We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly reception, clean room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campanile Swindon
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Friendly reception, clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

stayed here for 1 night while working in Marlborough...clean and comfortable room... friendly, helpful reception staff.... i asked a quiet room on the booking site as working long days,, this was picked up by the lady on reception who allocated me a quiet room at the top of the hotel... my room was big enough for me,, but i am sure people would moan about it.... it had 2 single beds pushed together.... the bathroom was small but suited my needs... it was clean.. towels provided were also clean unlike some places i have stayed... the room decor is a funny lime green but dont let that stop you........ there was a bar down stairs which people in the hotel seemed to make good use off... food could also be ordered...... breakfast is provided but i had to go early so didnt try it... I would come and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    172
    97
    49
    27
See reviews for
64
150
42
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Booked one night here as we came to watch brighton play swindon. The hotel is clean and tidy and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. She had booked us a quiet room as requested and it was a good size with a great bathroom. The shower was hot and worked properly. Plenty of tea and coffee and towels. The same lady served us on checkout and remembered that we had a bad night before in a different hotel, that's good customer service!! Worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and they will do their best to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton in Lindrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here overnight with our dog. The B&B rate was excellent. The accommodation is basic as commented in other reviews with little storage space or facilities but the bed is comfortable, there's a TV and you get free WiFi. The hotel serves a continental breakfast which was very good.

The staff were, without exception, welcoming and friendly.

I'd happily stay here again for one or perhaps two nights. It's better than many other budget hotels we have stayed in.

Lydiard Park (http://www.lydiardpark.org.uk/Pages/Home.aspx) is around five minutes drive away if you want a breath of fresh air or to walk your dog..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ece69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Its a really nice budget hotel, its clean, its in a great location (if travelling by car), the staff are really friendly and sweet, the room was really nice, comfortable with a decent size tv right opposite the bed. FREE WIFFI and the bar was good. it's perfect for a weekend budget getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The room is very very basic with no real places to put anything. No hand towel in the bathroom with only one towel (however I did discover another one in the green box.) Water pressure seemed to be an issue on the third floor, difficult to try and set the tap between freezing cold and scalding hot! The WiFi in the room is dire, I had to download a simple document which took around 11 minutes. Don't expect to stream HD video on it!! The food is OK but typical English cheap burgers, pizza, curry etc. For breakfast, I wouldn't bother, as the other reviewer said it is way over priced for what you get. Cheap bacon, sausages full of bran with very little meat. Saying the above, it is cheap and you get what you pay for. Would I come back? Not unless I had to!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel was convenient for where we wanted to be. The room was very basic with no wardrobe or drawers to put your belongings in. Just a green bar with only 5 coat hangers between 2 of us. Underwear and other items of clothing had to be left on the top of the green box or in your luggage. We had full English breakfast one of the days but it was very over priced for what it was so the second day we went to nearby Sainsburys for our breakfast. Half the price and much nicer. Won't be repeating our experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our stay in the Campanile Swindon was a fairly unusual one, we stayed as part of a group booking on the Young Bell Ringers Cycling Tour. However we stayed for a few nights and I can comment on many aspects of the hotel. The rooms are very cheap but are good for the price, beds are basic but the shower was good, and the room was well looked after every day. We were part of a package where we were served a cooked dinner, and I had to be fed gluten free and on the whole they coped well. Meat was generally very well done but tasty. And other people who had non gluten free food enjoyed their meal, it was all fairly basic but was good quality. The bar has a limited stock, for instance coke is served by the bottle as they don't have a pump for soft drinks, but this wasn't an issue, there was something for anyone to drink and it was reasonably priced for the area. The staff are also very friendly. They are happy to help, just don't expect to be waited on hand and foot. For instance if you want more tea bags (we were given two per day which was very limited in my opinion) you have to go to reception and ask for some more. On one occasion they had no tea bags at reception to give and on one occasion the cleaners actually removed some of our unused tea bags, but on the whole the experience was enjoyable. Oh and finally, breakfast (if you pay for it) is a continental breakfast with a decent selection, obviously I couldn't eat any pastries etc but the yoghurt was nice and they have cheap ham and cheese. I would definitely consider staying with the Campanile again if I needed somewhere cheap to stay as a base to explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
1.8 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Swindon

Property: Campanile Swindon
Address: 200 Delta Business Park | Great Western Way, Swindon SN5 7XD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Swindon 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbishment completed Jan 2009, including all bedrooms, restaurant and bar. It is now modern and comfortable with Free Wi-Fi internet, ideal for business or leisure. Bedrooms: Comfy Beds, Flat screen TV, Courtesy tray and all en suite. English and Continental Breakfast. Restaurant open Lunch and Dinner featuring savory and sweet buffets, food all day. Bar with Sky TV. Hotel was taken over by Campanile from Ibis Jan 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Campanile Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Swindon Hotel Swindon
Hilton Garden Inn Swindon
Campanile Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing