We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, busy and needs a good makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel offers the best in 1970s modern architecture and facilities! OK, that's a bit harsh, but pulling up to it for the first time that's certainly what I thought.

The hotel was very busy when I arrived. The bar area was crammed full and a TV was showing a football match at full volume. Not something that endeared me to it. Corridors have very awkward, heavily sprung double doors along the corridor making it impossible to wheel a suitcase without someone to help you. They really need to replace these with modern single fire doors with electromagnetic releases.

The room was clean, modern and spacious. A small fridge was a nice touch: meant I could by drinks in Tesco and have them chilled without paying overinflated bar prices. Holiday Inn also have a choice of 'soft' and 'firm' pillows (and I think you can have feather if you ask)

The restaurant was 'typical' hotel fayre: lasagne, pasta, pizza, burgers etc. Steaks are available on the grill menu, but these are expensive for what you get.

One tip, however, is to ask reception for one of the restaurant vouchers. £15 for one course and a drink, £30 for 2 courses and 2 drinks, or £25 for 3 courses and 3 drinks. The good thing about this is that the total amount shows on your bill as a restaurant meal, so if you're on business and the boss doesn't allow you to claim for drinks, he'll never know!

Internet access is quite expensive (I took the £30 for 3 days option). Speed was limited to 1Mb/s per connection, but it's adequate for most purposes.

Reception seemed to be understaffed: once I was waiting 20 mins, and I was the only other person in the queue. There was often long queues in the morning to check out.

It's an 'OK' hotel, but I'll only use it again if nothing better is available.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stepbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Please, please, please ignore the bad comments on here, those people obviously think that for £50 a night you should get the same as a £200 a night Hyatt stay! The staff are friendly, the room was a very good size, extremely clean all round (including the bathroom) very comfy bed - all we could ask for. We did not eat at the restaurant on the night but the dishes on the menu looked very tasty! The breakfast in the morning was a superb experience. HOT fully cooked buffet breakfast, which was constantly being topped up. A variety of fresh fruit, juices, pastries and cereals, we could not want for me. Very friendly staff. The pool and gym were clean and a great place to be. All in all a very good stay, I've stayed at many top 5 star hotels and this aint one of them! but for £47 bed and breakfast for 3 people i really could not fault it, not perfect but for fifty quid! Please trust in my report and ignore the bunch of tightar$es that have left bad reviews.

Room Tip: If your travel dates are fixed, booked at least 21 days in advance to get the best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigALWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

the hotel was clean rooms clean the beds clean service good but the food was terrible
no choice of vegetables or anything almost everyone on the trip complained i certainly will not go there again i always give good reviews but this time in all honesty icouldnt do this this time

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mammagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I used TripAdvisor feedback to select hotels for a recent family holiday, and we booked to stay at the Holiday Inn in July. We got to the hotel quite late after a lot of driving, and it was nice to be able to get a hot dinner. The family room was nice and large, and we enjoyed the breakfast and dinner on the two days we were there. Its a great location from which to drive and explore the countryside, and we visited Oxford and Stonehenge from here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abeb1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Hotel is located at a quite place and has ample parking. The staff is very courteous and helpfull. I arrived early morning in London and had to attend a meeting. They allowed me Shower and locker facility free of charge for me to freshen up and be ready for morning meeting. Upon my return in the evening the check-in was very smooth even if there were 20 guests lined up for checkin. The hotel room was cozy though small in size.

The morning breakfast was elaborate and the service was very good. I would recommend this hotel to people travelling to Swindon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed at the Holiday inn the night of the 5th August.

Check in was quick and easy and staff were helpful. Even went out of their way to provide us with extra information on the Steam rally at South Cerney.

Our room was on the ground floor, looking into the swimming pool.

Room was clean as was the bathroom.

For lunch we ate from the bar menu, food was provided quickly and was great value for money. Staff were again, extremely helpful.

We made use of the pool, sauna and jacuzzi, All was clean and tidy. We didn’t make use of the gym but that looked good too.

After we planned on having a pint outside on the patio, but what we hadn’t been told upon checking in was that this was reserved for a private BBQ, no great deal but it would have been nice to have been informed.

Evening Meal was Ok, One of the party had soup which arrived cold, and it appeared quite a lot of food was going back to the kitchen that night. Staff wasn’t apologetic about the situation either. Value for money in the restaurant isn’t great.

TV reception is OK, Most of the channels from freeview can be found here.

Breakfast is OK, Could be better, food took quite a while to be topped up, there is a good variety of juices on offer as well as your coffee, tea etc.

Overall, the hotel was good value for money and I would go back here, although I would go out for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Long_Haulers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Have stayed here 4/5 times in the last year as our son moved to Chippenham and we live in Surrey. I agree with earlier reports of visitors being palmed off with poor 2nd floor rooms when hotel is less than half full - reason for this is it makes it less work for cleaning staff . They have also recently let go some very good and knowledgeable staff and those that are left are new and not that well clued up. Twice we have booked and paid via the internet then been charged an end of stay supplement as 'under paid'. The new TV system is poor our Movies channel did'nt work ("but you should have rebooted it they said"), top of shower curtain had dry blood on the top part of curtain, low water pressure on shower despite 2 settings and due to low numbers breakfasts (weekend of 31/7) were call order and my scrambled eggs, tomatoes and baked beans arrived cold. Only 3 containers of milk each morning but reception were happy to provide more when asked. Only saving grace is Flo in the dining room who is a real gem. Also overheard a regional manager in the garden on the Monday morning slagging of two other locations , one is Sutton in Surrey so don't go there either. For information we were in room 240 after requesting a move from 222 which is the one by the main door onto first floor from stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank filby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,610 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
693 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,059 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £57 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing