We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”
Review of Campanile Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Swindon
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

nice hotel and staff, especially victor the manager, think he's polish.
good value for money and tidy, food is good too.
a very peaceful night, much better than staying in the town center.
give it a go

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    178
    99
    49
    28
See reviews for
69
155
46
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel as an intermediate stopover on our way home to Bridgend from Southampton. I found a deal online that reduced the price of a double room from £41 to £34. As they had no triple rooms available, they allowed our 3 year old daughter to share our bed at no extra cost.

The hotel was generally well presented, reception was well placed to the left of the main door and a bar to the left of reception. The restaurant straight in front of the main doors was rather small for the number of rooms at this hotel. 120 rooms with a restaurant capable of seating around 40 people. You can, however, order food in the bar. We arrived at around 7:30 and was told we would have to reserve a table if we wanted to eat in the restaurant, but it was relatively empty. The restaurant is advertised as a-la-carte but didn't really present itself as such with it's bistro style seating. We ordered the 'Bud Platter' to share in the bar. The food was pleasant and hot.

The room was clean and well presented although the lime green decor won't be to everyone's taste. I don't understand why hotels continue to try and identify themselves as unique by using such extrovert decor. Personally, I'm not a fan and prefer more neutral or pastel colours. The bed was comfortable and well made, it felt solid and supportive. The bathroom was clean and neutral, all fixtures and fittings were gloss white - a nice touch. The one and only fault I could find with the room was some loose and unrepaired fixtures in the bathroom. We needed an iron and fan for the room, both were supplied straight away with no extra charge.

Breakfast was excellent, we paid £6 each for the 'all you can eat' continental breakfast and they threw in free breakfast for our 3 year old. The choice was exceptional and the quality of the food offered excellent value for money.

The fault in the bathroom is forgivable, it did not distract from the quality of our overall stay. When you take into account the price of the room, this hotel gets 5 stars from me!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank craignock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Not enough staff (although the few there tried)
Ate in the restaurant, 2/5
Middle of nowhere so you need a taxi if you want to go out.
Internet was awful
Room was small and bath was a joke (about 3ft long!) but was clean.
Book somewhere else.... unless you want a very very basic hotel

Room Tip: To choose a good room.... find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishRichInNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
219 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Four of us needed two rooms for a family event near by, and got them (Prepaid ahead) for around £70 for all of us with continental breakfast, so I was not expecting much! Well, the staff were friendly, the hotel has just been re furbed, and although the room was not huge it had all you need for a one night stay - comfy bed, hangers, good bathroom and shower. The continental breakfast was excellent especially the croissants which were very buttery and flaky. I would certainly think they give Premier Inn a run for the money, especially since Campanile has free wi- fi. Didnt try the restaurant or bar, but was just generally impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoldlyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had a one night stay in the hotel after a long bike ride and the staff were excellent on check in. Receptionist allowed our party to store our bikes in the managers office which was fantastic. Rooms were comfortable and shower was excellent . Breakfast was a good value and although we had planned to upgrade to cooked for a reasonable £2.50, we were full after sampling their continental. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
285 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Such a nice way to end a long day of driving arriving at campanile and being greeted by the friendly and helpful staff.
The rooms are comfortable and clean.
The restaurant is also good with a basic menu but very tasty food and quick service. Also quite reasonably priced.
The only reason I gave it a 4 star rating is because of the strange location it is in.
Otherwise it is a good choice for an overnight stop.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay in this hotel and found it to be extremely clean, comfy beds 32"television. Wifi available free of charge, continental breakfast and also full English for 2.50 extra. Would recommend this hotel to both friends and family.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mickt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
1.7 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Swindon

Property: Campanile Swindon
Address: 200 Delta Business Park | Great Western Way, Swindon SN5 7XD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Swindon 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbishment completed Jan 2009, including all bedrooms, restaurant and bar. It is now modern and comfortable with Free Wi-Fi internet, ideal for business or leisure. Bedrooms: Comfy Beds, Flat screen TV, Courtesy tray and all en suite. English and Continental Breakfast. Restaurant open Lunch and Dinner featuring savory and sweet buffets, food all day. Bar with Sky TV. Hotel was taken over by Campanile from Ibis Jan 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Louvre hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Swindon Hotel Swindon
Hilton Garden Inn Swindon
Campanile Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing