We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Campanile - wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Campanile Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Swindon
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay at Campanile - wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Had a really lovely 2 night stay here, easy to find once off the motorway, the staff were just lovely and even a very lovely receptionist brought our pizza order upto the room for us! We would of come down and got it. Lovely clean room, even had a towel change despite the stay being just 2 nights. Room was a very nice size, everything was easy to find and nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0uisel0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    177
    98
    49
    27
See reviews for
67
155
44
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Good value if you can stand the decor. Comfortable & affordable with a warm welcome & an in house resteraunt which although on an industrial site was used by the locals which is always a good sign. Well signposted with very good directions when you book

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011npr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbergsdal
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stay a lot in Campanile hotels in France. Good value for money and always nice restaurants. This was our first stay with Campanile in Great Britain.
There are the "old" Campanile hotels and the "new" ones. Swindon is one of the new ones. You can tell from room size and decoration. Small rooms: old. Larger rooms and striking colours: new.
So far so good. Free parking and free WiFi. Quite good rooms and the typical restaurant with a starters and dessert buffet. All the way we are used to - but perhaps with some British influence. Some of the dishes served were more brute-force than we are used to. But OK for GB. And probably fine for most Brits. We prolonged our stay one night. So, it must have some merits :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skogsgurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

My wife and I were meant to stay here, We booked ahead by card and were to pay by cash, all the terms and conditions say is that the card has to be valid - hence the Campanile would not take cash without a paying by card, then refunding your card the next day when you pay by cash, work it out!

In the end we booked and stayed elsewhere which if you seen the condition of the reception area was probably a godsend.

Cups, Glasses and plates had been left on the tables and not cleared away.
The reception area had not been cleaned that morning and if it had the missed the areas where the public go!

Understaffed, and the one member of staff was not only rude but also on her touch-screen phone most of the time.

The place had a feel of not being well kept and in need of a lot of maintenance.

Be best to book somewhere else where you might feel welcome, the place will be cleaner and you might not catch any illnesses through using their cups and saucers etc. that had left being lying around for hours on end!

Room Tip: Just do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigelandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We were meant to stay here. Booked online when we arrived we were told we had to pay by card, we said we wanted to pay cash and were told we could pay cash on leaving if we paid an £80 deposit by card which we could not do. So we cancelled room and went somewhere else. Now they are demanding cancellation fee of £80. I am also disabled.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplover05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I like this Campanile. The food is good, the bar is good, the staff are switched on. The rooms are a little on the bright side, but I don't care because 95% of the time I am in there the lights are switched off. Beds are comfy and the showers are good. Location is a little out of the way - you need to come by car - but the parking is good, and once you are there - eat, drink and sleep. You get a better experience than some more upmarket brands but for half the money. And that, ultimately, is why you would choose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
1.7 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Swindon

Property: Campanile Swindon
Address: 200 Delta Business Park | Great Western Way, Swindon SN5 7XD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Swindon
#4 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Swindon 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbishment completed Jan 2009, including all bedrooms, restaurant and bar. It is now modern and comfortable with Free Wi-Fi internet, ideal for business or leisure. Bedrooms: Comfy Beds, Flat screen TV, Courtesy tray and all en suite. English and Continental Breakfast. Restaurant open Lunch and Dinner featuring savory and sweet buffets, food all day. Bar with Sky TV. Hotel was taken over by Campanile from Ibis Jan 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Louvre hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Swindon Hotel Swindon
Hilton Garden Inn Swindon
Campanile Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing