We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MOST ENJOYABLE STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our party of four spent a really nice weekend in this modern, friendly, well-appointed hotel.
The twin rooms are spacious, impeccably clean, very well furnished, with two large, comfortable double beds. Large flat screen televisions are an added bonus for those who like to watch their favourite programmes from their beds.

The bathrooms are modern, well-lit and well equipped.
.
The hotel is very conveniently situated for many local trips. We chose to visit Royal Bath and Longleat. We had a Grrrrrrreat time!

We thoroughly enjoyed a four-course dinner and, after a superb night's sleep, a delicious breakfast.

Every member of staff with whom we made contact was cheerful, polite and helpful.

We did not use the pool, spa or gymnasium so are unable to comment.

We would highly recommend the Marriott Swindon Hotel and will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to lifts are more convenient if you have heavy luggage..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorrie353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review we are really please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We recently stayed here over night on a Friday and really liked the available services and friendliness of all the staff.
However, the room was about 30 degrees Celsius and the air conditioning unit was like something from the 60s making an extremely loud noise for very little results. I.E. after an hour of loud noise the temperature had only dropped about 2 degrees.
A simple suggestion to the hotel would be to replace the air conditioning units with more modern quieter ones. I know we live in the UK and generally its good bad weather but there is no excuse for this kind of room temperature. For us this was a big issue but aside from this it would be rated as a great hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid when the weather is warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review,

These unusual high temperatures recently have put a big strain on our older AC units which we are currently in the process of replacing, we are really excited to be undergoing a £1.1 million bedroom refresh, the project will be completed by 1st September 2013.

We are completing a whole floor at a time to minimise the distruption to our guests.

I hope you come back to sample our new bedrooms soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Been here several times. My wife and I were put up in one of the refurbished rooms which was lovely . Breakfast in the morning was stunning and nobody could fail to be satisfied. Hotel was a short walk to old town with a few lovely bars. However, I did leave my iPhone 5 plug and charger in the room. Didn't expect to see it again but did phone on the off chance. Guess what? Housekeeping not only had found it but took my address and posted it back to me within a day! Absolutely outstanding service and well done to housekeeping. There are not enough people like you in this industry and you deserve huge praise for your honesty. Thank you and I sincerely hope the hotel acknowledges your diligence and honesty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

We are really please that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived and were given a room with 3 beds made up in it we were staying 2 nights so got reception to take the spare bed away which they did fairly promptly. The hotel is undergoing redecoration so it's difficult to give a fair assessment. Have never stayed in any Marriott before as they're usually very expensive but was a little disappointed have stayed in better. Although we were given a recently redecorated room the bathrooms are not being touched but are adequate. Have seen Marriotts abroad and they do look stunning. Have to say breakfast was absolutely brilliant and staff very obliging

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are please to hear that you enjoyed your stayed with us.

The refurbishment is now well under way and will be fished by 1st September 2013.

In the bathrooms we have taken the opportunity to give them a full acid clean, re-grout the whole area, replace any cracked or broken sinks and tiles. Put in new shower heads and shower curtains.

We do hope you will come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I spent a Saturday night with my 10 year old son after visiting the Steam Museum.

The hotel is on a business park so you need a car.

The staff were very helpful, they put us in a room far away from a large wedding party and we were not disturbed and gave us a voucher for "milk & cookies"

The hotel is being updated so our room was a little tired - that said it was clean and very comfortable.

The indoor pool was clean and good for a quick swim after our day out.

Breakfast was busy but we had no problem being seated or served - as a platinum Marriott member the breakfast was free.

We would stay again if in the area

Room Tip: Ask to be away form any large party
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edds04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a wonderful experience with the Swindon Marriot. Our family is reasonably well travelled and we found the staff very accommodating. The family room we booked had two large beds.. they said "doubles" but I think they were a north american queen bed. They provided an additional cot as well for our daughter. What impressed us the most was the kindness of the staff... every single time we headed out we were asked if we required any assistance with navigating. On our second day, when we had ventured into Wales, we clearly had had enough of trying to navigate our way through the roundabouts and driving on the opposite side of the road and seeing how stressed we were when we arrived that night the LOVELY ladies at the front desk spent 2 hours helping us obtain a driver to tour Salisbury and Bath the following morning. They worked on this for us until 8pm that night and found us a terrific tour guide. It changed the course of our vacation and we can't thank them enough. Also, we found that the breakfast offered at no charge was way above and beyond what you're typically offered at n/c by other chains. All in all, I can't understand why anyone would have anything negative to say about this wonderful hotel. We plan to go back... and when we do we will be staying here again. :)

Room Tip: This hotel also has a terrific fitness area and a perfect indoor pool for the kids to hit after a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013 and ere very pleased with the friendly and professional staff, particularly the waitstaff assigned to the breakfast buffet. Our only meals at the hotel were breakfasts. The buffet was well-stocked with both hot and cold choices and the quality was excellent. The hotel itself is comfortabl, clean and efficient, definitely more of a business hotel than a resort. We used it as a base to explore the Cotswold District, Bath and Stonehenge, all of which were relatively short drives. It's a short drive or taxi ride to downtown Swindon where there are a number of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,042 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 25 in Swindon
2,098 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £58 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing