We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and tidy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Room was good size-bed was really comfortable-sky football on t.v in room-clean and tidy -really helpfull staff-food was 1st class if a little bit on the steep side-breakfast had an excellent selection of food all presented well in spotless clean surroundings-cant really fault it and would stay again when in area

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wimborneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2009

It's a Marriott, so it's reliable but it didn't seem quite as good as my previous visit eight years ago, with a characterless 'could be anywhere in the world' atmosphere emphasised by a shortage of local staff. But perhaps I'm just getting old! The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was fine, although some stronger coffee and slightly more choices on the buffet would have helped (this was a Saturday). The room was fine and reasonably relaxing, but in summary it wasn't as memorable a stay as I'd expected.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

This is a fairly standard Marriott but am really disappointed with the condition of the leisure club changing rooms. There was a foul smell (something akin to old trainers) and the recently re-furbished showers can only be described as "recycled"! It is time the Marriott paid someone to cover the cleaner's holiday and spent some proper money on redecorating the changing rooms so that they feel clean.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKLizzie-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed here Good Friday and Saturday over easter. Ate in restaurant both nights v good , breakfast v good. Room spacious and clean. Staff v polite. Pool small but fine ! Activiries for kids as it was easter which was a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

hotel was empty front staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. we were upgraded to a superior room which was very nice and we had a lovely big bed and dressing gowns.
the hotel was extremely warm for time of year and the room was no exception. you cant open any windows for H & S reasons apparently and therefore we had to have air con all night which is very noisy. breakfast was excellent but again we had to move out of resteraunt due to it being very hot and stuffy. staff said heating was on all the time and were very sorry and said they would of provided us with a fan if required. pool was also out of action which was a shame

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

I have stayed in the Marriott for about 3 months and found it to be a great location for the old town. It takes about 10 minutes to walk there. The food is OK but with so many other restaurants around I didn't eat there that much (typically expensive for what you get). The rooms were a good size and had comfortable beds. So much so you could even by them!!

The staff were very helpful and they responded quickly to any request. The biggest problem with the hotel was the wireless Internet - lot's of my colleagues and I found it unreliable at times. The hotel provided you with a code but I found that I often had to try many codes before I could get access.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekcihey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Nice hotel as you would expect from Marriott really. Car park area could be tidied up a bit but no complaints at all about the hotel. Food good. Recommend.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aeneas_and_Dido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,038 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 25 in Swindon
2,090 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £58 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing