We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff and good prices.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff and good prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Swindon holiday inn last night. After reading some of the reviews was worried and when we pulled up I put it down to the normal success rate of my gf's booking skills (bad) however as soon as we went in we were met by really friendly staff. Room was nice and clean had dinner at the pub over the road (sun inn) highly recommend as cheap and lovely homemade food. Good nights sleep top marks all round.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshuk1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon, all of our TripAdvisor reviews are shared amongst the team and they were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its a fantastic way for our staff to start the day with positve reviews such as yours.

We are pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and were happy overall with your stay, had a great nights sleep and that your girlfriends gamble paid off!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    134
    107
    67
    29
See reviews for
88
77
30
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business on the 6th November as the usual hotels I use were full. As normal the lobby was ok if not without any really character. However the room was shocking. It was dirty. The settee had the biggest stain I have ever seen, the carpet had so many stains I kept my socks on rather than walk on the carpet! The bathroom was even worse. For £99 a night without breakfast, you should not expect to find a moldy shower curtain, dirty mouldy shower tiles and a dirty door. The door had mascara on it all around the handle and smeared up the door. The plug didnt fit the basin either so water just ran out.
This hotel is one of the worst I have stayed in for decor. I would now think twice about staying in any Holiday Inn ag

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon we are dissappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, on behalf of the Holiday Inn Swindon we would like to apologise for the inconvenience to you on your stay.

Everything that you have listed in your review has been raised to higher management and there will be an investigation into the cleanliness of the room that you stayed in.

As mentioned myself and all the team at the hotel are dissappointed to hear of your experience with us and would like to give are sincere apologies.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here only for the night, to break the journey between London and Bristol.
The hotel is a bit tired, sadly, but the reception staff were very friendly.

Room was on the ground floor, quite compact, clean, but again, in need of renovation.

I can't even remember the bathroom...

We used the pool and jacuzzi, they were fine, nothing to complain there.

Considering what we paid for, it was more than adequate and I'd probably stay there again for a night, mainly for the easy of parking and the gym.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon we appreciate your time and feedback.

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding the staff here at the hotel, all of our reviews are shared within the hotel team and this is a great motivation for the staff to hear that their efforts are being recognised.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the use of our leisure facilities during your stay.

With regards to your comments concerning the hotel looking 'tired' this will be passed on to higher management for them to be made aware of our guest feedback.

Once again thank you for all your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business on 25th Oct. I stay in a Holiday Inn once a week. I am a platinum ambassador priority club member and to be frank this is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Dated, cold, damp rooms, very very poor room service. Staff very average.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorrentosarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the hotel, we try our best to give a high standard of service to all our guests at the hotel and we are sorry you felt they way you did after your stay with us.

All the TripAdvisor reviews are shared with all the team and managers here and we will discuss your comments and feelings towards the hotel.

Once again i am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy you stay with us but thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Started off OK, staff at reception fantastic, room (135)stinks of damp, found a large wet patch in comer covered with a towel it's clear is has been here a while.
Bar had ran out of apple cider on draft and bottled, restuarant had ran out of Rose wine, will not be paying his price to stay here again

Room Tip: Not room 135 till dmp issue resolved
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p2kob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon all of our reviews are shared with all the team and discussed.

We are unhappy to hear your comments with regards to the condition of the room and the comments regarding the drinks available, i have given this information to the relevant managers in the hotel to prevent the same issues arising again.

I would like apologise on behalf of the hotel for your disappointing stay with us here.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have a really good weekend a this hotel. Staff were very helpful and polite. Rooms comfortable and quite spacious. Food was good although Childrens meals not birlliant. We would however, certainly return. Good location for Stonehenge and other stones in the area, also steam museum in by the outlet village.

This was a return trip for us with daughter and two grandsons, we have never come across such helpful staff.

There was a wedding taking place on the Saturday evening which left little space for us to sit in the bar, however it suited us to take drinks to our room and chill. Air conditioning very efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolandpeter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidlee73, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We pride ourselves on the levels of staff service and I was pleased to read your comments which I have shared with the staff here at the hotel.

Its great to hear that you made the most of your time when you were here and you were able to enjoy Stonehenge, Avebury stones and Steam.

I have forwarded your comments re the children's food to our Food and Beverage department to aid improvement.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards
David Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The room and toilette are clean, the staff are very friendly and nice, the food is quite good (and if you try to eat in other close restaurants, you realize in Holiday Inn is cheaper as well!). If you like sport or just take a walk, there is a beautiful lake in the near. A lot of parking as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjespinosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

All of the comments are shared with the staff here at the hotel and its a great way to start the day when we have kind comments about the staff and the hotel such as yours.

Its great to hear that you made the most of your time when you were here and you were able to enjoy the coate water country park thats right on our doorstep, as you said on your review for a run or even a stroll its a beautiful place to go round and for free!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Property: Holiday Inn Swindon
Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing