good and not rushed. Breakfast was also excellent - good choice and plenty of it, the fresh fruits and fruit salad were excellent, as was the scrambled egg. Thanks to the kitchen staff because they don't always get it right.
Only one gripe - the fire alarm went off at 2 am in the morning. Having read the instructions of the back of the room door we knew the procedure, however the instructions did not tell you where to go when you vacated the hotel. We left the building at the back and decided to make our way around to the front of reception area. When we got there we found guests standing around inside the reception area in their night attire but there appeared to be no member of staff in charge or telling people what to do. Other guests told us that it was OK to return to our rooms as it was a false alarm.
It is important that the hotel gets its fire alarm procedure sorted with proper assembly points, a member of staff as a designated person in charge with a fluorescent waistcoat to enable guests to identify him/her and a check of guests. Although it is inconvenient being woken at that time in the morning I personally would rather be safe than sorry.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

stayed for 2 nights on dinner free on first night basis. excellent choice of menu wonderful servce and delicious food. room extremely well appointed and very spacious. would definately recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kesandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

My wife and I , along with our family have stayed here on several occasions ( once a year over 4 years) Usually for two nights but our last visit was for just one.
We often use our tescos club card points for this hotel as the room rates are very good , and the hotel is of a good standard.
We are due to stay again in the new year and look forward to visiting again.
This year was the first time we have stayed here with our son who is one year , and the facilities ample.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank read_review_first
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night because we were attending a function at the hotel. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and well furnished and was excellent value at just £56 including breakfast.
The bathroom was not quite as prestine as the room but was certainly of an acceptable standard and the underfloor heating in the bathroom added a nice touch of luxury.
The bed itself was very comfortable although, personally, we both found the pillows to be too soft and the room a little warm, even with the window open.
The buffet breakfast the next morning provided a wide choice and was absolutely delicious.
Overall, a very nice stay and super value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed at the Marriott Swindon for two nights last weekend with friends, the hotel being almost central for us all. All three rooms were booked by me and were great value for money. When booking on line I requested rooms with two double beds (a no cost option and as one member of our party is disabled and we needed two beds for him and his wife we thought we might as well all have them) The booking form does make it clear that they will note the requests but cannot guarantee them. Fair enough, but what irritated me slightly was not the fact that they did not have the rooms requested, the hotel was very busy on both nights with Xmas parties,coach trips etc., but that there was apparrantly no record of the request on the hotel system. Foolishly, I had neglected to take my confirmation, not that it would have made any difference, although I did have the booking reference which didn't prove I had made the request. The receptionist did offer to upgrade my friends to a kingsized room, also had a sofa bed, and although this was declined initially we did accept when the room allocated was found to have a underperforming heater. I must add that the staff were most helpful and dealt with our issues with great professionalism and courtesy. The American service ethos shines through.

Rooms were comfortable and clean and the bar and restaurant (food was good and not to overpriced) were uncrowded and relaxing. The pool and fitness facilities were first class and added to the relaxed weekend.

My only other niggle was the final bill in our second room, although we had consumed a couple of gins and tonics from the mini bar the bill was £70, presumably including the have empty bottle of water which was in the mini bar when we arrived !. When the bill was questioned, the staff dealt with the matter professionally and it was immediately reduced to the correct charge.

Overall, we had a brilliant weekend, the hotel is close enough to other restaurants and bars (not many) in Old Town to allow you to eat elsewhere if you wish - cost approximately £9 for a six seater taxi. We ate in one evening and out the next, used the bar and the leisure facilities. Breakfast is good value and the staff were attentive. At £56 per room per night this was good value and I would recommend the hotel. We would certainly use it again (but I'll remember to take my confirmation just in case !)

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Creditmantsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
999 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,946 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Property: Swindon Marriott Hotel
Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing