We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tawny Owl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tawny Owl
Ranked #15 of 45 Swindon B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Went for food And drinks only, drinks are not cheap however the food is good value and absolutely brilliant.

Staff are always happy and great service, this is one of the best pubs around. Entertainment put on like quizzes on a Thursday. Great atmosphere

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PMcGregsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    6
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
19
13
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

its a great place to stay breakfast was really good enough to keep you going all day rooms were clean and bright and everything you needed was there also plenty of nooks and crannies in the bar to have a pleasent drink we will be booking again thanks a lot to all
mr and mrs a clarke
barrow-in-furness

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Was unsure about this after reading some negative reviews. BUT it really is excellent I paid £ 45 for a double room (single occupancy) – room quality really is good – large comfortable bed and loads of hot water. Food was excellent – I had a mixed grill which was huge and very tasty (No tinned mushrooms here) at £15 I thought it was pretty good value. The breakfast was equally huge and has fresh, tasty produce. Loads of parking, good customer care – can’t find anything to complain about.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Sadly disappointed that we booked at the Tawny Owl, the website gave the impression it was a nice pub/restaurant with some character, however when we were seated we found that we were in a soulless plain function room next to the bar which was also hosting a the Manchester City V Manchester United game with approximately 20 men seated around the large screen TV. Every time something happened during the game there was very loud uproars full of f words etc... I did not expect this while we were trying to have a pleasant family meal - When I was booking my table the staff should have advised that they were showing the game at the pub and to expect this sort of environment.

The Sunday Roasts were average, badly presented vegetables arriving all mixed together in what looked like a trough on our table, the Brussels sprouts were severely undercooked and unpleasant,

There were some positives, my brother appeared to like the steak he ordered, but not the sauce which was removed from the bill, The waiting staff were almost faultless, very pleasant and attentive.

After this experience, I wouldn't return for another family meal at the Tawny Owl.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonLCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Very apprehensive after reading some reviews but as a seasoned traveller was more than pleasantly surprised. Food more expensive than cheaper places but what value for money! Large portions plus cooked and presented well by very attentive and polite staff. Stayed the night in a clean and comfortable room after a afternoon family celebration. Before retiring we enjoyed the evening at the bar within a very friendly atmosphere, no signs of any problems and the locals all pleasant company. Met the Landlord approaching closing time who was polite in his query if we were staying the night and was the perfect host mixing with other drinkers until closing time. His friendly attitude continued next morning whilst serving an excellent breakfast. Over all I could not fault our stay and it was excellent value for money, a place we will definitely return to next time we are in Swindon. I would thoroughly recommend the Tawny Owl for its food and as a friendly local bar. Only comment would be it is difficult to find by the directions on the web site which could be reviewed.

Room Tip: After drinking in the bar and finishing with Irish Coffees with real cream any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillandRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Having stayed at the Tawny owl for the the past couple of days with my disabled mother we thoroughly enjoyed our stay the food was great and plenty of it, our room was lovely decorated. The customer service was excellent nothing seemed to much trouble. Access for my mum around the pub in her wheel chair wasnt a problem also a wheel chair lift for getting to our room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3x8x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
479 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

The pub itself is a nice enviroment, a good mix of sit down dining to relaxed sofas to a good sized well laid out, outside area. The menus are vast and interesting to see some dishes you wont see elsewhere, the food quality is good and plentiful, but and it is a major but, its very expensive for decent basic pub fare and despite all the positives, that would put me off going again.

For lunch, for a couple, be prepared to see £25 dissappear for a sandwich and a nice glass of something cold, for evening meal, I'd want to be (and have eaten) in far finer places for the same money.

Its a shame, it really is, as it has everything going for it apart from competitive and realistic pricing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel
2.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawny Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawny Owl

Property: Tawny Owl
Address: Taw Hill | North Swindon, Swindon SN25 1WR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tawny Owl 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tawny Owl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawny Owl Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing