We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Swindon for 2 nights. The rooms were adequate, if rather tired, but the service more than made up for this. The swimming pool was great for the kids and the restaurant staff were very accommodating with our meal requests to satisfy two tired children! Hopefully the hotel rooms will be updated soon as the staff are a great asset to the Holiday Inn chain.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyGreen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Guest,

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel and that you and your family were looked after here.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed some of the amenities at the hotel by having dinner with us in our restaurant and making the most of our leisure facilities.

All of our TripAdvisor comments are shared with the team and its a great start to the day for us by sharing comments such as yours about our staff service and hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

Whilst in need of a major overhaul at least this place has really friendly, helpful staff :) Still find it expensive for Swindon!

Room Tip: Be aware that there are smoking rooms - if you don't want one be sure to select on booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon, we would like to thank you for your comments on the staff here at the hotel we aim to provide a relaxed, friendly but efficient service and we are pleased to hear that this was exactly the service you received on your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Swindon.

I am dissappointed to see that you felt the hotel was over priced for the Swindon area, on the hotels website we do have some fantastic rates for any future trips you might have planned to Swindon with the book early and save rates.

We are all here at the hotel pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Recently spent a weekend at the holiday inn in Swindon. We were meeting up with family so we
were looking for value accommondation for the weekend.
The Holiday Inn provides just that with a weekend leisure break.
The Hotel is obviously set up primarily for business use but the rooms were spacious and clean and the facilities were great.
We had an evening meal and the food was good, however the service was great. I would say the greatest asset for this establishment is the staff, from the friendly reception staff to the young waiting on staff. Breakfast was a pleasure with great service and a good range of cooked and cold buffet food.
Just a couple of picky things to comment on; the sofas and seating in the leisure area are not very comfortable and not a particularly relaxing area to sit in.

Will be back...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillbilly125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your leisure break here with us at the hotel, its fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal and the service from the restaurant staff along with our breakfast choice and staff.

Everyday the reviews from TripAdvisor are shared at our morning meetings and comments as positive as yours are a great way for the staff to start the day.

I am sorry to hear that you weren't impressed with our lounge/ leisure area, feedback like yours i can pass onto the higher management in the hotel to suggest this area maybe being worked on to create the right enviroment for our guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed here in february, nice place good service. We arrived dropped bags on and taxid into the centre to watch the footie, there was a wedding on but that didnt bother us, nice atmosphere and everyone was friendly, service as always very good

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristolbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

Its fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the hotel and that you scored the hotel a five for everything from value to service.

We try our best to give every guest a great experience here at the hotel, so it is encouraging to hear you enjoyed your leisure break with us.

Thank you again for your review and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Swindon very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Before I comment on the hotel, I must give credit to the staff at this hotel. They are always very helpful and attentive. The hotel itself on the other hand is one of the most worn and tired I have stayed in. The majority of the rooms have rather shabby furniture that must be well over 20 years old. This also applies to the bathroom fittings. Many of the bathrooms are so small you have to close the door to get in the bath/shower. I can also confirm that the showers are generally so poor in terms of both pressure and tempetature that I normally resort to a having a bath!

Very little has been spent on refurbishing the hotel despite having a high occupancy rate. If you are a frequent traveller, you will not be impressed, as an occasional traveller, you may find it acceptable.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have more water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryHarvey_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

Firstly i would like to thank you for your kind comments on the staff here at the hotel, all the reviews are shared with the staff and comments such as yours are a great start to the day for the team.

With regards to your comments about the hotel in general and the bedrooms i am disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with the standard of the hotel. I would like to take this oppurtunity to give you some information on the future of Holiday Inn, at the moment the company are trialing new bedrooms in one of our business hotels, once the prototype bedrooms have been signed off and funding accepted these will be rolled out across the estate as yet we have no set date for this but just to reassure you there is refurbishment for Holiday Inn in the pipeline.

I would hope that the decor of the hotel would not put you off staying with us again as we would like to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you for your feedback this will be shared with the team at our morning meeting.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

One of the best Holiday Inns I've been in, with a quite spacious room and lots of free car parking. A smart looking bar and even though a wedding was in full swing it couldn't be heard from the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selfhuggingjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

Its fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with here at the hotel and in your words said we were 'one of the best Holiday Inns' you have been in.

You stayed with us when we had one of our many functions here in the hotel and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy thoughout your stay.

All TripAdvisor reviews are fed back to the staff and its very uplifting to start the day with a positive review like yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to the Holiday Inn Swindon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We have just spent a weekend in the hotel with National Holidays. Excellent value for money. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The bedroom was very clean and most of the bedroom facilities were satisfactory - the extractor fan in the bathroom did not work and the sink plug was a DIY job. During the recent warm weather in the UK, the weekend was made more enjoyable, when in the hotel, due to air-conditioning in both the bedroom and key areas such as the dining room. We found the hotel bar prices reasonable because of a price reduction for hotel guests. I would suggest people who go to Bath and Oxford for day trips wear comfortable shoes - lots of walking.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geordierover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,578 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
2.7 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,038 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 25 in Swindon
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £56 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing