We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swindon Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a coach tour deal and were more than impressed. We had 2 very comfortable double beds in a spacious nicely decorated and spotlessly clean room. The staff were very helpful and polite, the catering staff in particular. We heard no noise at all in our room, which was at the back of the hotel on the 4th floor. The food was basic, but fine with plenty of choice, and the dining room was immaculate. It was excellent value for money, and we would definitely recommend the hotel to friends. I read some of the negative reviews and found it hard to believe they were about the same hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get the 4th floor for quietness and a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    244
    101
    36
    12
See reviews for
159
199
26
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
notts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at Swindon Marrriott for one night and thought it was a good hotel with decent food and nice room with very comfortable beds but good points spoiled by people below my room outside reception making a lot of noise until early in the morning with no consideration for other guests and the Hotel should really be aware of this and politely ask guests to keep the noise down, after all it is a hotel not a pub with a beer garden!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from front of hotel and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budgieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments as this helps us to improve our service. We work had to deliver excellent customer service, and we appreciate the positive comments about the food, and the newly refurbished Bedrooms.

With regards to the noise, we are a very popular venue at the weekends for weddings, proms and private parties, and try our best to allocate rooms accordingly to suit guest needs. We have taken your comments on board and would be happy to locate you at the other end of the hotel away from the front, should you choose to visit us again.

We appreciate you as a customer, and hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the near future. If there is anything I can assist you with in future, I would be happy to help.

Kind Regards,

Lucy R.
Guest Relations
Swindon Marriott Hotel
01793 512121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed there Saturday night for a special family party.Booked two rooms,one double for us parents and one twin for our " kids " aged 15 and 23. They had agreed this once to " rough it " and share and save money as there are no single rooms. They had a double bed each and our bed was large and comfortable. All normal hotel facilities in room ,nothing to grumble about. Good choice at breakfast ,cereals ,fruit ,full English etc etc..Pool was nice apparently .My son is a gym God and said the gym wasnt up to his standard but Im sure its ok for less fussy.All the staff seemed to be Indian ,which seemed strange for Swindon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PETER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear PETER G

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Swindon Marriott Hotel was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Ahmed Maghrabi
Guest Relations Manager
Swindon Marriott
mhrs.swidt.guest.relations.officer@marriotthotels.com
01793 512 121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel was a bit of a disappointment. With everyone offering free breakfast these days, I thought it was rather cheeky to offer breakfast at 9 pounds or $15.00 each to be included in your room fare. It was a Saturday night and had a tough time sleeping as the music (from lounge??) was very, very loud. After traveling for 18 hours, it would have been nice to have a quite night of sleep. The refrigerator and safe were not working as well. I would recommend only for a quick one-night's stay, but nothing long-term. Staff was polite and professional.

Room Tip: Ask to be put anywhere away from the lounge or where they play their music at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJGoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear JJGoodell
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on trip advisor.We value all feedback from our guests. When booking a room we do give guests an option to book including breakfast if they wish, we also offer a room only booking if that’s what you require. We do however always check on the check-in if they do wish to add in case plans have changed. As for music noise I can fully appreciate how this made you tired the next day and at this stage I can only apologise.
At the hotel we try and minimise that, where possible allocating the bedrooms as high as possible from the function on the ground floor, but this is also dependant on our availability.

I hope I can welcome you back to our hotel in the future under different circumstances and if I can be of further assistance do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Ahmed Maghrabi
Guest Relations Manager
Swindon Marriott
mhrs.swidt.guest.relations.officer@marriotthotels.com
01793 512 121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for a week while working in the area. No free wifi except in the lobby, and pay to use the pc in the business centre, and printing at £2.55 a sheet (minimum 2 sheets!!)
Average bar food, not extortionate. Didn't eat in restaurant: choice of food about 15 mins walk away. A 25 minute walk downhill into town centre, and a 10 minute bus ride back, but little to see. room was standard, ne eded ac full on permanently to make it comfortable enough to sleep. Would not recommend unless you are visiting Intel next door

Room Tip: Try Jury's in town, I hear the rooms there are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndABoyForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Aboyforever
Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. I have passed on you food comments to the chef and bar staff. We are situated in a quite part of Swindon with easy access to the town Centre and shopping outlets. There are also lots of nice park areas to visit in the vicinity. I'm sorry you did not find anything suitable for your selfs to see during your stay. We are also easy access to the motorway and surrounding areas.

Regards
Amanda Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great place to stay for business. Location is ideal for my work and the hotel has become a home away from home for me. The facilities are excellent. I even know the menu without looking at it. The staff are friendly and can organise your life as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Public Relations Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Monde S
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Swindon Marriott Hotel was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Ahmed Maghrabi
Guest Relations Manager
Swindon Marriott
mhrs.swidt.guest.relations.officer@marriotthotels.com
01793 512 121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level Contributor
557 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Positives:
- As expected from Marriott, room and lobby designs are sleek. Rooms are quite spacious, check in smooth and gym and pool included.
- Clean room and gym area.
- Location is quite convenient to those visiting Bath, Stonehenge/Cotswolds. After leaving London, we toured Blenheim Palace and some villages in Cotswolds. So this is an ideal place before my new day trip to other villages south to the highway M4 and Bath.

Things could improve/Tips for travelers:
- Charging money for towels at gym and pool area is plain ugly. So BYOT (T=towel. Yes, may be towel from your room) and worst thing is I don't even see anybody at the counter to pay. Brits are very active and I saw gym packed with people and pool packed with swimmers doing laps at 6-7AM. Raving TA reviews how they enjoyed the pool. Why can't you leave them alone. If you really need that 1 GBP to survive, just charge to original hotel price. Again this is the first in any Marriott I've been.
- Asking everyone at check in whether they want upgrade so that they can have free Wifi in room is annoying. Ibis budget can provide free Wifi, century old Skiddow hotel at Lake district can do but Modern looking Marriott can not, what a shame.
- Then, what happed is, reception area is crowded with Wifi users and who knows, some hackers might be sitting there to prey. After trying Wifi there, my smartphone changed to Jakarta time while using and has been slow since then. SO, be careful at any free Wifi area.
- Hotel price could be more competitive. Do not pay the full "rack" price. Check for all kind of deals from various websites. I did not even try bidding this time and just booked from priceline with reduced price. If price is equal or more than B&B price, most tourists will just choose to stay at B&B for authentic travel experience.

Room Tip: Do not pay the full "rack" price. Check for all kind of deals from various websites and sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Swindon Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear bigboy61455

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on trip advisor.
We valve all feedback from our guest. Just to ensure other readers are aware that towels to hotel guest are complimentary all they need to do is show their room key when they sign into the club. The £1 charge is for leisure club members only. Wi-Fi is complimentary in the public areas which is a secure log in and can only be accessed in the hotel.

Regards
Amanda Murray Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.3 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#21 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Property: Swindon Marriott Hotel
Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing