We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and value, great facility - stay here if you're doing something in Salisbury or Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 14 August 2011

One of the front desk folks stayed on the phone with us for 15 minutes, giving us real-time driving instructions to get there. Very friendly and cordial when we got there, and when we checked out, the woman at the desk gave us a huge tip that there is now a rental car drop off at St. Pancras station in London - saving us from dropping the car at Heathrow and getting 5 people and 6 suitcases into the city - somehow. She even printed driving directions for us. Good restaurant, clean rooms, comfortable, quiet, free parking. One thing to watch for - the electronic eye under every item in the min-bar. Just moving something registers and it's added to your bill automatically. The kids pretty much touched everything, but staff was great and removed it all from our bill.

If you're doing anything around Salisbury, or even Bath, it's worth the drive - hotel is right off A4, very convenient and much more reasonably priced than any hotel we looked into in Bath (even the Travelodge).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Lots of room for improvement, extremely boring and bland presentation overall. Front desk very good, professional, excellent check in and out experience. Rooms large but need refurb. Average selection at breakfast, extremely slow service even though not overcrowded. The best thing may be to avoid Swindon altogether if you can and stay somewhere else, the city is an eyesore and a blight to the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mentaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Short driving to shopping centre and restaurants in the Old Town. Rooms were clean and spacious although slightly outdated, but this did not spoil our visit. Manager upgraded us to a suite so stay was even more enjoyable. Staff were excellent. Only slight flaw was that the pool and jacuzzi were open to the public which meant they were often busy. However we drove to Bath and went to the Thermae Spa baths which made up for it. Would definitley return

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchick066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Are things at the hotel showing the resecession, just a few picky things, no hot choc drink in rooms biscuits tea coffee etc cut to a minimum no stationary, no telephone book, no side plates or small knives layed on breakfast table or anywhere else so you could get your own. no mushrooms, grapefruit segs, prunes or flavoured yogurts on the weekend breakfast table I did ask but a very dismissive young lady told me its the resecession but the price to stay at the hotel is still the same!!!! Bed very soft not my style but the pillows are great. Rooms very clean as I say perhaps I'm being picky but have stayed other places recently and all the thing mentioned in the list were available

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The rooms are good and the location is nice but the leisure club is very poor the pool area is in a poor state of repair and the changing room is very dated

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights and used the hotel as a base to explore the local area, including the Cotswolds. We stayed in a superior room which was comfortable, those Marriott beds are always a winner! We didn't eat dinner here but breakfast on both mornings was good, and the dining room not too busy. It takes about 15 minutes to walk up to Swindon Old Town, where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We booked in for the dining package - one nights stay, 3 course meal & breakfast. In addition to this you are able to use the pool & leisure facilities. Excellent value for money! All staff were polite & friendly, food was good & the rooms clean & spacious. Perfect for a relaxing night away :o)

Room Tip: Asks for preferences on booking - all were met.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,057 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#7 of 25 in Swindon
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,603 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £52 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing