We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awfull” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cold Harbour

The Cold Harbour
Ranked #59 of 431 Restaurants in Swindon
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated just off the A419 in Swindon and next to a Premier Inn Large Restaurant dining area and further space to dine in our bar area. Great choice of Menu offering lunch and evening meal deals, fantastic selection of main meals and seasonal specials. Nice size garden for the summer.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awfull”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Really disappointed with the food,it was dry and not very good portions,not very much gravy, the service was poor,we sat and waited a long time to order,and we never got to order desserts as no one came back to take our order.....don't think we will be coming here again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrandmrsring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    124
    81
    71
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Corperate Bland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Run by a big chain
Chef and Brewer a brand of Whitbread
Beer selecetion is Ok with loacal real ales but drinks are abit on the high side.
Does meals all day which is good as a group visited at about 2:00 on a saturday when a lot of places stop.
Food was ok for price but bland standard corperate fare.
Bad point was that when re whent to order sweets we were told to pay a surchage as we had not ordered them with main course. Never had this before and all of us refused to pay. with the result that with drinks they lost over £50 of business.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Homemade Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Been to the Cold Harbour twice now. Food and srink have been great. Had a really nice draft cider (sorry cant remember the name) and reasonably priced. Food always homemade and very tasty. Staff fine although some come across a little inexperienced on food service but I suppose skills will come with time
Will no doubt visit again for lunch next year when in the area

Helpful?
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire, england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant change”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Visited cold Harbour for only the second time.The first experience some months back was below average ,but was pleasantly surprised that there had been an improvement.
There were 7 of us, and seating was prompt and quickly ordered drinks and meals.Everyone said the food was generally good ,but my steak and ale pie had a bit of a thick crust so had to eat around it.Sweet potato fries were some of the best I have had. Generally it's typical pub grub.
Still had a wait to pay the bill, like last time, but felt that the whole experience was better than before.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food good, service poor, loo smelly.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The good bit first: the food was pretty good. We were there for lunch, my beloved had chicken I had sea bass on risotto. Both happy with our meals, but they did take ages to arrive in spite of the place being almost empty.
The two young men behind the bar were pleasant enough but not really aware that customers take priority over chat. We weren't warned that we'd be waiting ages for the food, they didn't come over to see if we wanted more drink or some pudding, in fact we could probably have walked out without paying and still wouldn't have been noticed.
Disappointing as this is quite local and it would be good to have somewhere to go to regularly.
Price was at the top end of what I'd expect to pay, but too much considering the lack of service.
Oh, and in spite of a fan going full pelt the gents was smelly and dirty looking.
Looks to me like an establishment resting on its laurels, or at least relying on the attached Premier Inn for captive customers.
I hate writing negative reviews, but I really feel the Cold Harbour could be better. Give the interior a bit of a spruce up, deep clean the loos and teach those pleasant chaps behind the bar how to look after customers, then we'll be back and praising the place.
Watch this space.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cold Harbour also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Cold Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing