We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cheap hotel would stay here again”
Review of Campanile Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Swindon
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good cheap hotel would stay here again”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was a bargain for a two night stay after track events at Castle Combe.. The rooms are very basic but clean..

Here are my negatives.. Only 4 channels on the TV.. Took a good 10 minute wait for someone to come to the bar to serve us while there were staff cleaning tables in the restaurant (which was closed at the time).. The room was like a sauna (we stayed weekend of 27/07 so was warm but not the heat wave) and u could only open the window a fraction due to a safety device.. Was awoken by the 3am coach outside my window (tbf I am a very light sleeper and didn't hear the people getting on the coach just the constant whirl of the engine woke me) the continental breakfast is very minimal worth paying the extra to include the cooked.. Ran out of teapots and croissants at breakfast and had to ask for these to be restocked. Oh and if the light wakes u up take an eye mask!

My positives.. Central location.. Very good price.. Very comfy bed.. Very nice warm shower..

Sorry the negatives out way the positives but I would definitely stay here again.. You get what unplayable for at the end of the day and this was worth the money

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueySueySuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    180
    99
    49
    28
See reviews for
70
156
46
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a one night stay here, en route to London. The room was spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. Check in was easy, and the reception staff friendly and helpful. Bar staff were efficient, and the beer was excellent. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant, and a good nights sleep. All in all a most pleasant stay.
I agree with the comments about the signposting, it is easy from one direction, but no signs at all if you come in from the west. Took us a couple of goes to find, even with the satnav.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I am marking a two due to the negative service by multiple employees. Half of the staff understood customer service, the other half did not. Two male employees working in the reception area seemed to be annoyed I was asking them questions and carried that attitude throughout the interaction. Gemma on the other hand could and should get a job at a better hotel, she was brilliant while booking and sorting issues for others travelling with me.

The rooms are what you would expect for the price, the free wifi is a nice bonus. Rooms are clean, however if you know the weather is going to be warm I would try to stay somewhere else. The hotel didn't have fans... Although I saw one in the hallway during the day, and another behind the desk when I asked for one. "It was the only one". I don't expect conditioning in England, but do feel like a fan should be an option.

Hotel food was nice and fresh. The bar also has a few decent beers on tap.

Room Tip: Don't stay here when it is hot, there is no A/C and they don't have fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_stalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A little difficult to find (it's signposted well from one direction, but not the other!) Basically it's behind the Audi garage so if you find that you are there. Everything excellent from the welcome to the clenliness and the comfortable bed. We never heard a sound all night. Small outside seating area was lovely and only spoilt by a crowd of swearing builders. Such a shame those types of guys have no regard for anyone else especially after a couple of pints. But, woul ddefinitely stay there again and would also stay in Other Campaniles if that is the "standard". Did not eat breakfast or dine in the evening but food looked very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
251 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I arrived a little later than expected and by 09:30 pm the restaurant had closed. There are no bar snacks or vending machines so if you arrive after 09:30 pm you will need to make arrangements elsewhere for your meal. This may not be as easy as you expect since the hotel is out of town and you will need to travel by car to find somewhere.

There is a large car park at the hotel and check in was very straight forward. The room was a little funky with its green decor and a little on the small side by todays standards. It was clean and comfortable and the hotel provides free Wi-Fi.

Breakfast was an extra charge but with a choice of full English or Continental it was worth it. This is basically a low budget OK hotel of the Travel Inn type but not up to Premier Lodge standards by comparison.

Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. A reasonable place to stay for short period of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in route to Portsmouth (27 cyclists on a charity ride to Paris). The staff were very helpful and did as much for us as they could. Even served food 1 hour later because we arrived a bit late (though we did keeo them imformed of our ETA as we approached Swindon). The rooms were clean & modern, the food was good, parking wasn't a problem and above all the staff were very tolerant of a group of slightly noisy cyclists. On behalf of Punjabi Wolves & myself I would highly recommend this hotel to all....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel through booking .com got there to find if you pay by cash for the room there is a further charge of£80 this is ridiculous and the hotel will also charge £20 to preauthorise your credit card so a £39 room can end up sky high avoid this chain of hotels like the plague and go to a travel lodge when I asked the receptionist why this was the case she said it was hotel policy but could give no satisfactory answer when challenged about the £80 fee if you use cash I have never heard anything so ridiculous that cash need s to be authorised or a Visa card where the money is taken more or less immediately from the account also needs preauthorisation I repeat and reiterate avoid like the plague and go to a travel lodge where costs are clearly displayed and the trades description act is not in breach ie hidden costs not displayed on the hotels web site

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssmurfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
1.7 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Swindon

Property: Campanile Swindon
Address: 200 Delta Business Park | Great Western Way, Swindon SN5 7XD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Swindon 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbishment completed Jan 2009, including all bedrooms, restaurant and bar. It is now modern and comfortable with Free Wi-Fi internet, ideal for business or leisure. Bedrooms: Comfy Beds, Flat screen TV, Courtesy tray and all en suite. English and Continental Breakfast. Restaurant open Lunch and Dinner featuring savory and sweet buffets, food all day. Bar with Sky TV. Hotel was taken over by Campanile from Ibis Jan 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Louvre hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Swindon Hotel Swindon
Hilton Garden Inn Swindon
Campanile Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing