We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel; interesting restaurant service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel; interesting restaurant service”
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I chose this hotel as it was located very close to my client's offices. The check-in was efficient and the bedroom clean and well equipped.

My only criticism was dinner. The food was adequate - very similar to the preprepared food you get in pub chains. And the service was below expectations for two reasons. It took 20 minutes to serve my starter, which was soup. I presume they weren't cooking it from scratch so I have no idea why it took so long. Second, the restaurant was almost completely empty. I was dining alone. For some reason, the waitress decided that seating a family of five who had a noisy toddler next to me was a good idea. The result was I left as soon as I could!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    262
    107
    39
    13
See reviews for
169
220
27
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Pleasantly surprised at this hotel as it mainly caters to the business market with Intel and nationwide on its doorstep. On this particular weekend the hotel was very busy, mainly due to a RAF reunion, and of course England was at the time still in the world cup. Staff were very efficient, and the extras like feather pillows booked on line were in our room on arrival.
On booking in and identifying myself the young man on reception mentioned that it was he who sent the emails and had everything gone smoothly I Liked this little touch of interest. We or my daughter had a bar meal which was fine, but the restaurant was hijacked by the raf chaps and their ladies. However breakfast was very good and catered for UK and international visitors.
As a guest you can use the health club, gave that a miss, pool was fine but on the small side, and a tennis court which daughter and I did have a knock around on.
Overall I liked this hotel, rooms were clean, and large enough for two nights with a child in bed of her own, bar was very busy, but quietened down once the fly boys went to dinner.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaf1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I am a member of the leisure club and would like to swim each day but there is almost always a problem in the leisure club and usually a notice apologising for something that is not working.

I am sure that the hotel is very good but the pool water and air temperature is usually bitterly cold so be aware of this if you are planning a leisure break with children. The hotel is very close to my home so I have hung on for well over a year hoping they can sort out all the various problems but I am now looking at other leisure clubs.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo1972palmer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with our two children (6 and 10 yrs). There was ample room for all of us and staff were excellent and very accomodating to our requests. The pool was great for my children, and didn't even need to bring extra towels. We would say that the restaurant was quite expensive in the evening but there are a couple of excellent places locally to eat if you have children which were very reasonably priced. Location of hotel is great too and very easy to find. Breakfasts were excellent too, I would recommend going to the B&B option and ring hotel rather than book online as I found they gave me a better deal.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo1972palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswold
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Great service in the loung bar and restaurant.
Try the oxtail and scallop starter - its delicious.
Good shopping at the Great Western Outlet Village.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldThewalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beccles
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Booked this hotel via there own website the day before and was impressed to get it for £65 inc breakfast...... arrived at 3pm, parked car in car park ( huge and seemed safe), and checked in immediately, the chap on reception was swift, friendly and very helpful ( he drew me a map to get to the nightclub where i was playing that night - I'm in a band), first impressions was what a nice reception area!!!, hope rooms are like this?....... i was right, booked double room of which was lovely.. huge bed, big room, everything was spotless......used leisure club twice, this was nice too!, ate in the restaurant before gig and it was nice and good value however portion size was a bit disappointing....... service was the best ever in there but not intrusive......... got back from gig at 2am and slept well and woke refreshed......... breakfast was again fantastic with lots of choice ( buffet style), check out was quick and several members of staff wished me a safe journey ( nice touch that)........CONCLUSION - i normally stay at Hilton's and this was my first time in a Marriott....... it wont be my last!...worth every penny!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

My partner, 8 yr old daughter and I sayed here over half term for a bit of family time away. This hotel was perfect for us. We were allocated a 2 dble bedded room, which was much appreciated by my daughter, who normally gets the sofa bed in hotels!
The hotel was extremely clean and well maintained. We enjoed swimming in the pool. Not the hugest of pools by any stretch of the imagination, but we knew this before, and it was great for a dip. There was also a good gym.
We got an excellent rate for b&b and dinner on the 1st night, where we were allowed to choose nearly anything from the restaurant menu. We were very impressed not only with the value for money that this provided, but also because we found the quality to be excellent. We had to pay for my daughter's meal. burt her portions were virtually the size of an adult portiion, and also of excellent quality. There was also an excellent choice at breakfast and this was again of a really high standard (nice to have full sized pastries as opposed to the mini ones that are so often prominent at breakfasts).
The thing that stood out for us about this hotel was the exceptional service we received. Every single member of staff was cheerful, helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They made us feel realy special, which I think makes all the difference to a hotel anf the enjoyment factor.
My only negative comments would be that the bathrooms could possibly be due for an upgrade, and the hotel is not in the centre of Swindon. (parking was free though, which was good).
We would reccomment theis hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Swindon, we had a lovely time!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
999 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,946 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Property: Swindon Marriott Hotel
Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing