We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overcharged and Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goddard Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Goddard Arms
Ranked #27 of 45 Swindon B&B and Inns
hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overcharged and Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Didn't stay, only visited to eat, but:

Outside looks beautiful, nice interior (clean and well designed).

Ordered roast beef and a burger. Wasn't offered cheese or any other topping, I had to ask. Had run out of Roast Beef, so chose a BBQ chicken dish instead. Asked for a receipt from the barman, only to find that if been charged for an extra meal! I know mistakes happen, but he should have read back my order to me before taking money.

Burger arrived with a trail of orange coloured oil over the layer of soggy paper it was sat on (covering a chopping board).
The waitress put the chopping board down on top of my cutlery, noticed, then walked off without moving them. The BBQ chicken portion size was a little on the small size, and very tight with the peas!

The food was tasty, but with the overcharging and other misdemeanours, I felt a little as though my hard earned cash was wasted. As I said before, a beautiful building, though could be a lot better if it was less 'chain pub'.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank girloates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    51
    43
    32
    18
See reviews for
22
62
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in Swindon for one night at the Marriott. We didn't fancy eating there so walked into the old town (only about a 10 min walk). In town we got talking to a local man who recommended The Goddard Arms as newly refurbished and somewhere nice to eat. We thought we would give it a try and am very glad we did.

We ate dinner there that night and we both had steak and chips, a sirloin and a rump. Both were well cooked and the accompaniments were delicious. There was an an offer on desserts and it was rude not to partake, these were also delicious The staff were friendly and helpful and it was a really pleasant place to spend an evening.

So much so that we returned for our breakfast the next morning. This was a bargain at £4.95 each for a really good quality and tasty full english. Only fault being that my hard eggs were still runny!

This place would have got an excellent if it wasn't for the toilets. They were unclean, blocked or the door didn't have a lock, this puts me off a little but if they could sort the toilets out this would be a truly excellent little pub.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moose_Hunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited Swindon recently and spent some time at the Goddard Arms. The food was very good and the prices reasonable however the thing that most impressed me was the friendly staff and the great service.
It has been recently renovated and the bar & dining areas are well decorated, clean and well laid out.
Recommend the 'Goddards' for a good night out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We Went for Breakfast Yesterday Morning,

We arrive at approx. 9.15am it was very quite in the pub we order Breakfast and coffee struggled to order children's breakfast as they don't have an option for this the bar man who had about as much personally as a chair leg then managed to work out if we had 1 adults breakfast with 2 plates that would be fine for the kids although this concept was a little difficult for him and he had to confirm with the chef that this would be ok.

our breakfast arrived after about 20 mins that's ok to be expected for a freshly cooked breakfast but the coffee didn't arrive for a further 15 mins ( not sure how it is possible to cook a breakfast before making a coffee)

This is the 2nd bad experience at the Godard's since it has re open and I would say the biggest issue is the staff people who have no people skills and common sense should not be dealing with customer don't think we will bother again the re fit was a waste of money if you don't invest in your staff can only guess low wages poor staff!

Room Tip: another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Only stopped for an hour to have drinks before visiting the Thai Orchid to eat, but was impressed.

Very clean and tidy after a recent refurbishment and it shows. Excellent service and whilst we didn't eat on this occasion, the food being served looked very nice and was very reasonably priced.

A good location to start on a pub crawl around Old Town

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCheckinBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nicely presented meal, good value and friendly staff, food was very nice, clean and tidy place including the toilets, little beer garden at the rear for those sunny days. Good location and car parking, child friendly atmosphere. Everything you want for Sunday lunch!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mousey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Really good meal and drinks, enjoyed sitting in the beer garden, it was nice to see it not being overrun with kids and prams. Food came out quickly and it was hot and well presented. Will return again for an evening meal. Good work! There wasn't anything wrong with the toilets when we came as per the review below, in fact as pub toilets go they were very good, normally a sign of a well looked after pub!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
6.8 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
8.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
7.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goddard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goddard Arms

Property: Goddard Arms
Address: 1 High Street | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goddard Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Swindon's Old Town, The Goddard Arms in an old converted Coaching inn, with some great period features, history and character. There is a bar and restaurant serving food and drinks all day, as well as limited free parking. The hotel was refurbished in November 2016 giving all rooms a flat-screen TV, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all rooms and the bar area. Children are welcome in the bar/restaurant areas until 7pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Goddard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goddard Arms Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing