We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience”
Review of Goddard Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goddard Arms
Ranked #21 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Only stopped for an hour to have drinks before visiting the Thai Orchid to eat, but was impressed.

Very clean and tidy after a recent refurbishment and it shows. Excellent service and whilst we didn't eat on this occasion, the food being served looked very nice and was very reasonably priced.

A good location to start on a pub crawl around Old Town

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCheckinBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    55
    43
    34
    18
See reviews for
23
64
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nicely presented meal, good value and friendly staff, food was very nice, clean and tidy place including the toilets, little beer garden at the rear for those sunny days. Good location and car parking, child friendly atmosphere. Everything you want for Sunday lunch!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mousey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Really good meal and drinks, enjoyed sitting in the beer garden, it was nice to see it not being overrun with kids and prams. Food came out quickly and it was hot and well presented. Will return again for an evening meal. Good work! There wasn't anything wrong with the toilets when we came as per the review below, in fact as pub toilets go they were very good, normally a sign of a well looked after pub!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have been to the Goddard Arms twice before and enjoyed the experience however this time we went the hotel started with a party around 8 pm which was loud enough for us to hear the thump thumping of the music through out the night. I went down to complain at 10,30 pm and was told that the party music would continue until 12.30 am at no time when i rang to book the room (a week earlier) or when we arrived were we informed that a loud party would be held during our visit. When in the morning we checked out we complained and was told ow sorry if this is how they treat their guests we will not be returning to their place again

Room Tip: get ear plugs and enquire before hand about partys
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abarnett987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I went there to meet with my friends who were staying for a few days with their young family. We had dinner with them the night they arrived, only to be told the children would not be able to stay after 7pm. Since the order for food had been taken and they took two children s menu orders we thought this was unacceptable, especially as they were staying in the hotel and well behaved.

The food when it arrived was the worse food I think I have ever tasted in my life, the Fish platter was just full of oil and disgusting the Pies were just bricks with no meat and pastry.
Worse was still to come, the male toilets had every urinal full to the brim and the sinks were running away with the lights out in the cubical... It was one of the worse experiences We have ever had. not just from a service point of view but from a health and safety point of view. I will never recommend this place to anyone for a room or for food. It has previously been local and used by friends and colleagues.. I can honestly say never never again....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Ok so it was my birthday this week, decided on an evening meal at the Goddard's, can't say I've really paid it much attention before despite living in Old Town for many years. My better half had a risotto and I had a a beef pie. Can't fault it, staff were very attentive, Ale's were obviously well looked after and we'd eat there again. Pub is clean, toilets are acceptable and we enjoyed my birthday meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Had lunch with a friend here today. Very relaxed, friendly staff and very good food. Haven't been in for a long time after a bad experience a couple of years ago. It's a different place now if a little expensive. But very tasty! They serve Lavazza coffee which is one of my favourites too. There should be an area that caters for adults without kids though. Too many screaming toddlers for my liking. I guess that's most pubs these days though!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doberman871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
6.8 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
138 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
6.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,436 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#3 of 24 in Swindon
732 reviews
9.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goddard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goddard Arms

Property: Goddard Arms
Address: 1 High Street | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goddard Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Swindon's Old Town, The Goddard Arms in an old converted Coaching inn, with some great period features, history and character. There is a bar and restaurant serving food and drinks all day, as well as limited free parking. The hotel was refurbished in November 2016 giving all rooms a flat-screen TV, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all rooms and the bar area. Children are welcome in the bar/restaurant areas until 7pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Goddard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goddard Arms Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing