We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After reading some reviews must have stayed at the wrong place”
Review of Tawny Owl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tawny Owl
Ranked #22 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“After reading some reviews must have stayed at the wrong place”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Very apprehensive after reading some reviews but as a seasoned traveller was more than pleasantly surprised. Food more expensive than cheaper places but what value for money! Large portions plus cooked and presented well by very attentive and polite staff. Stayed the night in a clean and comfortable room after a afternoon family celebration. Before retiring we enjoyed the evening at the bar within a very friendly atmosphere, no signs of any problems and the locals all pleasant company. Met the Landlord approaching closing time who was polite in his query if we were staying the night and was the perfect host mixing with other drinkers until closing time. His friendly attitude continued next morning whilst serving an excellent breakfast. Over all I could not fault our stay and it was excellent value for money, a place we will definitely return to next time we are in Swindon. I would thoroughly recommend the Tawny Owl for its food and as a friendly local bar. Only comment would be it is difficult to find by the directions on the web site which could be reviewed.

Room Tip: After drinking in the bar and finishing with Irish Coffees with real cream any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillandRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    11
    10
    12
See reviews for
21
14
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Having stayed at the Tawny owl for the the past couple of days with my disabled mother we thoroughly enjoyed our stay the food was great and plenty of it, our room was lovely decorated. The customer service was excellent nothing seemed to much trouble. Access for my mum around the pub in her wheel chair wasnt a problem also a wheel chair lift for getting to our room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3x8x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The pub itself is a nice enviroment, a good mix of sit down dining to relaxed sofas to a good sized well laid out, outside area. The menus are vast and interesting to see some dishes you wont see elsewhere, the food quality is good and plentiful, but and it is a major but, its very expensive for decent basic pub fare and despite all the positives, that would put me off going again.

For lunch, for a couple, be prepared to see £25 dissappear for a sandwich and a nice glass of something cold, for evening meal, I'd want to be (and have eaten) in far finer places for the same money.

Its a shame, it really is, as it has everything going for it apart from competitive and realistic pricing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsteignton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Not a great title is it? The Tawny Owl is OK. How else to describe it... We stayed there for one night and had a family meal for 10 of us as well. First the staying there.... The room was nice, tidy, and clean but it did have a rather loud ventilation oulet right outside the window. It was a very hot room too, so I am guessing that we were right above the kitchen area hence the vent too. Also wherever you put the shower screen you ended up with water all over the floor. Breakfast was good, after some confusion over whether we had booked it or not.

As for the meal, that was also OK. It's kind of Beefeater style chain food, but is cooked well and I have to admit the waiting staff were angels, especially putting up with a family gathering like ours. They couldn't do enough for us and were very tolerant of our requests to move and the general drunken frivolity that the evening ended in. (We were celebrating a birth)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Basing this review on eating in the pub and not staying in the B&B I would give this 4-5 stars. The staff are very friendly and we have never had to wait too long for service. The food we have tried so far has been to a very good standard. A little bit more expensive than your average pub grub, but I also think the quality is too.
We have tried the jacket potatoes, speciality sandwiches and the spaghetti carbonara, all have been delicious. Unfortunately the Sunday lunch was not to this quality. We went at around 3 and the food did taste like it had been sat around for awhile.
I would recommend this pub for business lunches, shoppers and families also as it has a very wide selection of foods available.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Food is great and reasonably priced
Staff are friendly and attentive
Landlord is rude obnoxious and totally amazed how arkells still employ him!!!
Manager is just as clueless and just shrugs his shoulders when asked anything
Very noisy in evenings with youngs adults drinking as many shots as possible and terrible night sleep as pub stays open late
Usually fights in there at weekends
Avoid!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Curryhollic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Food and drinks were too expensive for a place in Swindon. It's not even in town. Nothing fancy actually. It's alright just for afternoon tea during the week cos of less people which was nice to chill n' chit chat. It was kinda busy n' noisy at night. Better go somewhere else....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooftop_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,500 reviews
3.9 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
767 reviews
5.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#24 of 25 in Swindon
144 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
4.8 mi away
The Carpenters Arms Motel
The Carpenters Arms Motel
#18 of 25 in Swindon
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawny Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawny Owl

Property: Tawny Owl
Address: Taw Hill | North Swindon, Swindon SN25 1WR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tawny Owl 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tawny Owl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawny Owl Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing