We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home visit”
Review of Campanile Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Swindon
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
wotton fitzpaine
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“home visit”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Room was comfortable . Had meal in restaurant on last night was very good all you can eat buffet starter for £5 also £5 for all you could eat pudding buffet. Could do with glasses in bathroom for water . Staff were friendly and very helpful. Tv reception was not good and no hypertext. Would recommend though

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigal3961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    180
    99
    49
    28
See reviews for
70
156
46
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for one night with my daughter for my first visit and this was my daughter's fourth! Absolutely fantastic value for money. My only one niggle was when I came down for my breakfast there were no croissants and I had to wait but to be fair that wasn't really their fault, the restaurant was very busy. Perhaps my only advice would be to have monitored it better, but I reiterate, it was packed out...However, I must say it was very much worth the wait! We paid £35 for the twin room which included breakfast. I would most certainly use this hotel again. Nice friendly staff, everywhere was clean and the room whilst basic was very clean, the beds were comfortable (bit too soft for my liking but no springs digging in anywhere!) and we got a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very upset for the lady with an registered disability assistance dog who was rudely and loudly refused entry to the hotel café by staff here. Such dogs cannot be refused entry under equality laws; in legal terms it's in essence like saying "no wheelchairs", or no blind people with white sticks etc.

The dog was wearing the proper harness and markings that show it's a working dog, essential to the person with it for coping with their disability.

Even if the waitress was not sure of the rules, there was no need for her to be so openly rude to any hotel guest.

Also shame on the hotel management not giving proper equality training and making sure it's carried out.

It's all to easy for people with disabilities to find it hard to be part of society anyway, without upsetting and needless incidents like this.

Will avoid this place on principle in future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balanced_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Small but ok room with a comfy bed and decent shower. Lots of bright green is the distinctive colour of this place. Don't go if you don't like green.

Breakfast is continental and good. Great croissants which one would expect from a French hotel. You can get cooked if you ask.

Very good value for money. Would definitely stay again and look for other locations

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was our third visit to the Campanile, Swindon. We would still rate it as excellent value for money. However, since our last visit they have changed the evening menu and not for the better. We ate there on our first night and were disappointed by both the choice and quality of food on offer so ate elsewhere on our second night. This was a pity because we had to drive on a very wet and windy evening. We were told that the menu will change again in February. Let's hope that it will revert to something similar to what they had before. The staff are all very pleasant and Selina, one of the receptionists, once again deserves a special mention. She was very friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean and beds are very comfortable. Rooms are small but still good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you like Green, you'll love the Campanile, as this is what the rooms are in. And you get functional. clean minimalist rooms with no frills in this very bare area of Swindon. They accept well behaved dogs on leads, which is why we went, for a funeral next day and have good grounds for them to do their business. Large car park. Very busy when we went which is a good sign. Had dinner there too which was fine, and used Tastecard. Breakfast next day was fabulous, with fruit, muesli, continental cheeses and hams, toast and drinks. Free wireless internet, free newspapers, lifts excellent hot water, TV/Radio in rooms. Only downside is your are miles from anywhere and there are no other restaurants amongst the offices and car lots, so you need a car. However, if you want cheapness, you have to put up with this.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It's very difficult to fault this hotel, so long as your expectations are correct. So the rooms are a bit too green and minimalistic, but they're clean, comfortable and the bathroom is modern with a great shower. The bar and food was all fine and good value, so again no complaints. The marked improvement was the breakfast; whilst you have to pay for it, you can't really complain about the options available and is every bit as good as a Premier Inn full breakfast and certainly a lot better than a Holiday Inn Express breakfast (though that is included in the price, but you still pay extra). I would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K500DCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
1.7 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Swindon

Property: Campanile Swindon
Address: 200 Delta Business Park | Great Western Way, Swindon SN5 7XD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Swindon 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbishment completed Jan 2009, including all bedrooms, restaurant and bar. It is now modern and comfortable with Free Wi-Fi internet, ideal for business or leisure. Bedrooms: Comfy Beds, Flat screen TV, Courtesy tray and all en suite. English and Continental Breakfast. Restaurant open Lunch and Dinner featuring savory and sweet buffets, food all day. Bar with Sky TV. Hotel was taken over by Campanile from Ibis Jan 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Louvre hotels, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Swindon Hotel Swindon
Hilton Garden Inn Swindon
Campanile Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing