We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at the Marriot 19th October for 1 night, good online deal including breakfast. Check-in was fast and friendly and even checked in almost an hour early thanks to the very helpful receptionist. Refurbished room was clean and bright,bed very comfy with excellent bedding, tea/coffee tray and well stocked mini-bar (very expensive so did not use). An iron and ironing board was also inside the sliding door wardrobe. Bathroom was great - clean with plenty of fluffy towels ,complimentary toiletries and good water pressure in the bath/shower.
Ample free parking and a lovely pool/sauna/gym area. A large selection of hot and cold food available at breakfast although it could have been warmer but still it was very tasty. Restaurant was pleasant but the prices meant we chose to eat out in the town which was far better value. All-in-all a good value hotel which is located in the old town area and handy for shopping, eating out and clubbing.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms facing the back are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humblepie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    254
    103
    38
    12
See reviews for
164
211
26
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

From an American perspective this hotel is better than the average British hotel, but bog standard by our own reckoning. No free internet (except lobby) and they make you pay for parking even though it is in its own grounds and parking is not an issue nearby. It was a slow time of year when I checked in (mid-October), and I asked for a King bed. They wouldn't shut up on the up-selling. I felt they were trying to "nickle and dime" me for every little concession they offered. Whatever, in the end I just sighed and took the standard Queen. In a nearly empty hotel, this wouldn't have been a big deal anywhere else. Only other comment is the water pressure was shockingly low, making it difficult for me to get the soap out of my hair and it took an average of four (yes that's 4!) flushes to get *anything* to go down the toilet. This takes water conservation to a whole new level of of ridiculous. Would I stay again? Yeah probably, but with no excitement. Oh, and confirm your Expedia reservation with the hotel before checking in. They had NO RECORD of my Expedia reservation, even though I had a confirmation email from Expedia. I still got the same 59 pound per night rate, so I didn't complain...also, I am a AAA member and that got me even higher rates and no discount on their website. You may need to shop around for the best price.

Room Tip: Windows open only about 2 inches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlene-owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to witre this review your comments have been noted, however I feel it is important to point out to other readers that parking at this hotel is "Free" to all hotel guests and leisure club members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for one night to save a long drive after a long day visiting Swindon for a show at the wyvern theatre.

Welcomed by a nice smile at the reception desk and a very friendly helpful staff member, quick check in as we booked online.

We were given 2 room key cards for room 114 and told exactly where it was, went to the room which was standard size but well laid out and had everything you could need for a few nights.

As some people have already stated the mini bar in the room is well stocked but well over priced, mini bottle of JD £7.20 for one example.

The TV has a good selection of channel's and you can arrange a movie from the box office through the TV which would be good for people with young children.
There are plenty of towels and the usual toiletries, the gym and pool are pretty good, And again fresh towels are provided for use when using them. In the pool area is a steam room, jacuzzi, and sauna.

We didn't have a drink in the bar but it looked OK, although I imagine again it would be overpriced as that was the normal thing for additional service in this hotel.

The breakfast was excellent and had loads of variety, from fruits to full English, again the staff were great without being intrusive.

We really enjoyed our short stay here and would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dosso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just got back from a weekend away the hotel very clean and tidy.
Rooms average size, don't use the mini bar very over priced.
We had a meal in the restaurant which was ok but the hassle we had to get a table was a little
pathetic. we booked a table for 8.30 came down at 8.25 table not ready, so we had a drink in the bar for 20 mins came back still no table. Waiter said "thought you were eating in Bar"???

In the end we got a seated at about 9pm.

Pool area very nice hot tub a little too much chlorine for us.
All in all we had a lovely stay at this hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

nice location near m4,, car parking good,,,,
use swiming pool,gym and sauna,hot tub but small pool watch out for kids night.....

bar very expensive,,( glass of larger £4.75 ) glass red wine £4.95 ) food same...3 course dinner £22.00 food good,
not a quite hotel rooms even when you request one ,,,,

Room Tip: had breakfast in room twice stone cold ,,did not pay for them,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Rooms are way below marriott standard.
Only one bedside table and very small double bed.
Okay for one night on business. The staff were very friendly and tried to be helpful but only responded when we threatened to leave the hotel go somewhere else.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I can see that this review relates to your stay in July.

I can onfirm that all our rooms have since been refurbished, as you can see from the recently posted photographs on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoy our stays in the Marriott Hotel in Swindon. The hotel is easy to get to and has ample free parking. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and everything you need is included. This is a hotel that even provides face clothes, not many do now. There is a fridge in the room which is stocked but we always take outer own supplies and put them inside. The Marriott bed is second to none. If I could buy one - I would. It is a superb nights sleep and the pillows are the best. The bathrooms are perfect and on this recent stay we were in a room that had been recently refurbished. Our only slight complaint was that our air conditioning wasn't working. If I had mentioned this to the reception I am sure we would have been provided with another room but as we were there for only one night we decided against it. The pool was as always clean and the staff there are very happy to assist. The gym facilities are also excellent. The bar staff were courteous as usual. We have never had a bad visit to this particular hotel. The breakfast in the morning is amazing and they were more than happy to prepare something for our daughter that wasn't in the buffet.

Room Tip: If you can get a larger room with two double beds this will enable you more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoofergp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.3 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Property: Swindon Marriott Hotel
Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing