We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value short business stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campanile Swindon
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value short business stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Hidden away in a landscape business park just off M4 junction 16 this hotel is an excellent value little gem. With no frills rooms it offers high quality dining at very reasonable prices. I have given up on Holiday Inn Express ( no bacon at breakfast). Jury's Inn, Radison and Hilton have their plus points on accommodation but are a relatively expensive bed and pair of sheets if you are just there for work. Campanile also provide FREE wifi in all their rooms

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobccooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    172
    97
    49
    27
See reviews for
64
150
42
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband, teenage son and daughter stayed for just one Saturday night at this hotel. Campanile is a French chain of basic, good value hotels similar to Travelodge. We paid £45.00 per room which included continental breakfast and with an option to upgrade to full cooked English Breakfast for an extra £2.50. The rooms are clean, modern and simply decorated but with tea/coffee making facilities in room, a good wall-mounted television and hairdryer. There is no wardrobe, but a hanging rail with 3 or 4 hangers (all lime green, as that is the company brand colour!) and a built-in storage box/ottoman. The beds are firm but quite comfortable and certainly not worn out as in some budget hotels! Towels in the bathroom were two large 'bath sheet' size, but no hand towel which didn't really matter. Freebies in the bathroom were two little shower gel/shampoos; quite handy. Although the hotel is in the middle of a light industrial/commercial park, it was quiet and peaceful at night and very easy to find, also handy if you want to visit Swindon's shopping outlet. Breakfast was really excellent value both for continental or cooked options (cooked includes everything on offer in the continental section as well). There were croissants, choice of breads, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit salad and compote, grapefruit, juices. It was as at least as good as breakfasts we have had in more expensive hotels and the staff were all polite and pleasant: we were greeted with a smile and a "Good Morning!" at breakfast! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were attending a family wedding evening reception at the hotel and although a local myself, i had never heard of the hotel before. I was pleasantly suprised!

The rooms were great and comfortable if a little bright (lime green furniture) The food was great and breakfast was an endless supply. Staff were very friendly and even encouraged us when we started scottish dancing at midnight!

Great stay and wouldn;t definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller24Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouuth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

What a find! Since my contractor reduced my expenses I had to find a 'cheap' hotel. After reading the reviews I booked into the Campanile with lowish expectations. I can tell you that my expectations were more than exceeded after staying here. The rooms were clean comfortable functional and quiet. The bed was just right in terms of hardness and the shower in the bathroom was very powerful - even the toiletries were renewed every day! All the staff from reception to Dining room were professional, friendly and courteous and 'went the extra mile'. The restaurant served basic but very well cooked food in the evening. For an extra £2.50 I ordered the English breakfast which was piping hot, well cooked and delicious unlike many higher grade hotels where it is left out on display to go cold and soggy. All in all my impression of this hotel was excellent and as I shall be working in Swindon in the near future, I will not hesitate to rebook. This review has been written by someone who stays frequently in many hotels across the country - well done Campanile!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

My boyfriend and i were visiting his friends for the weekend and i come accross this hotel online. i wasnt expecting much as we only paid £45 per night including continental breakfast but i was surprised at how nice the hotel actually was. the public areas seemed to be very clean and modern aswell as our room. The room was small but had everthing we needed, good flatscreen tv, comfy bed. Bathroom was very clean. We had dinner on the night we checked in and it was very quiet as no-one else was eating but our food was good and service was also good. Breakfast on the first morning i was quite disappointed with only because of the service.
i enjoyed the continental breakfast as there was alot of choice and items i really like but the waitress who greeted us made us feel like we were an inconvenience. Didnt get one smile out of her. We came down to breakfast over 30 mins BEFORE breakfast ended but she made us feel like we were causing a problem. ALL the tables had been used and we managed to find one clean one with no cutlery at all. we had to then hunt for items from other tables. Although we didnt have a cooked breakfst included in our rate she didnt even ask if we wanted to order anything. The next morning a gentleman served us at breakfast and he asked is we wanted to order cooked breakfast which my boyfriend did but he didnt ask how he wanted his egg and just gave him fried. We had a good stay apart from the breakfast service on the first morning, but I would go back to this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forensic2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Stayed here on 22 December for one night. We were looking for a cheap and cheerful hotel and this is it. Pleasantly surprised at the good standard of both rooms and food.

Room Tip: We did request a quiet room when booking and room 21 was just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterhappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We only ate here so can't comment on the rooms. Welcome and service was friendly. Hotel was very quiet on a Saturday evening. We ate the starter and dessert buffets together with the dish of the day. As with a few places - the starters were excellent, the main course good and the desserts (whilst a good selection) were a bit too sweet.

Cost is ~ £15 per person, We'd definitely go there again when we are in the area

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
1.8 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Swindon

Property: Campanile Swindon
Address: 200 Delta Business Park | Great Western Way, Swindon SN5 7XD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Swindon 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbishment completed Jan 2009, including all bedrooms, restaurant and bar. It is now modern and comfortable with Free Wi-Fi internet, ideal for business or leisure. Bedrooms: Comfy Beds, Flat screen TV, Courtesy tray and all en suite. English and Continental Breakfast. Restaurant open Lunch and Dinner featuring savory and sweet buffets, food all day. Bar with Sky TV. Hotel was taken over by Campanile from Ibis Jan 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Louvre hotels so you can book your Campanile Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Swindon Hotel Swindon
Hilton Garden Inn Swindon
Campanile Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing