We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just can't go wrong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swindon Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just can't go wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed there in late March for two nights and found the comfortable and well appointed. The grounds are well kept and the breakfast offers many options. There is also a fitness center. However, the best thing about the Marriott Swindon is the staff. They go out of their way to ensure that you are in fact treated as a guest while there. Everyone at the front desk seems to genuinely enjoy their job; everyone we encountered in the halls greeted us with a smile - even the staff in the fitness center and the cleaning staff were pleasant and cheerful.

I requested some clotted cream in the room to surprise my wife and this was provided - free. What a treat. I also lost a USB drive and it was returned to me by housekeeping. Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would not hesitate to return if in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank health1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again in he future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    244
    101
    36
    12
See reviews for
159
199
26
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
237 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Very easy to find even with a satnav,I checked in 2 hours early as my room was ready. Comfortable room, clean, there's is now free internet throughout the hotel so there are no excessive charges, well done Marriott. Ate at the Restaurant which had 2 courses for £17 which is excellent value, with a good choice of dishes, Service was prompt and polite, and the food excellent. The only slight drawback is the vicinity of the leisure club means the reception area does have a slight wiff of chlorine from the pool, but all in all not bad at all

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hallchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel on business for two nights. I disagree with the reviewer who said it was hard to find - my ancient satnav got me right to the door first time ! Check in was good and the receptionist was friendly and chatty. The staff in 'Chats' bar were attentive and it didn't take them long to remember my order which was a nice touch - it made the bar seem more like a local pub than a clinical hotel. And it generally had a nice relaxed vibe.
I ate at the hotel both evenings. The food was excellent on the first night, not quite so good on the second. The 'specials' menu provided very good value and quality.
I only had continental breakfast which was well stocked with the standard items.

The room was pretty standard, good desk space, expensive in room internet. Good TV and choice of channels. Lots of hanging and drawer space, and a comfy bed and pillows. The air con was old and noisy which was the only real negative

Good stay, and great staff. I noticed a few rude guests who were obviously too important to use manners but the staff were equally nice to them all - not sure I would have been !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Have stayed at this Marriott numerous times with my wife and recently with my wife and daughter. The hotel is excelllently located within walking distance of the Old Town which has a good selection of places to eat, Pub Food and Restaurants. It is also conveniently locasted for a 5 minute drive into the centre of Swindon and about 5-10 minute drive to the Outlet Village. Hotel has a Gym & nice little swimming pool free for Guests to use. Staff are always on hand to assist and nothing is too much trouble. In room dining is good as is the restaurant food. I love their buffet breakfast sets you up for a days shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
303 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Hotel needs to provide a cross street for GPS users. We spent about 30 minutes circling around trying to find this hotel in which the GPS leads us to middle of the road near wooded area. The hotel is located next door to Intel. Family friendly hotel. Room door was a bit hard to close which would result in slamming noise.

Room was was typical Marriott room - clean, roomy and comfy. Had an issue with room service. When I called they told me they will call me back for my order. After waiting for extended period of time I called them back and was told that they had called the wrong room. I placed my order and it arrived in reasonable amount of time. Food was good.

The major downside is the chlorine-like smell of the swimming pool emanating throughout the first floor of the hotel.

The breakfast buffet was nice display of tasty variety of foods. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canyanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I have checked the GPS details with google maps to ensure it is compatible with satalite navigation systems and street view will be added shortly.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a 'family' wedding in the Swindon area, so there were quite a few people staying at the hotel including the Bridal party. The Staff could not do enough for us. Once they realised we were the Bridal Party, from then nothing was too much bother! We were upgraded to a 'suite' which was fantastic when you have a Bride and 4 Bridesmaids getting ready! It was a perfect weekend which was enhanced by the wonderful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melindamistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have stayed here many times when touring the Southwest, the hotel has always been clean and tidy with good room sizes that are modern and well equipped, the staff have always been very friendly and willing to help which has made our experience positive. Whilst the location of the hotel is not the best (its on the outskirts of the old town) it is convienant for the motorway and a short drive will get you into the town. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smileycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.3 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#20 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Property: Swindon Marriott Hotel
Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing