We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no nonsense business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a typical hotel caters to business travellers, room is clean, comfortable, front staff tried very hard to accomodate early arrivals from the US flights (9am arrival), very much appreciated. I have stayed a few times, last one had a service fluke (my towel and shampoo were missing, but I did not realize until stepping into shower, oops). The staff was very apologetic, people make mistakes, no one is perfect. the hotel is walking distance to old town Swindon, with some choices for pub food, not bad. I tried to stay there whenever I could.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. Two on points (10,000 per night) and two nights on a dining package (included breakfast daily and supper one night). We made it from London Heathrow in an hour and ten minutes. It wasn't a bad drive at all on the M-4. We had an efficient check-in and were given a deluxe guest room. I'm a Marriott Platinum member, hence the upgrade. There is no executive level there, and unlike Hilton properties they did not offer the complimentary drinks each day, or some of the other perks that Hilton does for its frequent guests. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The air conditioning (yes, it was actually quite warm during our stay!) worked well and kept us comfortable. I was afraid that this location was a bit out of the way for our day trips to Oxford and the Cotswolds; however, we found it easy to get to and from our daily journeys. We did Oxford the first day, and then toured through the Cotswolds the next two. This turned out to be a good location for us. We did have some problems with our dinner. The service was a bit slow, and the servers didn't know what was included on our dinner package. We received a desert which was not what we ordered, and not very tasty! The main dishes were tasty, however, and we received generous portions. Also, although it said on our reservation that dinner was included daily; we were told that it was good for only one night. When I produced our reservation information, the supervisor, Swapril, did a very good job of taking care of the situation. He offered us a free drink and sandwich in the bar. We found this to be satisfactory for us. Overall, the hotel was very comfortable, the parking free (even though it said it was 10 GBP on their website), and the recreational facilities seemed adequate. The staff were very welcoming and were committed to making our stay enjoyable. The buffet breakfast was extensive with the typical hot and cold breakfast dishes you come to expect at the Marriott. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. It's in a good location, and provides a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is an amazing hotel. We have been lucky enough to stay in so many 'luxury' hotels but have rarely had the customer service as was given at the Marriott in Swindon. From check-in to check-out nothing was too much trouble. Every effort was made to make our stay the best and with a 2 year old with us it was very much appreciated. The rooms are lovely, and not dated as I had been led to believe. The bar was great and the pool excellent. We had a fantastic stay and look forward to returning one day. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bombelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

After 2 days of business meetings at this hotel I feel that I can recommend this place as a great place to hold your meetings.
The staff couldn't do enough for us, the room was a good size, facilities were great and the food/buffets were one of the best we have offered our delegates.

Not so good points - you have to pay extra for WiFi even after you have spent hundreds of pounds over two days. I even asked for it to be included and was refused. The reception for my dongle was not good either!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Reception nice and staff very helpful and friendly.

Room was small and in need of an update although it was clean. The gym was big and had everything you needed but the swimming pool and spa were up some stairs and not right next to it. It was a bank holiday weekend and the pool was very busy and the jacuzzi was tiny.

I would stay there again but the pool area and rooms need renovating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetsplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Working nearby, I elected to stay at the Marriott Hilton. Whilst the communal hotel areas and room were clean, the decor was dated and I do not believe I received value for money. The staff were friendly and very accommodating, but the food was standard and the room service menu was quite limited. Did not use the swimming pool and gym. Breakfast was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Basically a business hotel but the rates were too good to let them go. The rooms and bathrooms were quite dated but neat and clean. Breakfast was standard and boring.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsaraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,072 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#6 of 25 in Swindon
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,637 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#2 of 25 in Swindon
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £48 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing