We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok for the price, needs a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here only for the night, to break the journey between London and Bristol.
The hotel is a bit tired, sadly, but the reception staff were very friendly.

Room was on the ground floor, quite compact, clean, but again, in need of renovation.

I can't even remember the bathroom...

We used the pool and jacuzzi, they were fine, nothing to complain there.

Considering what we paid for, it was more than adequate and I'd probably stay there again for a night, mainly for the easy of parking and the gym.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon we appreciate your time and feedback.

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding the staff here at the hotel, all of our reviews are shared within the hotel team and this is a great motivation for the staff to hear that their efforts are being recognised.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the use of our leisure facilities during your stay.

With regards to your comments concerning the hotel looking 'tired' this will be passed on to higher management for them to be made aware of our guest feedback.

Once again thank you for all your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Swindon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business on 25th Oct. I stay in a Holiday Inn once a week. I am a platinum ambassador priority club member and to be frank this is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Dated, cold, damp rooms, very very poor room service. Staff very average.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorrentosarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the hotel, we try our best to give a high standard of service to all our guests at the hotel and we are sorry you felt they way you did after your stay with us.

All the TripAdvisor reviews are shared with all the team and managers here and we will discuss your comments and feelings towards the hotel.

Once again i am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy you stay with us but thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Started off OK, staff at reception fantastic, room (135)stinks of damp, found a large wet patch in comer covered with a towel it's clear is has been here a while.
Bar had ran out of apple cider on draft and bottled, restuarant had ran out of Rose wine, will not be paying his price to stay here again

Room Tip: Not room 135 till dmp issue resolved
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p2kob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon all of our reviews are shared with all the team and discussed.

We are unhappy to hear your comments with regards to the condition of the room and the comments regarding the drinks available, i have given this information to the relevant managers in the hotel to prevent the same issues arising again.

I would like apologise on behalf of the hotel for your disappointing stay with us here.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have a really good weekend a this hotel. Staff were very helpful and polite. Rooms comfortable and quite spacious. Food was good although Childrens meals not birlliant. We would however, certainly return. Good location for Stonehenge and other stones in the area, also steam museum in by the outlet village.

This was a return trip for us with daughter and two grandsons, we have never come across such helpful staff.

There was a wedding taking place on the Saturday evening which left little space for us to sit in the bar, however it suited us to take drinks to our room and chill. Air conditioning very efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolandpeter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlee73, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We pride ourselves on the levels of staff service and I was pleased to read your comments which I have shared with the staff here at the hotel.

Its great to hear that you made the most of your time when you were here and you were able to enjoy Stonehenge, Avebury stones and Steam.

I have forwarded your comments re the children's food to our Food and Beverage department to aid improvement.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards
David Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The room and toilette are clean, the staff are very friendly and nice, the food is quite good (and if you try to eat in other close restaurants, you realize in Holiday Inn is cheaper as well!). If you like sport or just take a walk, there is a beautiful lake in the near. A lot of parking as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjespinosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

All of the comments are shared with the staff here at the hotel and its a great way to start the day when we have kind comments about the staff and the hotel such as yours.

Its great to hear that you made the most of your time when you were here and you were able to enjoy the coate water country park thats right on our doorstep, as you said on your review for a run or even a stroll its a beautiful place to go round and for free!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

had an amazing weekend, my girls loved the pool, hot tub and sauna and we had treatments at the hotel and the lady was absolutely brilliant and very cheap, the rooms are average but do have air conditioning which was a great help with 4 of us sharing a room, the staff were very helpful and very friendly, food was amazing and breakfast was fantastic, this hotel had 5 stars until we paid and then we found that the free evening meal that we had was only for 2 although nothing was said when we were seated and handed 4 menus, they wanted £40 for 2 children menus, in the end paid £20 which i am still going to take further, this said i would definitely stay here again, my girls had a great weekend, happy girls makes a happy mum!!!!

Room Tip: no lift so need to state when booking that you need ground floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly i would like to thank you on behalf of the Holiday Inn Swindon for taking the time to review the hotel on your recent stay with us.

I would like to firstly apologise that the food menu regarding the children eat free was not explained to you, our policy is that children under 12 eat free from the childrens menu, once again i would like to take this time again to offer our apologies regarding this issue.

We are delighted to hear that you and your daughters enjoyed the facilities here and made the most of being pampered by our on site beautician.

All of our comments good or bad are shared with the staff at our daily morning meetings and its a great way to start the day with positive feedback and also areas of improvement for ourselves to work on.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon and we all hope that happy mummy and the happy girls will return very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

First looks are a bit deceiving in this case; yeah the rooms are small and in need of an update, but the staff are friendly and it's nice and quiet at night - good nights sleep. It probably would be a bit sticky in the summer though as there's no air conditioning. I've certainly stayed in a lot worse holiday inns, like Peterborough or Croydon

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b44rch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel.

The Tripadvisor comments are all fedback to the staff at our daily morning meetings and it is always a good start to the morning for the staff to hear comments like yours about them.

Im sorry to hear that you were unable to use the air con in the rooms, we do have air conditioning in all of our rooms here at the hotel it is a dual system in which it provides both heat and air con.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
682 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,548 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
2.7 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £56 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing