We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service for our Business Dinner”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #150 of 442 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Contemporary, Bar, Cafe, Balti, Bangladeshi
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service for our Business Dinner”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had been to this restaurant before on a private trip and was surprised to find such a large, clean and well appointed restaurant, and so decided to book the venue for our company dinner back in January following bowling for our work's winter event.
The manager of the restaurant was really eager to please and look after us and catered for any special dietary requirements we had and the service was very attentive.
We arrived to find a long table with a crisp white tablecloth nicely set for our group and the food we had pre-ordered was plentiful and excellent and exceeded our expectations.
Altogether we had a very nice company dinner and would go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shopatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    39
    16
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

First time to this restaurant .Our fisrt impression was that it was light and airy, so many Indian restaurants can be really stuffy and hot. The staff were friendly and curtious Menues well laid out and easy to read. Fair selection of beers. Nice waiting area with bar, and finally the food when it came out was Devine, the wait not being overly long. Having tasted many Asian dishes in many different places I have to say the jalphrasey was exquisite. Definitely will go there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueyGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“TERRIBLE.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went here on friday night. It wasnt even busy we was the only ones in the resturant. The waiters were constantly watching us. This was very intimidating. When we got our food the prawns were so rubbery as if they had been microwaved. I began eating my dinner and pulled a hair out and it was actually through the prawn. I asked for a different meal and the waiters didnt even say sorry or give us a discounted price. All i got was a rose flower when we left,and apparently they give these to all the lady's. I deffo will not be going here again. Was so dissapointed considering i thought it was going to be much more better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The first time we have been here and we were very impressed the moment we walked through the door. Very polite and helpful staff. Our takeaway arrived quickly and tasted delicious! The service was great and immediately made us want to return to eat in the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“always a pleasure”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We go to the Taj Mahal a lot and every time we always have a very nice experience, we are always greeted with a warm friendly smile from the waiters and can chose the best table. The service is quick but not intrusive and the food is always of the same high tasty quality. A bottle of red chilean wine isnt bad either and not expensive. The ladies always get a rose at the end of the meal. I hope it continues.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodys31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing