We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, brilliant, superb service, very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing, brilliant, superb service, very enjoyable”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

We went for a long weekend break at Easter on a coach holiday, stopped at this hotel, everything was wonderful from arrival to departure. Staff helpful and first class, top amenities, excellent food, lovely clean rooms, service excellent. Every part of our stay was a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs294north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    254
    103
    38
    12
See reviews for
164
211
26
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Usual fair from Marriott for their Mid range traveller lay up.
Friendly welcome and free wifi for gold rewards members was a good start.
No lounge for members but quite a small hotel so no surprise really
Good gym and a small pool were fine.

Nice bar with tv sports and flexible staff who allowed you to choose from any of the 2 menus rather than insisting you sit in a certain place for different food.

Excellent ceasar salad and nice local beer made for a nice evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalCitizen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed a Saturday night at this property.
Good family room with two double beds, one bed very comfortable, one not quite so comfortable (mattress showing it's age). Mini bar in room. Was unable to lock safe with valuables over night, safe wouldn't reset and lock.
Leisure club very nice with small hot-tub (always busy) and reasonable sauna (not hot enough and unable to add water as no coals) and very good steam room. Pool also good and reasonable temperature.
Breakfast was good quality but lacked variety (compared to say Hilton), not enough choice in particular with the hot breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markwoodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Fantastic stay! Gym amazing! brilliant staff! amazing food! great bedrooms! very clean!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benchmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed one night while visiting family. The hotel is quite tired now but the rooms are adequate and clean. The breakfast was excellent.
They should be offering free WIFI in this day and age.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellercardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here lots of times always very welcoming.
Great value for money nice rooms and dining area for reasonable price.
Beds are always comfortable any questions always answered.
Breakfast can be bit hectic if you pick busy time, try early or later, dining staff always busy but always try to see to you as soon as possible and with a smile and they can put up with some horrible people.
Dining very nice food always good.
Just returned from night away with family and was a very nice stay.
would recommend. Not tried leisure facilities so can't comment but great value for money

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gromit89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Outside areas, car park and reception area are all very clean and well maintained. Definitely gives the appearance that the hotel is kept well. Unable to get into our room as the key card system wasn't working. Reception staff keen to resolve the issue (we had two small children with us so hanging around to get it fixed isn't an option). After I think the 4th attempt and a couple of hours later we had cards that allowed us access to the room. Apparently there was a system wide issue with the cards not working - not ideal but one of those things?? When we were in the room and wanted to secure our things in the safe so that we could use the pool we found that the safe didn't work. We had a few goes to ensure it wasn't user error then called this in. They advised that a call would be put out for an engineer. We decided to go to the pool and take our valuables with us rather than sit in a room waiting with two bored children.
Pool reception and changing facilities were nice and clean. The pool however was as a previous poster put, very murky, the chemicals were definitely not correct. I couldn't see my hips let alone my feet which is absolutely not as a pool should be. On the edge of the children's pool there are sharp edges on the tiles, the whole pool area is very tired and shabby looking and in the pool I stepped on a pile of grit/gravel that had accumulated at the end. The filters are clearly not working.
When we got back to the room and spoke to reception as the safe still wasn't working the duty manager came to check the safe. After running a protocol on a handheld device she agreed that it wasn't working!! After making some snippy comment about not being able to send someone to fix it earlier because we weren't in the room - I'm guessing we were supposed to wait around? They offered to lock our belongings behind reception but the option of having to q with the children just to get our things back if they were helping a customer didn't appeal so we agreed on switching to a new room where everything worked.
Now the food! The restaurant was closed but the menus were being served in the bar. So we ordered from all 3 menus in the end. Food took a little while to arrive but appeared fine. The children's food was fine just usual pub grub type of thing. My husband ordered a mixed grill, all seemed fine, the gammon looked a bit dodgy and shiny but other than that good. I had a "spiced chicken burger in a herb crust" and was presented with a bright orange fish finger looking chicken fillet in a bun. I never complain about food but this was the blandest chicken I have ever tasted. Honestly chicken is not the most flavoursome meat to start with but this took it new heights! It wasn't spiced or herbed - it tasted of nothing. We also had some nachos to share that despite having melted cheese on top were ice cold (had some chilled refried beans on top which took the temperature to below room temp). I complained about the quality of these two meals as being a) cold and b) not as the menu described and wasn't made to pay for them. We left after an unsatisfying meal and headed back to our room. 3 hours later my husband came out in a cold sweat with stomach cramps and a searing headache. After 6 hours of bathroom trips we established that he had food poisoning - I can't say I was surprised after the level of "cooking" that went into my food.
So overall the hotel is clean and tidy, rooms and nice, some teething issues that were quickly resolved but don't eat there! Can't comment on the breakfast (that we had paid for) clearly after the evening's food we didn't dare go there.
Oh also, we booked through hotels.com and also were charged twice, once by the hotel and once by hotels.com.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausageshuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Director of Operations at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Would the owner of this review please contact me directly as I can not find your name in our booking system and I am concerned over several false allegations in your review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.3 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Property: Swindon Marriott Hotel
Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing