We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stopover” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campanile Swindon
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One night stopover”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We chose this hotel for a convenient place to stop on the way to Plymouth after a full days' work.
The hotel is clean.
The lift was out of order, but not a problem for us even though we were on the third floor.
The big dissapointment was that the restaurant was `buffet only' in the evening. When we were told this it was clear that the buffet wouldn't be up to much, so we had to drive to find somewhere for dinner.
We chose this hotel for convenience, which included being able to use the restaurant. If we'd known the restaurant wasn't fully open, then we would have paid extra to stay in a hotel with proper facilities or a pub attached.

Room Tip: The rooms are very small but functional, good for a one night stay but no longer than that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    172
    97
    49
    27
See reviews for
64
150
42
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

At £35 for the room and continental breakfast included, it's a snip! Excellent value for money, friendly and helpful staff. Clean room; bed could have been better (very firm and lumpy as were the pillows). TV - aspect ratio wrong which made everything look short and wide, sound poor. Fabulous all-you-can-eat continental breakfast which could have been upgraded to 'full English'. We stuck with the continental which included fruit juice, cereals, milk/natural yogurt, bread, croissant, cheese, meat, fresh fruit, tea/coffee. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank and13Tenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beziers, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

Excellent small hotel option on outskirts of Swindon, cheap (£45), secluded, car parking etc. Also free wifi. Friendly staff and comfortable small bar showing sky news and sport. Much better than other local alternatives in this price bracket.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank frostyfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed here in September as an overnight stay with work due to its location. Its on the edge of Swindon and only suitable if your working in that area of town and are not planning on spending a huge amount of time in the hotel.

For £55 you do get what you pay for, however I would say the following

1) staff were helpful and friendly
2) room was clean and basic
3) bathroom was clean and very basic
4) the hotel had a very dated feel
5) lots of things are painted lime green (you have no wardrobe for example, just a bright pole to hang your things on)
6) continental breakfast was fine (coffee, tea, juice, cereal, toast, pastries)
7) Free WIFI is a huge +++ especially in this price bracket of hotel! take note all hotels that are still trying to charge £10 a day when the room is £100+!!!!!

Like any of these places one of the biggest influences on your stay are the staff and they do a decent job of looking after you. They are polite, relaxed and quite good fun.

If you need a cheap room for the night and you are not planning on spending much time in the hotel then this will be an ideal place for a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flumph77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

I only stay here now when on business in the swindon area.
Cheaper than the prem inn and the food is excellent quality. Rooms are fairly basic but everything you need is there.
Free wi fi throughout the hotel and sky sports in the bar.
Give them a try.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedy3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

The room was small with a lime green colour scheme !!. However as a short stay option this hotel is a good option. The room was clean if a little "tired" with tea & coffee facilities and quiet, The breakfast was good with a choice of cold meats and cheeses if you didn;t want the cooked option which was available - the breakfast area was well serviced and again clean and tidy. Finally the reception staff were efficient - check out is in the morning with pre-payment not an option. Overall I would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Great staff; very friendly and helpful. Nice that there's a bar there, as well, where you can relax, have a drink & check emails (FREE wi-fi is a huge bonus!). There's a restaurant, as well, but I didn't visit there, so can't say anything about the food. The rooms were modern and clean, though VERY small. The location was fine for us, even though it was located in a kind of industrial park, there were still other restaurants, banks, gas stations, etc. close by. In general, it was a nice hotel with all of your basic necessities and a good price - would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
1.8 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Swindon

Property: Campanile Swindon
Address: 200 Delta Business Park | Great Western Way, Swindon SN5 7XD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Swindon 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbishment completed Jan 2009, including all bedrooms, restaurant and bar. It is now modern and comfortable with Free Wi-Fi internet, ideal for business or leisure. Bedrooms: Comfy Beds, Flat screen TV, Courtesy tray and all en suite. English and Continental Breakfast. Restaurant open Lunch and Dinner featuring savory and sweet buffets, food all day. Bar with Sky TV. Hotel was taken over by Campanile from Ibis Jan 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campanile Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Swindon Hotel Swindon
Hilton Garden Inn Swindon
Campanile Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing