We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra House(Wroughton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
269
286
122
44
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
286
122
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo double bedsgood sizeleisure clubbreakfast was excellentsteam roomair conroom rateleisure facilitiesreception deskrestaurant staffshort staychanging roomswould stay againplenty of parkingfriday nightbuffet styleweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a good hotel well positioned particularly for business meeting and I have used it often and eaten there, usually lunch.
BUT having asked for 2 ham sandwiches at about £8 each, you would expect decent fresh bread and a good quality ham, specially as it was optimistically described as 'Wiltshire' in the menu. What arrived was a couple of very tired sandwiches filled with Piccalli, can't stand it, thin sliced ham of unknown origin and uninspiring salad with crisps. Why crisps - are the British incapable of inspiration or is it just Swindon? But it was Monday and there was nobody in the restaurant - I can understand that!
The hotel needs to sharpen its act.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, all feedback is important to us to help us exceed customer expectations.

I have shared your comments with the bar and kitchen team who were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your sandwich at Marriott we pride ourselves in only using quality products and suppliers with full traceability of all items that we use.

If you are ever in the hotel in the near future please bring proof of your trip advisor user name and we will be more than happy to make you a replacement complimentary sandwich.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I am a Marriott traveler so this was the perfect location for my family to stay so we could visit the sites in the Cotswalds. Swindon seamed to be a working class kind of town and the hotel is on the South side just off the M4. It was an easy to drive to Bath, Oxford, Stonehenge, etc..not much to see in the city itself.

The hotel had just gone through a renovation and everything was nicely appointed. It had a very large health club, nice pool and a decent bar (Boddingtons on tap was a nice touch). Restaraunt had a nice full breakfast and we ordered a few appetizers in the evening.

The rooms were typical Marriott rooms. We had connecting rooms for our girls. The connecting rooms only had one bed so we had to get a roll away which was pretty uncomfortable. There were plenty of outlets and the bathrooms were clean but a little dated.

There are a few restaurants within 5 minutes of the hotel in a quaint little "old town" area.

We rented a car at Heathrow and it took us about 1.75 hours to get there. Probably could do it quicker but I was getting used to the whole wrong side of the road thing. All in all the hotel was a good location for us and I would recommend it if you are looking for a brand name location to use as base.

Room Tip: Top floors were renovated as of June 2013
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

stayed with my friend, staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing to much trouble for them, makes a refreshing change !! Hotel in quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of main street pubs, making a good place to relax, didnt have time to use lesiure facilities which was a shame, all main areas sparkling clean and bedrooms clean spacious, nice white fluffy towels! Good selection at breakfast, staff attentive, gold star to the retaurant manager on breakfast duty saturday 27th July, Thank you everyone had a short but nice stay,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our party of four spent a really nice weekend in this modern, friendly, well-appointed hotel.
The twin rooms are spacious, impeccably clean, very well furnished, with two large, comfortable double beds. Large flat screen televisions are an added bonus for those who like to watch their favourite programmes from their beds.

The bathrooms are modern, well-lit and well equipped.
.
The hotel is very conveniently situated for many local trips. We chose to visit Royal Bath and Longleat. We had a Grrrrrrreat time!

We thoroughly enjoyed a four-course dinner and, after a superb night's sleep, a delicious breakfast.

Every member of staff with whom we made contact was cheerful, polite and helpful.

We did not use the pool, spa or gymnasium so are unable to comment.

We would highly recommend the Marriott Swindon Hotel and will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to lifts are more convenient if you have heavy luggage..
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorrie353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review we are really please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We recently stayed here over night on a Friday and really liked the available services and friendliness of all the staff.
However, the room was about 30 degrees Celsius and the air conditioning unit was like something from the 60s making an extremely loud noise for very little results. I.E. after an hour of loud noise the temperature had only dropped about 2 degrees.
A simple suggestion to the hotel would be to replace the air conditioning units with more modern quieter ones. I know we live in the UK and generally its good bad weather but there is no excuse for this kind of room temperature. For us this was a big issue but aside from this it would be rated as a great hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid when the weather is warm.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review,

These unusual high temperatures recently have put a big strain on our older AC units which we are currently in the process of replacing, we are really excited to be undergoing a £1.1 million bedroom refresh, the project will be completed by 1st September 2013.

We are completing a whole floor at a time to minimise the distruption to our guests.

I hope you come back to sample our new bedrooms soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews