We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for weekends!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 5 September 2011

A weekend deal including a full English breakfast was better value than the "budget" travel hotels were able to offer. We were met with friendly and helpful reception staff. Requested an easily accessible room, which produced one on the first floor a few steps from the lift. It was good sized, clean and comfortable, although the bathroom fittings were elderly and overdue for renewal.

We found the dining room provided good food and service - a little slow on Saturday night, due to simultaneuos wedding and birthday parties.The leisure facilities looked good.

Probably not the best place to stay during the working week unless on business (and expenses), but the cheap weekend rates can't be faulted. A little tucked away but the Sat. Nav takes you right there.

Room Tip: Good weekend rates - get a superior room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

This slightly difficult to find hotel is in quite pleasant green surrounds. The reception is welcome and the dinner at the Source enjoyable though relatively expensive for what you get. Breakfast is even more expensive!
Rooms are small and the Queen sized bed I booked was a double. The English style shower over a deep bath is not ideal - and I prefer separate shampoo and conditioner. No morning paper was delivered but it was supposed to be.
I certainly wouldn't go out of my way to stay here, but it is OK if you need to be in this locale.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConstantTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here as a family on a coach trip (Galloways of Ipswich, would also definately recommend them too). We were given drinks on arrival, bags taken to our rooms and placed back on the coach etc. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was very clean and spacious (we had a twin room with large beds..yippee). We used the swimming pool which was lovely.. not huge but enough with a childrens pool directly next to the adult pool. Towels were supplied and I found the changing rooms to be clean and tidy. Food was gorgeous and plenty of it. Air conditioning in the bedroom was brilliant as it was really hot when we stayed.
We will definately be staying again....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chirpy_chick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I have stayed in most of the hotels in the Swindon area while my company relocates me. Variety is the spice of life apparenlty, so why stay in one for months. Actually this is because it has taken ages to find one, and this is not it.
First impressions are good. Staff are friendly and the hotel looks good inside, if not a bit conference facility if you know what I mean. There is a great "Sell" on a loyalty card, but then the staff memeber trying to sell it, was not sure about what it did nor offered. The bedrooms are superb, the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The room is well decorated and comfortable.
Food quality is average and service is shocking. You can wait over 1 hour for room service, and this is where this hotel lets itself down. Upon arrival you are promised everything and yet nothing is delivered. For example the free paper offer in the mornings is a nice touch, but you never get it and have to ask at reception if you can have it. If you have to pay probably the highest room rates in the area, then you expect that little bit more. I would have rebooked here but thankfully found somewhere else.
You will be charged for parking here which I find an annoyance in the other hotels, however this one is nearer to Swindon Old Town and I guess it's to stop the commuters abusing it.
In summary this could be a great hotel, and at this star rating you expect, and yet it is not delivered. You are not treated as their customer, more just a by product of having a hotel with a conference room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

One of the front desk folks stayed on the phone with us for 15 minutes, giving us real-time driving instructions to get there. Very friendly and cordial when we got there, and when we checked out, the woman at the desk gave us a huge tip that there is now a rental car drop off at St. Pancras station in London - saving us from dropping the car at Heathrow and getting 5 people and 6 suitcases into the city - somehow. She even printed driving directions for us. Good restaurant, clean rooms, comfortable, quiet, free parking. One thing to watch for - the electronic eye under every item in the min-bar. Just moving something registers and it's added to your bill automatically. The kids pretty much touched everything, but staff was great and removed it all from our bill.

If you're doing anything around Salisbury, or even Bath, it's worth the drive - hotel is right off A4, very convenient and much more reasonably priced than any hotel we looked into in Bath (even the Travelodge).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Lots of room for improvement, extremely boring and bland presentation overall. Front desk very good, professional, excellent check in and out experience. Rooms large but need refurb. Average selection at breakfast, extremely slow service even though not overcrowded. The best thing may be to avoid Swindon altogether if you can and stay somewhere else, the city is an eyesore and a blight to the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mentaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Short driving to shopping centre and restaurants in the Old Town. Rooms were clean and spacious although slightly outdated, but this did not spoil our visit. Manager upgraded us to a suite so stay was even more enjoyable. Staff were excellent. Only slight flaw was that the pool and jacuzzi were open to the public which meant they were often busy. However we drove to Bath and went to the Thermae Spa baths which made up for it. Would definitley return

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchick066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,071 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#6 of 25 in Swindon
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,634 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#3 of 25 in Swindon
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £48 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing