We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Goddard Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goddard Arms
Ranked #28 of 45 Swindon B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Would like to thank the staff of the Goddard arms for a lovely one-night stay. Bed was comfortable and room was quiet despite looking on to the street. Was thrilled to be upgraded to a double room at no extra cost and enjoyed the extra space.

I am particularly indebted to them for providing me with breakfast even though I'd managed to sleep through it.

My only complaint is that the bathroom could have been in slightly better condition, but appreciate that this is a pub with rooms rather than a hotel per say, and for less than £50 per night including breakfast I can't complain too loudly!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    52
    43
    33
    18
See reviews for
22
62
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is a nice standard pub, good ale and food looked popular. Great service too. The rooms are small but have everything you need, clean and tidy too. WiFi is only available in the bar area, and the car park is a bit small if the hotel is full. A great location for the old town, and not too far from the main town centre and shops. From a business perspective if you are in the area for a night or two I'd recommend it, but if you are doing a long stay then there might be better options in the area. This is a nice pub/hotel - friendly and convenient. I'd stay again without a thought. Well done Goddard Staff...
The road outside the room was a bit noisey, and the rooms were very warm. No aircon.

Room Tip: Maybe try a room atthe back, it might be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gexxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon Wiltshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

This was a most disappointing Christmas Day visit. It began in promising style, with a courteous and friendly welcome, followed throughout, it must be said, by excellent table service. The Wine Menu was quite acceptable, as were the Starter dishes served to my party. However, the traditional main course was of very poor quality, with only one relatively small slice of turkey - not professionally carved if its appearance was anything to go by - and an extremely unappetising bowl of vegetables although we were served additional sprouts - additional, that it, to be 2 initially allocated to each plate. The Christmas Pudding portions were miniscule and the cheese platter comprised a number of "chunks" served on a basic white plate. A complaint at the time was quite inappropriate, bearing in mind the Day and the attentive service we received from a member of staff attempting to deal with a busy Restaurant, but the proprietors have been advised of the general disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnlister500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Went in here on xmas morning for a drink and was served promptly and politely, it was about 2.20, so some twenty minutes later returned to the bar for another and was told the bar had closed at 2.30, so I asked why did they have a sign in the window stating that the bar was open until 3pm, I argued this point and was eventually served after a conflab with the mangement and staff, this left a sour taste in my mouth as before that I was quite enjoying my visit there with a good warm and friendly athmosphere, so lesson to the outlet if you make statement regarding your tradin hours,stick to what you said or at least inform the clinetle of you intention to close early

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

My starter was forgotten and ended up as a dash to the local supermarket to buy a tin of soup ,arrived 10 minutes after everyone had eaten theirs. Beef bourguignon was cubed stewing beef with a dash of rich gravy,Anyone who give this place a high recommendation for food must live on Macdonalds..Only giving stars for quality of service by the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed at the Goddard arms a few times now while on business. It's very convenient for old town and walking distance to Nationwide and Intel offices. I pay about £60 for a double room and breakfast is about another £5. The rooms are a bit grubby with the peeling wallpaper but they don't smell. The beds are on the firm side.

The food is on the cheap and chearful side but plently of selection. Although the rooms are above the bar I've not been disturbed by any noise.

Overall - not bad for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekcihey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

My second stay at the goddard arms and will stay there again whenever I'm in swindon . I found the room very clean and all the staff helpful. I had lunch from the bar menu which was very nice. My only problem was the car park at the rear of the hotel is small and seems to be full by mid afternoon at weekends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pf2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
6.8 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
10.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
6.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
8.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goddard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goddard Arms

Property: Goddard Arms
Address: 1 High Street | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goddard Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Swindon's Old Town, The Goddard Arms in an old converted Coaching inn, with some great period features, history and character. There is a bar and restaurant serving food and drinks all day, as well as limited free parking. The hotel was refurbished in November 2016 giving all rooms a flat-screen TV, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all rooms and the bar area. Children are welcome in the bar/restaurant areas until 7pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Goddard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goddard Arms Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing