We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Ranked #190 of 446 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Marlborough
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights here B&B recently. Very clean and tidy and warmly welcomed by Donna, the landlady, who served us very tasty supper the evening we arrived. Rooms are well presented and the breakfast is generous and would recommend to those wanting homely facilities, friendly service and good eats too. Nice place to explore Wiltshire and won't break the bank!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    43
    20
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We visit The Village Inn regularly and find it excellent every time. It's a bit pricey but the food is lovely every time & you pay for what you get.

The service is always friendly and the pub itself is homely especially at xmas when the fire is burning!

The best thing is that no children under 8 are allowed in which is a plus, the last thing you want while enjoying a meal are kids running around & screaming, there are a lot of family pubs around so it is a nice change!

I always have the Liddington Smokie, fish in a white wine & mushroom sauce, peas & chips! Definitely recommend this .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We got booked in to this place (at short notice) upon recommendation (and a tel call) from Ros at Cheney Thatch. We were a party of 7 females for a 50th Birthday celebration. I have a Gluten Free diet and I was very impressed with the selection on offer for me. I thoroughly enjoyed both my starter and main course (I even had GF Yorkshire Pudding and gravy). The prices are very reasonable also ... and the service was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShirlBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but not great”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Popped in for lunch on Sunday at around 12:30pm and it was already very busy. We were told the restaurant was currently booked up but we could eat in the garden which was fine as it was a hot, sunny day. We ordered two lasagne and two pork Sunday roasts (small portion) which was served to our table within about 20 minutes by a young, friendly waiter. The lasagne was described as "very average" and supposed to be served with salad which at best could be passed as a garnish. The small Sunday roasts were very small indeed consisting of two thin slices of pork, a handful of small roast potatoes and vegetables you couldn't pick up with a fork as they simply disintegrated from being completely overcooked. To be honest, I would say 90% of the customers dining there were OAP's (hence the overcooked veg) so in fairness to The Village Inn, they do seem to be catering for the type of clientèle that dine there. I felt that it was a little overpriced, especially the small Sunday roast at £7.95 and all-in-all, very average.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice evening meal... worth the trip out of town.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

There has been some poor remarks made in the past about the service and food...but to be honest I have nothing but good comments about the Village Inn. The value is good...and if you get there between 6.30 - 7.30pm and use the Early Diner Specials... 3 course meal for less than a £10 note... can't moan about that. Service is excellent... we booked a table as one of our party is disabled...no problem. The evening was really enjoyable. Will go back again very soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glenandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Inn also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Shaw, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing