We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This is a hotel for someone wanting a convenient stop over for work, wouldn't recommend it for a leisure trip. Staff are helpful but building is industrial looking and outdated. Aircon in room is too noisy to sleep through and if you manage to open the heavy windows instead, the aircon units outside the building will keep you awake too. Pay movies took payment but wouldn't play volume, which the hotel couldn't fix. Cooked breakfast served in room was disappointing quality for the £15 price. External area outside reception needed a good clean despite the red carpet gaffer taped down for someone's wedding reception and reception area had a worrying smell of bad drains and air freshener on the final morning. Must be better value in Swindon for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hvs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Swindon Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

We take breaks at various hotels throughout the year and we have got to say that this hotel is one of the top hotels for many reasons. The staff at this hotel can not be faulted, they are very professional and pay a lot of attention to detail. We booked for bed and breakfast and the choice and quality of the food was second to none, we ate at the hotel on the 2 evenings we were there and throughly enjoyed the meals and the waiting staff were excellent. We would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family and will not hesitate to return for another week end in the near future ourselves.
Mr&Mrs B, Southampton.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flitzylooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I use Trip Advisor before travelling anywhere so felt I had to review this hotel as our stay was so enjoyable. All the staff were very helpful and the room was lovely, very clean and very comfortable. It was very well located for transport links to the centre of the city and walkable to 'the old town' shops and bars. Again we were told which bus to catch and where. We decided at short notice to have dinner at the hotel and although they were busy we were seated promptly and enjoyed an excellent meal. Breakfast was also very good value at just a small additional charge on booking, plenty to choose from and delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 001Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

It is a very good hotel: friendly staff, lovely rooms, cleanliness is up to a high standard. Don't be afraid to book it, you will have a lovely time there. Cosy beds. Apparently, they put a duvet on top of the mattress that's why it feels so comfortable. If you travel with kids, go and visit Lydiard House (ca. £ 7 -9 one way on a taxi). We did - , hired bikes and explored the surroundings (wonderful Wiltshire countryside). All and all: We had brilliant time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I chose this hotel as it was located very close to my client's offices. The check-in was efficient and the bedroom clean and well equipped.

My only criticism was dinner. The food was adequate - very similar to the preprepared food you get in pub chains. And the service was below expectations for two reasons. It took 20 minutes to serve my starter, which was soup. I presume they weren't cooking it from scratch so I have no idea why it took so long. Second, the restaurant was almost completely empty. I was dining alone. For some reason, the waitress decided that seating a family of five who had a noisy toddler next to me was a good idea. The result was I left as soon as I could!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Pleasantly surprised at this hotel as it mainly caters to the business market with Intel and nationwide on its doorstep. On this particular weekend the hotel was very busy, mainly due to a RAF reunion, and of course England was at the time still in the world cup. Staff were very efficient, and the extras like feather pillows booked on line were in our room on arrival.
On booking in and identifying myself the young man on reception mentioned that it was he who sent the emails and had everything gone smoothly I Liked this little touch of interest. We or my daughter had a bar meal which was fine, but the restaurant was hijacked by the raf chaps and their ladies. However breakfast was very good and catered for UK and international visitors.
As a guest you can use the health club, gave that a miss, pool was fine but on the small side, and a tennis court which daughter and I did have a knock around on.
Overall I liked this hotel, rooms were clean, and large enough for two nights with a child in bed of her own, bar was very busy, but quietened down once the fly boys went to dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaf1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I am a member of the leisure club and would like to swim each day but there is almost always a problem in the leisure club and usually a notice apologising for something that is not working.

I am sure that the hotel is very good but the pool water and air temperature is usually bitterly cold so be aware of this if you are planning a leisure break with children. The hotel is very close to my home so I have hung on for well over a year hoping they can sort out all the various problems but I am now looking at other leisure clubs.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,022 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
2,043 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swindon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swindon Marriott Hotel

Address: Pipers Way, Swindon SN3 1SH, England (Formerly Marriott Swindon Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £56 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swindon Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly sitting on the outskirts of historically Old Town, the Swindon Marriott Hotel boast a reputation for outgoing service and unmatched amenities. Each guest room of our traditional hotel continues to exemplify luxury for both business and leisure guests alike. Plan a retreat to our tranquil sanctuary and indulge yourself in one of the largest leisure clubs in Swindon, our relaxing on-site spa or enjoy a walk in our beautiful private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swindon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swindon
Swindon Marriott Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing