We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Accommodation!!”
Review of SW Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SW Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodation!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have been staying at SW Bed & Breakfast for 3 nights every week since July 2012 whilst working on a contract in Swindon and I cannot speak highly enough of the accommodation.

The bedrooms in particular are warm and welcoming with crisp, clean sheets, plump pillows and thick, warm duvets. As standard, the rooms contain everything you could possibly need including an iron and hairdryer, fast, unlimited broadband and a full sky package that even includes the sports channels and movies!

The bathroom is always kept immaculately clean and toiletries, fluffy towels and soft bathrobes are all made available free of charge. The shower is spacious and has a plentiful supply of steaming hot water to leave you feeling refreshed and energised.

Kitchen facilities are also made available for resident use and contain all of the modern equipment and utensils you could possibly want with complimentary tea and coffee available at all times. A wide range of breakfast options are available daily, made with fresh, high quality ingredients and the scrambled eggs in particular are delicious!

In addition, the property is in a great location with easy access to public transport and a good range of restaurants, bars and takeaways all located nearby

As a contractor I have stayed in a huge range of accommodation all over the world and I can honestly say that I have rarely come across such high standards.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    5
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
9
14
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed at this B&B for 3 months as I was working in Swindon. The owner, Sara, was fantastic. She let me use her kitchen to cook my own food rather than eating out or having take-aways each night. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and it just felt like home from home. I even had Sky TV in my room so could watch all my programmes and the tennis. It made my time away from home very easy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

After reading such good reviews about SW B&B I was expecting so much more and was really disappointed for the following reasons:-

On entering the premises there is a strong smell of dogs and although they are kept at the rear of the premises as a non dog owner it was detectable as soon as you stepped inside the door.

The property is in need of freshening up and decor is dated. The lounge area at the rear of the premises which is available for guests is very tired and the broken blinds, well worn carpet, dining table and chairs could all do with being replaced. The cushions on the chairs are really thin and the rattan dinning chairs are fraying at the legs badly. The B&B caters for 6 guests but only has 4 chairs at the table so you may be asked to have breakfast at staggered times as we did. This wasn't a problem in itself but could be if you were a party of 6 and you wanted breakfast at the same time.

While on the subject of breakfast there is no menu. Your are asked the night before what you'd like.I opted for scrambled egg and bacon and the scrambled egg didn't have a lot of taste. The bacon though was good quality and very tasty. No fresh coffee is available only instant and only one cup was offered.

The bathroom has paint peeling of it's ceiling above the shower unit, and the unit itself is very tiny, on a positive note though there are lots of towels available.

My room itself was clean and the bed very comfortable with all the amenities stated on the website. The only downside is you have no external lock to the door so you are unable to lock any valuables in your room when you go out.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dbayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

after a 11 hour trip across the seven seas, i reached my destination UK all the way from INDIA, no friends, no family, then I ended up in this place," SW B&B " believe me if i would not have ended up here, i would be back to INDIA in 15 days.
It is now 45 days to be precise, that i am here and it is a HOME AWAY FROM HOME :)))))
m not writing out of the box, but thats the way i feel, "SARA", has been a great host and has never made feel that i am in a foreign country.
With all the Hospitality and love, and yeah to mention.." FOOD" it is one place i will stay as long as i am in this COUNTRY.
"SARA" and " SW B&B" definitely THE place to stay in SWINDON
:)))))

NILESH SHRIPAT

Room Tip: call SW B&B (SARA) directly on 01793526688 or 07775903068....she will help you out :))))
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nileshshripat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I had the pleasure to visit Sara's bed and breakfast in this year and year ago for Air Tattoo Air Show. Sara is a nice person to stay with. The room itself was elegantly decorated, clean and the bed was very comfortable with lovely fresh bedding, bathroom was clean and tidy. Breakfast was wonderful. TV with Sky. I say it’s a perfect place to stay. Nothing bad to say about SW B&B. I gonna stay in Sara's place next year too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maverick8128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I spent 9 weeks at SW B&B while working in Swindon town centre. I work all over the UK and this is the best B&B I have stayed in by a country mile. The accomodation was extremely comfortable (with Sky Sports!!!!) and Sara the owner made me feel like I was at home from the very start. Nice one Sara, you're a diamond.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickiebird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
498 reviews
2.0 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,842 reviews
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW Bed & Breakfast

Property: SW Bed & Breakfast
Address: 21 Malvern Road, Swindon SN2 1AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SW Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning SW Bed & Breakfast is located in a quiet residential area 5 mins from the town centre, train & bus station. The perfect location for business requirements or for weekend stays as a perfect central point for many tourist attractions around the Wiltshire & Gloucestershire areas. The 6 rooms are thoughtfully appointed with comfortable beds, hotel grade linen & towels. Each room is equipped with a hair dryer, dressing gowns, own iron and ironing board, Tea & Coffee, Earplugs, Free full Sky TV and Free Wifi & Breakfast (fully cooked is available) is served to a time to suit you between 7.45 - 8.15Am weekdays and 8.30 - 9.30Am weekends. Rooms fully serviced daily and free laundry service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SW Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SW Bed & Breakfast Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing