We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swindon Marriott Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$114
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra House(Wroughton)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$138
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Swindon(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cricklade House(Cricklade)
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Hotel Swindon(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$65
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
269
286
122
44
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
286
122
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo double bedsgood sizeleisure clubbreakfast was excellentsteam roomair conroom rateleisure facilitiesreception deskrestaurant staffshort staychanging roomswould stay againplenty of parkingfriday nightbuffet styleweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Had an enjoyable 2 night break using the pool and facilities with the family , service very helpful from all , usual quality Marriott breakfast , easy to find with free parking , family room fine and very clean

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin1967ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Hotel was booked as a Superbreak weekend deal and was great value for money food was good and hotel staff good and friendly our only fault was the restaurant receptionist she booked us in on our meal first night deal showed us to our table then forgot us, after twenty minutes we when back to her and ask what was happening as three other couples came after us and were being served to which she sent a young waitress over but no apology then at the end of the meal she got our bill wrong

Room Tip: chose a room on the fourth floor nice and quiet
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thailandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

An afternoon business meeting and overnight stay. I arrived 36 mins early and was "politely" chastised for being too early to access meeting room and told to wait..when i asked whether i could check in to room i was told as it was 12:24 it was way too early and i would have to wait.

lunch was booked for 1pm and at 1.20 we had to chase for food, which was clearly designed with our waistlines in mind.


Dinner at night was good, but the restaurant was freezing! The waitress could not have been more helpful

overnight access to the internet (free in many of the surrounding competitor business hotels) was £15.

A sad competitor...stay at the alexandra house in wroughton instead if you need an overnight business stay in swindon.. far better value for money..much more friendly reception.....and you can skype your loved ones for free.

very disappointed

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelSadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and due to the nature of the alledged incidents we would welcome the opportunity to discuss them further with you and hopefully resolve the situation.

We take all guest comments seriously and would ask other travellers to review all our Trip advisor feedback before make the decision to avoid us.

Trip advisor usernames makes it hard for us to track your booking with us so please call the hotel on 01793 512121 and ask for the Duty Manager who will be happy to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I chose this hotel as it was central to where we needed to go for a family event and paid a discounted early booking rate. For the price we paid the hotel was OK but I certainly wouldn't have been happy if I'd had to pay anywhere near their standard prices.
On arrival at the hotel we had to enter through a cloud of cigarette smoke caused by about 10 smokers stood right next to the "No Smoking In This Area" signs. When this was pointed out at reception they did nothing and this illegal activity (for which the hotel could and should be prosecuted) continued throughout the evening. The No Smoking laws exist for a reason and it is unacceptable to expect people and especially young children (as we have) to have to do this.
This theme of doing nothing on reception continued when I asked to book in I was told by the only person on reception "I can't book you in I'll get it wrong as I'm training". She then went back to shuffling papers around behind the desk and made no attempt to get anyone. After waiting 5 minutes to check in I asked her to get someone and she refused and said they'll be here in a few minutes. Eventually after speaking to another member of staff someone arrived after 10 minutes to check us in. Apparently the receptionist was busy working behind the bar suggesting that the hotel is drastically understaffed!
When I then said that I wasn't paying by credit card but by vouchers (that I had previously checked with Marriott Central Reservations were OK) this also seemed to cause a major problem as apparently they had already charged my card that I used to "reserve" the booking - a practice that I have never experienced in any other hotel chain in the world (and I have stayed in numerous on business) who simply pre-authorise but do not charge the card.
The service in the bar was not much better (again suggesting a shortage of staff) as when we ordered 3 drinks and some snacks from the bar menu it took 15 minutes and 2 reminders before we got the drinks and 25 minutes and 4 reminders before we got the snacks (sandwiches so it wasn't as though they needed to cook them even). We saw other people ordering drinks after us who were served much quicker showing the staffs lack of training and/or attention to detail.
All in all whilst the rooms were spacious and clean and up to the standard you should expect in a hotel of this rating (apart from the noisy fan heating that means you either freeze or have to sleep through it). The hotel is let down by poor customer service that should not be experienced in any hotel of any rating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KB2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

There arent many hotels to choose from within the area so i lack of competition shows itself as poor management. Rooms are bit dated compared to other marriotts and realy at a courtyard level so expensive for what it is. One particular problem is there is no central heating/cooling, instead there is a very old split type old fashioned and very noisy units in the rooms. if you have light sleep, i dont recommend.

Hotel breakfast and restaurant is below average compared to other marriotts. Restaurant is over priced and as a result they run promotions. However, be aware as they have funny and anoying rules and as a result they dont seem to honour their offers. for example at the time of his review, there is a 50% off offer in the restaurant BUT only booked by phone even when only 10% occupancy (book either from the room or via mobile). According to the management, if one steps out of the restaurant and books it, it will be valid, otherwise they do not honour it.

management seems particularly poor, for example it snowed 3 days ago but the private carpark is still like an ice ring and it is clear that no effort has been put for clearing the car park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelling_1_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Please can you contact the hotel to discuss this review as we would welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments further and hopefully resolve some of your concerns.

Call 01793 512121 and ask for the Duty Manager.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews